Girl Power | Three Reasons I Fell In Love With Cardio Boxing

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

Hi all...how is everyone doing? I completed my Covid quarantine yesterday. After one week of staying home, I felt quite lethargic and restless at the same time. As someone who exercises most days of the week, I am not used to spending much time on my butt or taking a long rest. So, after a week of not working out, I needed to start exercising again to regain my energy.

Contrary to what many believe, exercising regularly gives you a lot of energy as your fitness level improves. Many people believe that working out is tiring and depletes your energy. It may be true if you do too much too soon. But if you do it correctly and only engage in light activity, it should be safe and beneficial to anyone.

I highly encourage people to take it slowly and only engage in a light activity like brisk walking if they lead a sedentary life. Please do not take up running or any vigorous exercise routine if you are just starting out. Vigorous activity may put too much stress on your joints or your heart, that may lead to an unwanted outcome like injuries or, worse, cardiac arrest.

🥊 Cardio Boxing 🥊

I fell in love with cardio boxing a couple of years ago and have been practicing it since then. But I have to admit I am sticking to it because my favorite Korean celebrity is an avid boxer 🤣. It is inspiring watching your celeb crush crushing it 2 hours daily in a boxing gym to keep fit 😍. And yeah, the ahjussi (Korean for middle aged man) is 46 but looks like someone in his 30s. His boxing routine helps him stay in shape for all his fights and action scenes in movies.

But seriously, I am sticking to it, not solely because of Jang Hyuk but other benefits I will talk about in a short while.

But what is cardio boxing?

Cardio boxing is a physical activity that mixes boxing movements with strength work. It can be done alone or in a group, with or without equipment, and you never even touch an opponent. Cardio boxing is a way of letting off steam and having fun that's inspired by boxing. ~ Domyos

However, unlike traditional boxing workout for boxers, cardio boxing is designed strictly for fitness and not for sparring or competing in a boxing ring.

Watch this video to give you an idea of what it looks like. Don't be fooled by what you see. It may look easy and simple, but these boxing movements can knock you out in no time. But this video caters more to beginners. There are more vigorous routines involving punching bags, squats and such. I personally love to mix my training to work my whole body.

🥊 Cardio Boxing Benefits 🥊
Physical Benefit

Like all kinds of exercise routines, cardio boxing's most important benefit is it tones up the body. Boxing movements come not just from the arms but lower body and core. The repeated movements build up your strength and muscles. As your fitness level increases, so do your speed and endurance.

I often suffered from muscle soreness when I first attempted this workout routine. But as time passed, I noticed that my body felt lighter and more toned than ever before. I started to build muscles in my arms and shoulders and eventually lost some stubborn weight. I burned up to 700 kcal per hour whenever I cardio boxed.

This picture was taken 5 years ago when I was badly obese. I always refused to take photos because I hated how I looked.

IMG_20170626_142618.jpg

Fast forward to today - September 19, 2022. I took this picture after my one-hour workout this afternoon. I have no problems getting my photos taken, even when I am in sports attire.

I am not sharing these photos here to show off or to show the world how great I am but to tell anyone who needs this encouragement. If a couch potato like me can be this fit with cardio boxing, so can you.

3.jpg

Mental Benefit

Do you know that cardio boxing helps to gain mental strength and improve mental illnesses like depression and anxiety? When using a punching bag to exercise, your brain releases endorphin, the neurotransmitters that produce feel-good thoughts. Punching a bag also relieves your stress and improves your focus. And of course, it helps to manage your frustrations and anger.

boxing gif.gif

It Builds Self-Confidence

Cardio boxing also makes you feel strong and empowered. It builds a fighting spirit in you and helps to strengthen your mental fortitude. I used to be very insecure and afraid to speak my mind. I would rather be quiet and not 'rock the boat' instead of voicing what is in my mind. Consequently, I felt unhappy with my life and helpless. It all changed after I attempted cardio boxing. Throughout the years, it instills a sense of achievement, building my self-esteem and confidence. I am no longer afraid to speak up or give my opinion. And I no longer care what others think of me. If people are upset or disapprove of what I say or do, it's their problem. I couldn't care less about not meeting their expectations.

2.jpg

So there you go, three benefits I gained from practicing cardio boxing. I am sure there are more, but I think they all fall under the same three benefits.

If you love to exercise and are looking for a new workout routine, I encourage you to try cardio boxing. Or, if you are new to exercise and have lived a sedentary life before, you can try it too. It doesn't have to be strenuous or high impact. You can search for a low-impact exercise on Youtube and eases your way to a more vigorous version of the workout.


That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

💲💲💲 Blog on Read.Cash And Earn Bitcoin Cash Like Me. Click Here 💲💲💲

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Second NFT Collection – Oli Kawaii Verse – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Third NFT Collection - Women Empowerment - Is Now Available On NFTShowroom

nftshowroom.jpg

Sort:  

That looks fun. Exercising is definitely a must to stay healthy and fit. I didn't know of these benefits of cardio boxing, but thanks to you, I learnt something new today :)

I no longer care what others think of me.

This certainly makes a difference. Not being bothered by other people's opinion nor their expectations.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @coloringiship and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I feel liberated and free. That benefit alone is so worth the pain 😆

That's good to know :) I would love to try it one day😉

View or trade LOH tokens.


@coloringiship, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 96000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 97000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing this, I've actually planned to be engaged on fitness activity which is skipping and have been procrastinating it. But I will go get my skipping rope right now. Thanks for sharing.

Ooh skipping is fun and a good cardio. However, it's not recommended for people with knees issues 😆...all the best with your workout. Thank you for commenting 😀

Go go my girl! I couldn't agree with you more! Really, i have had some heavy bag workout ( boxing bag) before and it is really great way of upgrading your fitness condition and you feel so relaxed after it!

Happy i found you! I love your attitude! Kisses!

Awww...you are so sweet. Thank you so much for the kind words! ❤️

Hmm, boxing seems fun but I don't have a gym nearby, neither do I have access to a tutor. It would have been nice to try it out safely

A gym and an instructor would be nice to have but basic movements can certainly be achieved safely at home. I hope you can give it a try 😀

View or trade LOH tokens.


@coloringiship, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.