Back to the Land!

in ecoTrain3 years ago

I headed back to the land for the first time in ages yesterday.

It had just been too hot over August to do anything, although in honesty that's probably more of an excuse to cover up the real reason that just living online has been far more interesting to me of late.

It was good to get back out there, looks very different in early Autumn, or rather late summer after two months of almost no rain:
20210908_140231.jpg

Still, I didn't expect it to look fecund, and the fact that the grass hasn't grown means I don't have to think about strimming again for a while!

The well hadn't dried up entirely, but then again it hasn't been a particularly hot summer, and I haven't been using any water from not being there!

20210908_140246.jpg

But still some water is better than no water!

The poor old house is looking a bit sorry for itself....

20210908_155526.jpg

Not helped by the tatt I've left lying around, but a general tidy up is next on the to do list! And it will be good for some exercise as well - tidying up around here means LOTs of walking up and down hill!

This is the view from the house - everywhere is dry, although it did actually rain today, first real break of the summer I think!

20210908_155607.jpg

Looking back through the woodlands, the area we spent a lot of time clearing in spring - actually looks SO MUCH BETTER now! (This is looking towards the house, which is center right, just a bit further on.

20210908_155429.jpg

And my favourite vista, down the olive terraces, with some chappas to one side, part of a roof in waiting!

20210908_155700.jpg

So basically, it seems that 'dry and barren' is the theme in rural Portugal in early September!

Final Thoughts...

Getting back out to the land felt good, defo the right decision!

My life feels like it's just getting back into balance again!

I'll be heading back there later again today, and tomorrow probably, the one GOOD THING about DRY means that it's a good opportunity to get to work on some stuff, and now the temperatures are pretty perfect for working outdoors, as it only gets hot in the late afternoons, and then it's not too bad, less than 30 degrees anyway!

P.S. I'm also counting this an entry to the 'appreciating nature photography' initiative put out last week by @ecotrain - it fits!

Sort:  

Roaming around own property / land always give a good vibes....an inner peace happens which is quite soothing. It happens to me....whenever I visit my parental land it gives me immense pleasure.

Hey sounds good to me, same!

!PIZZA

@steemflow! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @revisesociology.

Did you know PIZZA has a very active community Discord? (1/20)

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

You just reminded me that perhaps are more than 10 years from the last time I went back to my parents land.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Are you tempted to visit?!

Now and then, but I need to wait for better times right now. I was a child walking through those hills, so there is some kind of redemption going back to it. And more. Dad is dead for 6 years, but the 100 plum trees he planted are still there (well 98 technically as 2 died last drought).

That's still A LOT of plums!

500-1000 kg per year, all made into alcohol by one uncle. Ha Ha!

last time worked on the Land about 15 years ago, with my great-grandmother in the village. More and more often I wonder how much I miss such work. With age, the peasant roots make themselves felt :)

It's certainly a nice way of life, goes perfectly with working online!

!PIZZA

@natord! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @revisesociology.

Did you know you can now buy Rising Star packs with $PIZZA? (2/20)

Wow - lots of great views! Not sure what your plans are, but making a few different terraces to fully enjoy them would be so epic! Enjoy the physical work, it's really necessary next to our online lives, getting the balance right!

My plans are to take everything very slowly!

Including planning the plans!

!PIZZA

@soyrosa! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @revisesociology.

Did you know Pizzabot speaks Spanish if you use the command ESPIZZA? (3/20)

Hope you could do a really great renovation there. It seems like there are so much memories there 💖

 3 years ago  

This will relief the stress of cutting a lot of bushes due to the fact that rain is just starting to fall and it will be easy to clear. There are lot of things to be done here

this reminds me of south west colorado, or parts of california before the rains hit.

Working in the heat can be brutal. Your post reminds me that I didn't get much done lately either. My dog kennel (that I mention in your last land post) isn't finished. The only thing I got done was fixing my driveway to make it much wider then it was. No more puddles the size of small lakes in my driveway after it rains either. My roof really needs to be fixed but now I'll likely put it off until next year. I got some bushes to dig up and I think I will do that today. There still looks to be a decent amount of water in that well, how deep is the well?

!BEER

It's good to hear I'm not the only one with too much to do!

You know I've never even seen the bottom of the well, so I don't know the depth!

I guess I should put a weighted rope down there to find out...

!PIZZA

@rentmoney! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @revisesociology.

Have you voted for Pizza teams Hive witness (pizza.witness)? (4/20)


Hey @revisesociology, here is a little bit of BEER from @rentmoney for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.