A SMALL GROVE IN SUBURBIA

A couple of weeks ago, on the 9th of March, I spent some time, an hour or two, I think, in the area behind the suburban houses on the outskirts of the city. I left the car in the nearby repair shop and went for a walk in search of whatever nature in suburbia has to offer at the end of winter.

(Enlargeable)

My old car needed a minor repair, and I needed something to fill the time while waiting for the work to be done. In this post, I'll show you what inspired me to take a bunch of photographs in the small oak grove on the outskirts of the city, near the road that leads to one of the surrounding villages.

Here you can see a portrait of the young shoot of some plant that I wasn't able to identify. Quite a few species look very similar at this early stage.

These mushrooms ...

... were found and photographed on the bark ...

... of one of the small oaks around me.

In this shot, I used the macro lens to get a better look at two very interesting small mushrooms that looked like some kind of tiny nests or pots. This is an early stage of the fruiting bodies shown in the three previous photographs.

Schizophyllum commune is the name of this species that grows on decaying wood and sickly trees.

(Enlargeable)

In this wide shot, you can take a good look at the setting and you can see more oaks. While exploring the brown leaves on the lower branches of one of those trees ...

... I found a very cool example of mimicry.

(Enlargeable)

It's a stick insect.

(Enlargeable)

The Bacillus rossius ...

(Enlargeable)

... commonly known as the Mediterranean stick insect.

(Enlargeable)

If you enlarge this photograph by clicking on it, you'll be able to take a very up-close look at the cute face of this fairly young and small Bacillus rossius nymph that hasn't reached its adult size.

(Enlargeable)

I encounter stick insects every year, and I photographed this species quite a few times, but never so early, before the spring officially started. Photographing the Bacillus rossius in the winter environment made of barren branches and sparse brown foliage was a unique, exciting experience.

(Enlargeable)

This was a highly unexpected encounter.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see a friend that was there with me.

(Enlargeable)

It was late in the morning, around 10 AM, so the dew was still present only in the shade provided by the shrubs and trees. Here you can see two blades of grass that formed a green X symbol above the carpet made of leaves fallen from the oaks. The droplets added a nice decorative touch to the scene.

This insect appeared when I removed a handful of dead leaves on the surface of the leaf litter.

(Enlargeable)

It's a leafhopper nymph. I'm pretty sure that belongs to the genus Psammotettix of the Cicadellidae family but can't tell you what species exactly is this.

A meter or two further, I photographed two tiny flowers of the Cardamine hirsuta plant.

(Enlargeable)

In the foreground of this shot, you can see the dried-out remains of a puffball mushroom that released its spores, probably a week or two ago.

This gall, created by the tree after being punctured by the wasp from the Cynipidae family, was photographed on one of the twigs above my head.

(Enlargeable)

On the edge of the grove, one tree was in bloom.

(Enlargeable)

It wasn't an oak, of course.

(Enlargeable)

These beautiful flowers belong to the wild cherry tree (Prunus avium).

(Enlargeable)

Here you can admire a nice mix of winter foliage and springtime flowers.

(Enlargeable)

After this uplifting floral encounter, I walked back to the repair shop. My car was ready so I paid for the service and drove away.

(Enlargeable)

But I didn't drive back home. Here you can see a portrait of one of the mannequins ...

... that were posing inside the Takko Fashion store. Can I safely assume that you didn't expect this shopping mall stuff after all those insects, mushrooms, and plants? Well, yes, I think I can.

(Enlargeable)

Takko Fashion store is one of the many stores of the biggest shopping mall in Pula.

A friend who visited the repair shop and oak grove with me bought a spring dress there.

While waiting in the car parked in front of the entrance ...

... I had some fun photographing the mannequins ...

... and the shirts displayed outside the store.

AND THAT'S IT. AS ALWAYS HERE ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK.

THE END

Sort:  

Oh, you have the Takko shops in your country! I look forward to them appearing in my country as well 😃
Spring came pretty early this year. Maybe a month earlier - you can see it on the blossoming trees too. So no wonder you saw this curious creature, the stick insect so early too. I have never seen such an animal live, except in the zoo of Vienna. So, I don't know if I'll be scared, as it reminds me a bit of praying mantises, which I'm generally afraid of. 🤔 But your exploration walk is wonderful as always, very crowded with all sorts of interesting things. 😊
!LUV
!PIZZA

🙂

Some amazing blogs, but my favorite, hands down, is the cat post.😸

Great spring photos!
I especially liked the stick insect, feels like it fell asleep in the sun)
In a few days fruit trees will bloom under my window...

Congratulations @borjan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Since I live in the Mediterranean region, I've seen those stick insects in the forests before, but I guess they didn't look the same as this one. The color was different.

And yes, of course I didn't expect to see a clothing store after those nature photos 😂

The color can vary in this species. They can be green, brown, or gray. And in a few shades of these colors. 😆 Glad to hear that the shopping mall was a real surprise.

The stick insect is awesome. I've only seen one in person, but it was more dark and blended in with the bark of a tree.

!LUV

Seeing your photography is always amazing, thank you for sharing my friend @borjarial

How on earth did you even see that stick insect!!

Dear God I am yet to see one in my life... And to be honest I doubt I ever will...

Lucky man!!

!LUV


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lileisabel ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Mediterranean stick insect to be looks like it is made of wood. The texture on Skin was very ressmbeling to the Wood.

That X of grass with dewdrops was very cool!

Stick insect is awesome. I never see stick insect in real . Nd these 2 mushroom photo is really amazing. Looks like nest.

From nature to fashion😂😂😂

Lovely pictures broo

As always, you bring beautiful photos. I love the plants and insects. Especially the Bacillus rossius insect, it's such a cute little stick.

Amazing! Those mushrooms grow at that height of the stem.

Nice photos love it.

Very good post, you talk about a lot of things and there are many great photos. I really liked how you started talking about nature, although I was a bit disgusted by the mushrooms, I loved how good the stick insect photos look.

Nice for you photography a flowers sir. @borjan

All pictures all awesome special those pictures you captured in close up, superb.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@soulsdetour(1/5) tipped @borjan (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!