My Story And Experience Having Bipolar Disorder

in Mental Health2 years ago

Hello Hive
My name is Blessie, I am 21 years old from the Philippines. I would like to share my experience and how was started having this disorder.

I started having it because I was born over five days and my brain lacked oxygen and I was about to die. So I stay in the hospital for more weeks to monitor my condition.

Moving forward, when I was 2 years old until 5 years old I still couldn't speak straight and I didn't know how to pronounce Nanay and Tatay means Mom and Dad. The only words I know are "Heidi" my neighbor's name and "Uwe" which means go home. And my cope mechanism to express myself is hurting myself like headbanging because I didn't speak like a normal kid.

When I started to go to school at first they want me to be their friends until they see I am different to them they teased me like “Luka-Luka”, “Baliw”, “May Sayad”, “Abnormal” and many more hurtful words. I experience this until Junior High School and that’s why I was scared to socialize with others. Last November 2017 because I experience bullying I attempt to commit suicide using a cutter in my pulse. This is my only buddy when I fail is hurting myself because I don't want to bother anyone Because I don't want to be a burden for them.

Last January 2018 my family decided to bring me to a psychiatrist because they are scared of what happened to me. So I diagnosed that I have Bipolar Disorder 2. That is why my mood is unstable because I was born with the lack of oxygen plus trauma that I experience. When my classmate knew that I have Bipolar Disorder they stop bullying me.

Moving forward in 2021 sometimes I experience episodes but I can control them because I divert my attention to music, arts, and learn to socialize with others.

This Is Me Now

So what is next that I post a blog about mental health?

Comment Down below

Sort:  

Hi! I'm so sorry that you had to go through those awful moments of bullying growing up. People really need to be more educated when it comes to mental health problems and acknowledge it really exists rather than shaming people who have it. I hope you don't relapse into thinking suicidal thoughts, I hope you know that a lot of people care for you. Wishing you all the best!

That's why I want to help those who suffers these mental health struggles and educate others that is real

Hi Blessie! My Brother has experienced the same. He was diagnosed bipolar disorder though I really do not know the exact diagnosis. Surround yourself with positive energy and happy thoughts. I remember those episodes when he lost touch with reality and eventually had to stay in rehab for treatment. Good thing he's doing great now with support system and continues medications. God Bless!

Yes I am really fine because of supporting system in my surrounding and divert my attention to my hobbies like playing ukulele, draw and many more hobbies and I am leaving in my comfort zone because I can move forward. I will post the blog and my title is "We Should Treat Who Have Mental Illness As A Normal Person" and I tackle what is important to treat them equally

Hello Blessie!! So proud of you for seeking professional help. You did not deserve to go through all that bullying. You are so strong for reaching this far 🤗 Sending hugs!! I hope you'll get to blog more about mental health because I would love to read it. 💓

This article of yours @blessie2000 is a reminder that our mental health is equally as important as our physical health and we shouldn't neglect it all. Keep going and hugs for you :)

Congratulations @blessie2000! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I am so glad you're still here! You are so brave for speaking up about mental health. I wish you all the best. Keep going :) (sending virtual hugs)

Hello Blessie, I am Also so Glad that Your Alive Miss 🙂✔️. You Are Super Brave and Wise Sharing Your Hurtful Experiences On here, I totally Respect that, Silence is A Killer. Me too have struggled most of my Life, I Lost My Oldest Brother(who was also my best friend to suicide back July 12/2010, Ironically my Birthday is July 14th, so Birthdays for me even before that I didn't like(my own Birthday) but now that day is even more hurtful for me even 11 years later I still have Flashback's. I have many things to say, but another time perhaps, we all walk in different shoes, But I can Relate to Your feeling that down. Keep your Chin Up young Lady, please Don't ever do that to Yourself, there are people that DO Care, thanks so much for sharing may Peace And Good Thoughts be upon you, I'm really new on here and still don't quite understand how the site works, but you will always have an ear and a shoulder on behalf of myself to vent out too. Okay, 👌🙂🤗🤗

Keep going, take a rest but don't give up. Life is a mess and we need to fix it. No one here in this world having a perfection in life. Me either didn't experience a wonderful life. I'm just keep on writing my story in the present to have a big impact in the future. We are the author of our life, keep chasing dreams. Pain and failure is a lesson in life. Welcome to hive :)