The Flicker Haven Farm Files-Homestead Happenings!

in ecoTrain2 years ago

IMG_4612.jpg

It's been pretty chilly out. Like, when I went to do chores Wednesday morning it said -6 degrees Fahrenheit on my thermometer. Now, I actually adore winter and the snow, but when one has livestock to care for, any time the mercury dips below 20 degrees Fahrenheit, well, it makes one a bit tetchy. Okay, not one, I won't speak for other people, just me, it makes me a bit grumple-rumpled.

You see, I want the animals to be comfortable and I am a bit maniacal about water. I have my own well and an assortment of water faucets around the farm. They are all frost-free hydrants, but still, one (I) do not want to dig up a broken frost-free hydrant in sub zero temperature because of lack of attention to detail.

That means in order to avoid frozen water or uncomfortable animal disasters, hoses need to be disconnected, tank heaters need to be maintained, troughs checked twice daily, heated poultry waterers need to be inspected. The list goes on....These chores are even more intense once the temperature drops.

Hence.....the tetchy.....


However, I've got winter livestock care down to a science, so, so far, so good on the cold animal care front. Everyone's doing splendidly. My wooly mammoth of a pregnant heifer is gestating comfortably, the ducks are looking at me with only a modicum of judgment, and the chickens appreciated the leftover stale granola treat I threw at, er, to them this morning.

IMG_4615 (2).jpg

Since it's been cold and I am still in illness recovery mode, I've been limited to light duty for the most part, so experimenting with my sourdough starter has been a kick! The other day I made a lovely bit of dough with some of the starter and baked it in my cast iron Dutch oven in my new oven. It turned out soooo good!

That said, I am going to limit baking a loaf of sourdough to one time a week. The way that loaf was devoured makes me think that our butts would expand to an ax handle in width in no time if I kept cranking out loaves on a more than one time a week basis.

It's probably my fault because I also roasted a turkey our friends raised and gave us at the same time I baked the bread. Oh drooltastic! I still have fond memories about that sandwich....

IMG_4625.jpg

Due to the cold snap, my pepper sprouts are a touch behind. They are coming along nicely, just a teensy bit delayed. Not that I mind though, I am a bit delayed too thanks to my convalescence, so I'm more than a bit thankful to the sprouts for taking their time.

However, just looking at these little babies starting to grow gets me all excited for spring! In fact, one day when I was feeling all energy deficient, I sat next to the wood stove, my little Cora shadow at my feet, and made a list of what herbs and medicinal plants I had and needed to add to my homestead.

IMG_4624.jpg

Living in the Pacific Northwest, I have a bunch of awesome herbs to wildcraft right out of my front yard, dandelion, plantain, Nootka rose, yarrow, red clover, and Oregon grape are just a few. One of my goals is to do better about sourcing most of my personal care stuff right off of my farm. I do this in the food department and am somewhat good about it in the body care department, but I definitely need to do better.

That said, here are a couple of healing plants that I am going to cultivate this year and will be starting in the next week:

Calendula: I've grown and used this lovely herb lots of times, but I need to have a larder full of it for salve purposes. Nothing beats a comfrey/calendula/plantain oil infused salve for bites, bruises, and healing abrasions. We get a lot of that stuff happening around these parts.

Echinacea: My grandma had a huge plot of echinacea and I would get my supply from her, but she moved to Arizona this past year and I need to get my own bed going. My taxed immune system keeps reminding me to get my rear in gear with regards to getting this immune supporting herb growing!

Arnica: Arnica is supposed to be good for healing wounds, burns, and the like, and I just want to give it a go. We'll see how it does!

There's other cultivars that I want to experiment with, but those three are definitely getting added to the around the farm plant flock. This year you all will probably see plenty of posts about my expanded rose and herb garden that is in progress and located between the pizza oven and my front deck. I have dreams of breathing in basil, roses, and rosemary as I sit on the deck listening to my inherited collection of big band era records while sipping lavender iced tea.....sigh....

IMG_2316.jpg
soon...

And that brings me to the grow shelf. Whenever possible we repurpose or craft the tools we need rather than buying them. Mainly because I am more than slightly frugal, and secondly, because there is a lot of waste in this world and why bother buying something when you can most probably throw something together with what you have lying around the farm?

A few years ago the hubs took an old plastic shelf, drilled a few holes in it, and hung some florescent light fixtures from adjustable hooks and chains on each shelf. All of these items were things we had lounging around the farm. The only thing I bought were the grow light bulbs for the florescent housings.

IMG_4628.jpg

The reason I built the grow shelf in the first place was purely financial in nature. In order to start my plants I was having to heat the greenhouse, as cultivars like peppers and tomatoes need a high germination temperature. Well, that was expensive and frankly, kinda wasteful in the electricity department, so I tried to think of a better way.

I have a pretty good sized bathroom due to it being handicap accessible. It's always kept at a pretty nice temperature, so I thought Why not put a seedling starting shelf in there?. It's amazing how many seedlings you can start when you stack them vertically, and by the time they start taking up space it's warm enough out for them to go live in the greenhouse, so my repurposed grow shelf is super economical and useful.

That said, after a year in the storage shed, it definitely needs a cleaning. Last year, I took it all apart to store it because I learned the hard way that each late winter when I take it out, it so needs a cleaning. That is a much easier thing to accomplish when it's not all together in its working form.

IMG_4629.jpg

So long story short, that's my weekend project, to clean the grow shelf, re-hang the grow lights, and prep the planters for the pepper sprouts and upcoming herb, flower, and tomato sprouts.

So even thought it's a touch frigid outside, inside my home there's more than a few signs of spring's imminent arrival. I'm so excited!


And on that note, it's time to get to work. I'd love to hear what herbs or vegetables you are excited to try out on your homestead this year or what pre-spring chores you are working on!



And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's gluten and mostly soil-free iPhone.


Sort:  

Cor blimey, for someone convalescing you are fair keeping yourself busy with plans!

I have still to get my new sourdough starter on the go, I meant to do it a few weeks ago but the Rona put paid to a lot of my plans, or at least delayed them a tad. Tis a fine looking loaf!

Can you tell I am feeling better? LOL!

I wish we had some Star Trek tech, I would totally send you a starter! I'm just glad you are on the mend, I miss MB storytime when you are gone! And thanks for the loaf praise😊 Have you ever crafted a sourdough rye loaf? I am pondering such things...

!PIZZA

I can totally tell you are feeling better! lol.

Rye is my favourite! My old starter was mostly rye with a bit of white to gee it up. I have had many starters as I must admit I am terrible at keeping them alive for long periods of time. I am raring to go on a new one though. Will defo try to get on it shortly. That and the Hive storyness!

Yesss! For starter and story glory!

I had a memory gremlin inkling that you were a rye guy, can’t wait to see what you craft in that department!

A Rye Guy. I will happily claim that honour!! My first few were just plain white wheat flour, and they were good but then I got some dark rye starter nonsense from a local bakers and it was in a league of it's own!! I will get round to it!!

I spent this week getting the infrastructure up for seed starting. This morning, looking for something else, I discovered all my seedling trays had never gotten washed up from last year. So that's a big project I have to do over the next couple weeks. I need 4 for the starting on Wednesday, and I'll have 2 weeks to get the rest done before the next starting.

We'd been really warm here this week, but drop to 9F tonight and 0F by Monday night. But then it warms up to 40's in the day by Wednesday. The 6" - 8" of snow we got today should start to melt then.

Oh wow, you are going to be building back your strength by using those biceps! I'll be in the seed starting supplies scrubbing trenches with you, and I still can't believe how it's just about March already, here comes the Spring to do flurry ha ha ha!

Brrr, you are just as cold as we are, and just like you all we are going to pop up into the 40's by tomorrowish. Slush and mud here I come lol! Hope all the washing goes smoothly:)

OMG - and I mean that in the best possible way. The first time have read one of your posts. I was enthralled. I love your writing. I love reading about how people live in other parts of the world. And you made me hungry, and I just finished supper. Lol.

I live in Newfoundland, Canada and it is just getting dark. And a cold minus 12 C.

I will be back for more of your posts for sure.

!BBH

!ALIVE

@generikat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (12/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hi! And thank you, lol, your reply made my day😆☺️

One of my favorite things about Hive is getting to meet people from all over the planet and see how they live in their own words! And Newfoundland! That’s a whole different level of cold so I’ve been told! I spent a bunch of my childhood in the Alaskan wilderness so I remember some of that lack of daylight in the winter/sub zero stuff, so cool that you dwell up there!

Fridays are crazy in my realm, I just sent half my family off to Montana on a hay collection run and I’ve got a D&D (Dungeons and Dragons)session to play in, so I’m gonna bolt. I’m so happy you dropped by, I upvoted your post from today and will be by to read and comment tomorrow!

Thanks again for being so positively awesome!

!PIZZA

Thanks 😊

Oh my good ... that loaf; yes that is something I would definitely have to limit the production of in my house. It must have been so goo ... and can just imagine the butter. Yum.

It was glorious, and on the next once weekly loaf I bake, I shall put an extra large slab of my grass fed butter on it while the slice is still warm in your honor! Hope all is well up yonder, been keeping an eye on the situation up there, sending good vibes your way😊

Don't forget the cracked pepper/tabasco. #carbfantasy

One of the guilty pleasures I really miss...Sourdough bread!

I was diagnosed diabetic almost a year ago and have cut bread out of my diet completely. I do miss this though, that was always my favorite loaves. It looks fantastic!

Thanks so much for sharing this post on ListNerds too!

Oh! I didn't mean to torment you with starch photos! I have Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism so I totally understand limiting and eliminating food groups in order to manage one's afflictions. At this point in my life I would rather feel better than eat something that I know will make me feel gross (or as in your case cause actual bodily harm!), but the people in my house that can eat bread sure love all the sourdough baking lol!

I have been really enjoying exploring Listnerds, it is such an amazing project! Thank you so much for stopping by!

!PIZZA

More power to your arm!

Thank you kindly, I’m gonna need it 😆 👍

Herbs help me a lot in this cold weather. I will try black bean, it has more benefits

That’s so good to hear! Hope you have a lovely weekend!

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

 2 years ago  

really good to see the goings on at the homestead.. and some fantastic medicinal plants.. i could use some calendula right now as i burned my finger just before :)

Oh! I wish I could toss you a jar of calendula comfrey burnt finger soothing awesomeness, I am so sorry! Hopefully you have an aloe plant lurking around😊

And I so love plants, they are just the greatest and I miss them so during the winter months. but it's starting to melt here so soon I'll be rolling around in the soil lol! Thanks for stopping by, hope that digit of yours is feeling less scorched!

 2 years ago  

awe thats so sweet! fortunately yes i have some aloe vera on hand.. always! feeling better now <3

That sourdough looks delicious. My wife makes it, as well as one of my coworkers, who brought over some recently. love it.

Thanks! It doesn’t last long around here, but it sounds like you know all about how fast sourdough disappears lol!

!PIZZA

I am so glad I had one last vote on ListNerds when this popped on. LOL!

First of all, that bread looks amazing. Seeing it felt like 15 years back when my mother and sisters used to make bread ahead of dinner. Beautiful post.

Awww, thank you so much @amirtheawesome1😊

I bet your sisters and mother’s bread was amazing!! I’d miss it too!

!PIZZA

Great looking "Sourdough". That is one of my favorites. Don't neglect your recovery.

Thank you so much!😊 It’s my favorite bread ever too, and I’ll do my best regarding recovery time, but holy sourdough on a shingle, is it ever a challenge to be down lol!

!PIZZA

For years there was a small paperback sourdough cookbook on my shelf with all the other cookbooks. Now that sourdough starter has entered the kitchen, the cookbook is gone. I suppose I got rid of it last time I thinned my cookbooks, thinking "I've never used it yet, and probably never will." sigh

Isn't that always the way of things, lol!

I used to go through a similar scenario with my horses in the winter. I always looked forward to spring. It is hard work but I enjoyed it.

It is hard work but I enjoyed it.

Ahh, you said it perfectly! I feel that way about most things that I do, but especially livestock related chores. The work is always worth it for sure, and speaking of work, I have a cow stall to shovel, lol!

Thanks for stopping by!😊

!PIZZA

Found this post in List Nerds. That bread looks fabulous and I can understand the need to only bake one per week. You are an awesome animal parent. Your Corgi looks very comfy. So it sounds like your lifestyle is pretty self sufficient. I was stationed in the Pacific Northwest when I was in the Navy many years ago. Hope you're continuing to feel better.

I'm so glad you did! Listnerds is so cool! One of the best things about it so far is meeting more Hivers through clicking on emails, I love it!

My corgi, who also looks like a loaf of bread, is staring at me with judgment right now because I am typing replies instead of giving her attention, however, I am reasonably sure she'll survive lol!

And that is so cool you were stationed in the PNW. My aunt was in the Navy and spent a lot of time in Bremerton and I have a really close friend who was a submariner who was stationed there too. Lots of stuff going on in that part of the world.

Thank you so much for stopping by and thanks for all the kind words, I will definitely be clicking emails of yours and checking out your blog!😊

!PIZZA

Good Morning, @generikat! I am "meeting" many new Hivers through List Nerds too. I was stationed at the Naval Submarine Base in Bangor, WA in 1982. Many years ago. We would go to the enlisted club in Bremerton at the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard on the weekends once in awhile. I was there from May of 1982 till April or May of 1984. My stepdaughter's corgi loved attention as well. When she was bored she harassed my cat. They're so funny! Have a great day and weekend. 😀



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

That's so cool! My husband was stationed at Fort Lewis in 1982 (Army)! My grandpa was in the Navy in the 50's/60's and he and my hubs would always go back and forth taunting each other, lol! A huge chunk of my family has been, or still is, in all the branches of the military.

Corgi's are the best! Mine's a cowboy corgi (half red heeler/half corgi, she definitely favors her corgi genes more, she looks like a short haired fox and is a complete goofball!

I had a glorious day, I sure hope you are having a great weekend too!

Thanks, @generikat! This is so fun getting to know new people because of their ListNerds emails with their posts. Have you lived out there all your life? I have lived in the Midwest (Wisconsin and several years in Illinois) most of my life other than when I was in the Navy. I have heard of Blue Heelers but not Red Heelers. They are working dogs too aren't they? Have a great Monday! 😀



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

Yep, I have lived in the Pacific Northwest my whole life, with a good chunk of it spent in the Alaskan wilderness (my dad was a timber faller and we moved, a lot!). The hubs spent four years stationed in Wisconsin and has fond memories about it, so I think a field trip that way will have to happen, especially with a good chunk of my family thinking about moving that way.

Heelers are working dogs, but the only thing Cora works on is being as close as possible to me lol! Must be the Corgi part! My parent's red heeler on the other hand, is intense, she works everything, even house flies lol!

You have an interesting life for sure. Where in Wisconsin was your husband stationed? If you ever make your way here and are close to Kenosha let me know. Seriously! We can have lunch or something. My stepdaughter's Corgi, Bailey, loved to cuddle and be close to her too. Have a great day! 😀
!ALIVE



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

You're a busy bee, but I love reading these stories. I wish you landed on my account sooner haha or that I had found yours instead. That bread looks divine btw!
I truly admire everyone that starts growing their own food and is creative using old items and turning them into something new, giving them another life.

I'm one that doesn't love throwing things out either and always keep in mind that items may be useful in the future for another purpose. Meaning that with a move to another country coming up, I now have some stuff to do :) lol

Moving to another country! Ahh! That's exciting and yes, you have definitely got some stuff to do I bet! Can't wait to hopefully hear of your adventures on your blog, I've seriously got some catching up reading to do now that I have found your blog too, and thank you regarding the bread compliment and stuff, I am all about reusing things and being as resilient/self-sufficient as possible.

That and I am too lazy to drive into town😉 Hope you are having a splendid day!

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
generikat tipped threesteps (x1)
generikat tipped rcaine (x1)
generikat tipped amirtheawesome1 (x1)
@generikat(7/10) tipped @thisismylife (x1)
generikat tipped jongolson (x1)
generikat tipped lisamgentile1961 (x1)
generikat tipped meesterboom (x1)
generikat tipped beststart (x1)
generikat tipped bradleyarrow (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Snuggle Kitteh!