Ladies Of Hive Contest 6- Being Female

IMG_20201107_203746.jpg

> Have you ever seriously wished you had been born a male instead of female? If so why

I am happy and glad of my gender but there was a time in my childhood I wished I was the opposite gender. The first time was during my primary school days and it sterns from my class teacher who always tell us the boys in the class are going to be leaders and family providers. While we females should be serious with house chores, learn how to cook and take care of the home.

I mean we were in an educational system and our minds ought to be nurtured better but we were being fed with such patriarchy by our class teacher who happened to be female by gender. I always wanted to be out there making change and building a name for myself so being told the other gender is the one made to do so and not mine I felt low and wished I was a boy.
Thanks to my Daddy who I confide in about my worries at a tender age and he assured me that being female isn't a limitation to whatever I dream to achieve and become.

The second instance I wished I was male was when I was enlightened about menstruation at 9, the thought of bleeding every month scared me so much and I wish I was a boy. When I started seeing my period at eleven I asked my mum if it was possible to switch genders? lol
But today I am proud and so glad that I am a woman

> What do you think is the biggest hurdle to female empowerment and how do we overcome it?

I don't know what limits female empowerment in other parts of the world but in Africa, one of the major downsides of female empowerment is that society mentality that women should be given little and be less.
Over here if it's stated that there is a female empowerment program going on that will gives jobs to unemployed females. I can assure you the job positions that will be available to females are menial jobs. You won't see women being assigned jobs in top places.

And hardly will you see a female empowerment scheme that focuses on getting the girl child higher educational degree, the empowerment schemes you are going to see is free training for a vocational skill or financial assistance for women for small business start up's
I believe this hurdle face in women empowerment over here can be eradicated by enlightening the public that women can be more and not just less. And the females on the top especially those in government offices should do better when it comes to women empowerment.
This is my entry to a contest by the community #ladiesofhive. Every Lady can join through this link.


I am inviting @dimsyto @marivic10 and @nainaztengra to join this Contest

Sort:  

Thank you for joining this weeks contest and i wish you well on winning tomorrow

Congratulations @giftedwrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day

Thank you. I will surely join this contest and share my post soon in a day or two. Thank you for the nomination

Agree but it goes deeper as Empowerment involves Trust with the opportunity to responsibly to exercise it. My Father demonstrated this one way by giving my mother full control of the Family's finances; monthly expenses, bill payments, and investing of the savings. He trusted my Mother to be responsible and rewarded it often.
In the working world a woman can have that education, skill or talent but without the chance to prove her education and skills there would be hardly any empowerment. The woman just needs the opportunity to prove she can be more than capable of handling and even surpass the job.
Confidence, fulfillment and personal achievement lead to empowerment.

Thank you for Sharing @giftedwrites

I agree with you 100%. Women must be given the chance to prove themselves. If opportunity isn't there, they remain in the shadows, the most brilliant minds.

But then it keeps going backwards to the root of the problem.

Opportunity comes about if oppression and denial that the female is of equal rights to receive the opportunity. Many countries prove they don't believe so. Without that pathway to equality, empowerment will never be realized.

Hi @giftedwrites. I agree with you on your assessment of empowerment. But as you point out later in your content, others attempted to impress upon you that you should stay in your place, thereby prohibiting and discouraging you from seeking improvement in your life the same as a male. This can also deflate any ambitions women can aspire to if they already feel they have a "place" in this world, and it's not on the level men enjoy.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this issue.

Don't forget to utilize all 10 tags allowed in Peakd. This will gain your post more exposure so you can interact and engage with other authors on Hive. One such tag could be #innerblocks #gems #neoxian #palnet