Standing alone is the most difficult way to live life

in Mental Health2 years ago

I mostly write about my travel journeys as travelling is the only thing I need in life.
It is who I am and it is something that makes me feel free and safe. It can be an escape from all the madness happening around and a quick refreshment but also a way to get in touch with nature and see the beauty of the untouched world.

2018-04-18 19.03.59.jpg

This time I want to focus more on the difficulties some of us face when we are forced to stand alone.

I have always been different from majority of people. I enjoy simple things in life and technology, social media, tv, mass consumption, never appealed to me. I believe the happiest times were when we had less. Enough, but less. Less technology, less shallowness, less separation. More humbleness, more kindness, more simplicity.

20190817_210710.jpg

Swimming, snorkelling, walking, hiking, riding my bike, roller blades, random adventures, sitting on the grass, beach and eating, taking pictures of nature and enjoying the sunset, having meaningful conversations, seeing the world, spending time with family and friends or someone special if they came across, doing random acts of kindness, to make someone's day and show them there are still good people in the world.

20211031_204130.jpg

The last year has shown to me how quickly people can leave. It seems, the better you are as a person, the quicker people will take you for granted.
This week has been extremely difficult, and it got me to the point of feeling so stuck, I don't know how to get out of that state.

I've learned that most people are unable to stay true to themselves and those who do, have to fight their battles with very limited number of people behind them. It is the strongest people who continue following their path, no matter how difficult it may be.

If I'm proud of anything in my life, it's the fact that I continue staying true to myself, I know who I am and I believe in myself and follow my gut feeling.

20181218_100346.jpg

How does it feel when you keep getting disappointed by people you once hoped would be there no matter what?
There are no words to describe that feeling but it is painful and the struggle is there.
What do you do when you feel like the whole world is against you and you just can't fit in?
I wish I could give you an answer to that one. Finding the right tribe is the only way to go but to get there, you have to first accept that you are an outsider and appreciate the people that are still staying in your life and know in your heart that if people don't appreciate you, they don't deserve you. Continue building your self-respect, self-love, self-appreciation and no matter what, continue being kind to others and give without expecting anything in return.

2018-03-23 20.16.19.jpg

Support other people who are struggling and trying hard to find their space in the world, help each other out and stay grateful for what you have in your life, for the smallest things, like having a place to sleep and food on the table. Having the ability to walk and experience nature in its fullness.

Let me know your thoughts and if you feel like an outsider remember the saying :"Why try to fit in, when you were born to stand out"

20190709_202123.jpg

It is ok to be different, the right people will find their way to you.

Thanks for reading, sending love and good thoughts to all of you, especially those who feel most isolated. Stay strong.

20170826_101913.jpg

See you next time hive tribe!

Kat

Sort:  

This absolutely resonates with me. It took me several decades to discover that I am my own best fit, and that being true to who I am is the only way to find others who will stand by me. It's also led to letting go of a lot of habits and relationships. Some losses/releases were harder than others, but some felt like a homecoming.
I'm sorry to read that you've had a rough time lately. I can tell from what I have read of your posts that you are very strong and independent and have a wisdom that comes from being alert to your experiences. That has its positives when it comes to self-care, but I know it can also be isolating when you need to make strong decision.
Thanks for sharing this piece. I also miss simpler times. I think that's why I love my crows so much. They keep me present.

Very true. Many times I wish I was like most people and as they say "ignorance is bliss", being true to your beliefs is difficult especially as most people just can't see what some of us can see. I never thought it would be so hard to find real connections and being away from family, makes it so much harder.
Yes, nature and animals are the best cure for loneliness and feeling of isolation, my cat Ivy helps me through tough times too.
Thank you for your comment, I appreciate your view on the topic. Ivy sends love

20211124_173503.jpg

OOOoooooooooooh my gaaawwwwwwd I send love to Ivy!!!

Thanks, will do. She appreciates the love :D

This is very heart-warming to read. I love that you chose yourself and do the things that you want to do. Being independent for sure is such a giant task for anyone, but having that sense of independence from anyone for anything is such an amazing feeling.

Indeed, it can be difficult but very rewarding once you are forced to pretty much do things on your own, it becomes a natural thing I guess and makes you stronger each time you have to do that. Thank you for your comment, it's fantastic to read views on this topic :)

You are right, very often it is difficult to be alone, however we must always find within ourselves the strength and the desire to move forward, whatever we understand in our life. the real mistake is Being dependent on something external to us, giving others the power to decide our happiness.The company and being together is an added value to our life, fundamental, but it must not be an addiction. You in Your post describes what you think very well, and this denotes great maturity.Thanks for sharing! See you soon!

Couldn't say it better myself, absolutely agreed! A lot of self-development and inner strength is needed and it takes a while to get to that point due to what society shows and teaches us as we grow up but at the end ourselves is what we must rely on. Thanks, I really appreciate your comment and insight on the topic :)

It is ok to be different, the right people will find their way to you.

I loved this quote! Indeed, even if I am different and weird at times the people who loved me unconditionally will always accept me for who I am.

Absolutely! It is hard to believe it sometimes and it requires a lot of work within ourselves, but it is so true. Standing out from the normal crowd is actually a blessing so don't be afraid of it :)