Sort:  

Have you tried eating sweet potato tops? Try them. High in minerals!
You can look up recipes on the web.
How do you store the sweet potatoes to last a year?
Don't they germinate after a few months?

Yes last year I collected and cooked some sweet potato leaves. I plan on doing it again this year.

I store them in a dark room in a plastic bucket and yeah they do start growing. But since the room is so dark they just stop growing after forming little buds.

Wow. I am super impressive that this batch can last a whole year! It seems so worth it :o I bet the also taste way better than store bought ones :D

Aw. What a cute and friendly bumblebee :'D

I am trying to give the bumblebees water with a bit of sugar on really hot days, to help out

Yeah I am glad I was finally able to grow a crop of something that lasts me an entire year. Lets hope this coming harvest is just as good.

Hehe yeah he was quite curious, ah thats nice.. make sure to add marbles to whatever the water is in so the bees have a safe place to land.

Understandable dude! Its amazing! I am looking forward to the day I have my own place where I can plant what I want! :D

Ah! Good call, will do! Normally I just don't fill it to the top, so the bees can land on the edge :D

Looks like it will be a very successful crop again this year!

thank you, hoping so.. we harvest in the late fall around here.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I really like eating sweet potato. Here in Philippines, we simply cook the peeled sweet potato in a hot oil with caramelized sugar on it..☺️

Me too, growing my own they sure are tasty. Oh cool I will have to give that a try. I have boiled them but not in sweet oils.

thanks for the good idea.