We lost our Sanctuary Today...

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)
They dragged the trees out like dead bodies, branches bouncing off the pavement like the final twitches of a protesting carcass. The rumble of machinery replaced the once restful glen in the heart of the city.

IMG_20220308_095658900 crop2.jpg

IMG_20220308_095624933_HDR crop.jpg

At first as I approached the area, the jarring sight of warning tape around the area, made it look like a crime scene. In a way it was, as this was one of my favorite spots for quiet reflection. The buildings on either side, resembled the sloping valleys of a peaceful woodland. The sounds of the city just feet away, receded into the background replaced by the hypnotic rustle of the swaying trees, the chirping of birds, and the skittering of friendly squirrels.

The only guests were the rare office workers enjoying a cup of coffee, or the harmless neighbor in need, supine with eyes closed, getting some restful sleep. The tree canopy provided a protective covering during the heat of summer, and nothing could beat the sound of soft rain dripping from leaf to leaf. This was a perfect spot for me to just reflect, and many times come up with interesting post ideas to be used on Hive. In short, I loved the place, and wrote some of my most moving posts here, but as George Harrison one said" "All Things Must Pass."

Of course, security was used as the pretext, as the majestic shade-giving trees and bushes made some of the office workers feel unsafe, and the police couldn't easily see in. In all the years this quiet place existed, there had never been even ONE instance of trouble. I think all of us knew what a little gift this spot was, and did nothing to disturb the solace we all enjoyed.

PXL_20210319_214241332 crop.jpg

Tree-of-Life.jpg

They tell me that it took the complaint of just one suburban female office worker who felt "uncomfortable" when an unhoused man lay down his head and curled up on a bench under a shady tree. He was almost 50 feet away from her, but that was too close to her for comfort.

So now that its gone, my search begins for another place of reflection. Hopefully it won't be near an office building peopled by paranoid suburbanites compelled to transform every peaceful. green place into the likes of a strip mall. An old cow path, turns into a woodland trail, and that is "upgraded" with gravel, before becoming a paved sidewalk ("footpath" to you Europeans), before becoming a street in a bustling city. This is what happens when fear erases our green spaces, and the beauty of the wild is paved over in the name of progress.

If you liked this article, please upvote and reblog, thanks!

Please check out my recent posts:


All images by @EverNoticeThat


Sort:  
 2 years ago  

This is heartbreaking. I remember some years back at home where I do relax by placing some mat under the tree to cool my head not until a snake was found on it, we were forced to cut down the tree. I can actually relate to what you are saying. Nice post indeed

I can say this, the suburban woman who's complaint got them cut down, will now have no cooling shade during the summer heat. Come July, she'll be wishing those trees back! :)

 2 years ago  

And for her there will be no remedy for that because the tree can't be grown there again

 2 years ago  

😳OH NO! Not the tree! I am so sorry you had to see your relaxation spot gone in a heartbeat. I can understand how you feel because I had this same exact experience before. It was painful for me that I thought, would I see another like this again? Till now, I have flash backs of the spot and how it smells during the rain season.

With the tree gone, that's reduction of oxygen and no cool shade during the hot season. I hope you get another spot soon that will be comfy for you and won't be taken down.

thank_you_esther.png

Thank you for your thoughts, but I wish it had only been one tree. They cut down a grove of them, as well as all of the hedges that had been planted around them. I loved that spot, as it was right downtown and easy to get to.

The place where the trees were is completely bald right now, only dirt and stumps remain, all because of one complaint. However, I'm sure I'll find another quiet place for thoughtful reflection as well.

 2 years ago  

It so bad the tree was cut down and it really look nice to stay under just to chill for sometime

It was great when they had the leaf canopy overhead, it felt like a little slice of woodland in the heart of the city.

Sorry about this.. I also have sanctuary places, the back of my Alma matter chapel☺️, it got fenced one time and one had to go all the way to the front, and the security will not allow you in.

I hope you find a new place soon.

I'm sure I will. We are right on a river, and my college campus is on the edge and has a park and bike trail nearby. There is one other spot 2 blocks away, that has younger trees and a place to sit. It's not as large, but will grow into a shady little spot over time.

Niiiice. I m happy for you.

These days I just lock my self in and get along with the ambience at home.