A Tale Of An Unwanted Visitors

in Ladies of Hivelast year (edited)

IMG_20230315_195813_382~2.jpg

IMG_20230313_080734_817~2.jpg

IMG_20230203_155953_833~2.jpg

This is the seventh Scorpion we found in our house in the space of one week. The first one was sighted in our backyard about a week ago. That one was way bigger than the ones above. It looks more like their parents lol.

The following day, while I was making my bed I felt like an ant had bitten me, only for me to take a look and found one of them on my leg. Ouch! I was lucky, somehow it wasn't that painful, this was the second time in my life that I will be bitten by a scorpion and luckily the first time wasn't that painful as well. This thing makes some people share tears but in my case, it just felt like a bite from an ant.

And so, they have kept on showing up one after another. Luckily no more cases of a bite. But now this is kind of giving me anxiety. Not for myself but for Jr and his dad. His dad had a very unpleasant experience with them in the past and I don't pray he does again hehe. I don't know why there are so many of them. Looks like the egg was laid somewhere and now they have hatched.

I make sure to clear our surroundings as much as possible. I clean the house twice a day and even spray everywhere but they kept on showing up.

They seem to be very common in this environment. Even in our former house, I remember they were everywhere in our compound during this time of the year, only that they never got inside our rooms.

I remember while growing up if we see anyone around we will be told to hand it with a stick in the open so that any subsequent ones will be seen easily. I don't know how true that was.

Now in the house, I have to double-check everywhere now and then to avoid the story that touches.

I just hope that the last one found will be the last of them. They are unwanted visitors so they are not welcome in my domain.

Have you had any encounters with a Scorpion in the past? How does the story go? I will love to hear it in the comment section.

First thing to do with a scorpion bite is to tie the area to avoid spread of the poison to the other part of the body and if the pain is much, try to seek help.

This is me just ranting about some scorpions 🦂, and thank you for visiting do have a blissful time at your end.

Please note, all images are mine.

Sort:  

I don't have scorpions here in Canada but I detest the Mosquitos when they are in season starting in the late summers. Their itchy bites are irritating but nowhere near being fatal in any way.

I think mosquitoes are the lesser evil, I don't like them around me as well. They cause me to have malaria aside from itching on my body. They are very common here during the month of September and October.

Good to know you don't experience scorpions in Canada, they are not some nice quest to have around the house.

Not something you want in the house, we normally remove them to outdoors when we see them. Fortunately only one came into the home this year.

Ours normally arrive after warm weather with lots of rain, good you got to see them, the sting does not appear to affect you like it does some people, I have never been stung.

I noticed they have seasons when they start showing up. And Yeah, I'm just lucky the sting seems not to have much effect on me.

One I also avoid, fortunately they don't come indoors often.

Glad to know, they don't pass the door.

Oh my... I always thought every scorpion is dangerous. It's good you have not experience too much pain and discomfort when you were bitten twice. Hope there will be no more or is there any spray that you can use for them not to enter your house?

We are thinking of fumigating the whole house as the spray I have used seems not to be effective.

And I hope we don't get to see any more of them.

Thank you so much !luv

That's good :) Take care !LADY

We see them all the time here in West Africa. In fact, some people call some of the species household scorpions.

They belong to a big family called Hottenttota. Some of them have minimally toxic venom while others are of very significant medical importance to humans.

I once managed an emergency of a child with a bite from one of these and the pain was what we had to deal with.

Some people may however have respond more significantly to the venom.

Tying off the the bit area might not prevent the venom from spreading, but a few things one can do include:

  • Avoid panic. Calm the victim.
  • Clean the area with soap and water.
  • Apply cold compress (usually towels dipped in ice/cold water), and NOT direct ice compress.
  • If you have difficulty swallowing, don't consume any liquids or food. Watch out for restlessness. If the victim is having symptoms of lethargy or restlessness apart from the pain, visit a hospital.
  • You may use over the counter pain medications if need be.

All in all, one should avoid these animals.

You made great points about being wary of them in your environment, having sticks around etc. Also ensure the environment is well lit when moving around.

I hope my points were useful.

Thanks for sharing.

Wow, your comment is very insightful.

Thank you very much.

Tying off the the bit area might not prevent the venom from spreading

I guess this explains why some still feels the pains even after tying up the bite area.

Some people may however have respond more significantly to the venom.

Yeah, I don't feel pains on the two occasions that I was bitten but my husband on the other hand use to feel a lot of pain.

You're welcome. Glad the comment helped.

they are truly unwanted visitors, i encountered one when i packed into my current apartment newly. i was scared they would come and sting me when i am sleeping. this is a great post that can be shared on leothreads. its a leo thread that encourages engagement especially on topics like this. here is a link to the ladies of hive community endorsing leo thread in this community.

Make sure to check if they already have threads under their profile :P

Oh!! Shoot. Sometimes I forget to check

No worries amigo, just smth I noticed, easier to say here than on discord lel

Hi, @readthisplease thank you for your comment.

I'm glad they did not sting you, as it can be very painful to most people.

And thanks for the #thread link, I'm a threader, let me go and share this one before I forget.

Funshee don’t you think you guys should try and fumigate?

I’m scared for you already, things like this make my skin crawl.

Thanks, dear 🙏❤ I think we might consider fumigation. The area is a new site that might have contributed to them very common here.

You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you very much 🙏 for the token

https://leofinance.io/threads/@funshee/re-leothreads-4kgepg
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( funshee ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @funshee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 6000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal