Making Lemonades Out of Lemons

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago


“When life gives you lemons, make lemonade” - Dale Carnegie


I turned my crocheting skill into a full time business in 2018. Things weren’t as easy for my family and I was desperately looking for a source of income to help out because I wasn’t in school at that time.


Luckily, I had a good phone with great internet access which I used to my advantage by searching on successful crochet creators, following their YouTube channels to get better and practice alongside their tutorials. This was how I became very good and I was ready to make money lol.

B5AFC8D2-CF81-4AD9-86C8-98BA71E5190B.jpeg

The first set of yarns I purchased


Notwithstanding the constant battle with self doubt and negative thoughts about things not working out in the end, but somehow with the help of the right people that motivated me, I pulled through! I had a survey done on all my social media platforms on what crochet pieces they’d love to buy most and crop tops got the highest vote.

I did my first sample of a crochet tube crop top with the tutorials I got on YouTube and I had my sister model it so I advertise on social media and it worked!. I got very good reviews and comments on the pictures I posted of my very first work and even orders! Excitement is an understatement for what I felt when I received the accolades and I was happy my creativity was finally coming to light and getting recognized.



D9F14C41-7CDE-4AF6-9697-DC51F6DC9F0E.jpeg
640E2D33-40DB-42D8-AFA1-125E8D720BBA.jpeg
5C919466-1883-438E-8B07-211632C8EA91.jpeg
C4743BE2-91C1-4D87-9BBC-041757D1B37B.jpeg
C1F3E57C-7B51-41E0-AF28-62582CBFD336.jpeg

675B6269-91D7-400E-90BF-41B6C80E5AB1.jpeg

A few crochet crop tops that was modeled


MY VERY FIRST ORDER & DELIVERY

I proceeded to open an Instagram page with the name “crochetsbychocho” because it was my nickname at the time. to advertise my pieces for a wider audience. I became very consistent as I set a goal to make at least one crochet piece in a day. It wasn’t easy combining making crochet pieces and doing house chores same time and I was getting frustrated.Somehow i managed to balance both activities but gave more attention to my business. My friends and family were also really supportive as they’ll always post and help advertise their crochet pieces on their own social media platforms.

79AB3E0A-33C5-4BD2-B581-29A6434E15A4.jpeg

EC9E4DDA-B836-4C4B-BE79-E73224007F30.jpeg

EBEDDB2C-CD65-4464-9451-E7DA90EBB0C1.jpeg

I got my very first order on my business Instagram page. A friend had referred me to her friend and she requested a delivery of two crochet crop tops. I was overwhelmed because not only did I get my very first order but I got two orders in one. Luckily I had balls of the exact color of yarns she wanted for her order so I didn’t need to go out to shop for them and then I started her order immediately she paid the next day and finished up a day after as I didn’t want to disappoint my very first customer. She wanted them delivered in 4 days prior to her order date and I was willing to deliver even before then to impress her and of course give me good referrals.

8CDA9649-5656-4B6E-9411-928A33D5FD04.png
06AD63E9-94A4-40FF-BF58-CF2B053BAE76.jpeg


She really loved her new crochet pieces after she took delivery of them and they were her correct sizes. She was impressed with how fast I finished and even delivered before the agreed date. She sent me pictures of her wearing the outfits and even promoted my brand by tagging my business Instagram handle on her posts.
CA6D5CB6-8102-493B-B98A-916ABB113FDB.jpeg

6C7B727E-AFDD-4377-BBDA-B1DD8963736D.jpeg
3F65FA8F-C936-4584-B363-C155D02C3B01.jpeg

Ever since, I got orders not only from referrals, but from my consistency and advertisements on social media. I can confidently say I sold over 50 crochet pieces as at that time before I proceeded to college. From there I was able to save up and of course help out with a few family needs. Not only was I able to help my parents out but I could sense the feeling of pride around them that their young daughter was finally an entrepreneur and a successful one at that. Seeing my parents happy was everything for me and indeed I was very proud of myself and I still am.

Lastly I’d say it’s also good to surround yourself with the right people that would give you the right motivation whenever it’s needed and as I wouldn’t have been able to achieve anything if I allowed negativity in the way and I didn’t speak to anyone about it!

“Believe in your infinite potential. Your only limitations are those you set upon yourself”- Roy Bennett.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Wow this is so cool dear... I'm so proud of you even know I'm just getting to know about you 😊

Not everyone uses their skills to fetch them money, you are doing that and it's awesome!

Keep up the good work, your skill is beautiful!

This means a lot to me, thank you🥺
I’m very sure you’re creative as well and I hope to see more of you💗

Haha not as creative as you are dear... You're amazing! 😊

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ajumaa, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

I like to see young people finding and carving a path. I love your spirit, consistency and attitude towards work. You have done yourself a great deal of favor. Keep doing what you are good at.

Welll done.

your sister is pretty.

Thank you so much for your words of motivation. Finding a path and staying consistent is something most young people battle with including myself. I hope to do more and even better.

Thank you and you’re really pretty as well💗

Awwn. Thank you. Stay blessed.

Stay blessed too sis

I love how determined you were..
Honestly I feel believing in one's self, your hidden potential and ability is one key to success.

Weldon sis you did quite great for yourself🤗

Thank you sis💗

Believing in one’s self can be difficult most times as self doubt will always be in the way, but our self doubts don’t determine who we are and what we’re capable of. I hope we all figure out our potentials that would lead us to our success story in the end!

That's it sis.
You've said it all .

Thanks for sharing your story with us.
I feel elited 🤗

Wonderful Article. It's not so easy to survive in this part of the world so it's really nice when people like you use your creative part. I'm so excited to finally read the Genesis of crochetsbychocho.

!PIZZA !LUV <3

Thank you for reading💗

Figuring out your creative part & staying consistent isn’t easy. I hope we all get it and get it right so life would be much easier as being in this part of the world gets tougher daily!

Haha and yes that’s how crochetsbychocho came to life🤗

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samostically(1/5) tipped @ajumaa (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @ajumaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello, @ajumaa !
Welcome to Ladies of Hive.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading and for the warm welcome🤗
I’ll actively be involved in supporting other women in the community and also share ideas as I strongly believe in ‘women supporting women’

Consistency has always been a means to reaching a height of supprise and forever loving why you kept on striving. I'm so happy for you dear.
Nicely written article

I agree! Consistency over everything as it always wins. Thank you for reading and loving it🤗

You are welcome dear

i love your success story, moreover you are talented, you grab the skills just by watching tutorial on Yt, not many are capable of that...

Thank you🤗
I was practicing as well while watching so I learnt faster.

Thank your for reading and loving it!🤗