The Flight : My journey to a new life.

image.jpeg

How is your day going my dearest Hive friends? As I enter the first day of this weekend, I got the courage to roll down to my memory lane and so I can share to you how my concurrent teaching life in the U.S. started.

The realizations.

I took a leap of faith in the middle of a chaotic era. It was pandemic and everything paused. The whole world took a hiatus from the hustle and bustle of life. Every action is limited. Lives were hideously threatened by a very infectious and deadly disease - the Corona virus. Yet, it never stopped me to starting something new.
image.png
This was during the beginning few months of lockdown. My nephews and niece were very bored at home. So I took the initiative to have a nonconventional class in my sister’s house @nanayko . Two of them were my neighbor’s children who agreed to let their child be part of it.

Within the first 2 years of pandemic, I felt both my personal and professional life has been stagnant and headed nowhere near where I dreamed of. Little did I know, with one drastic step, it led me to a whole new stage of life a caterpillar going through its metamorphosis. Within that same year, 2021, resigned from my permanent teaching position in the department of Education in the Philippines. I got married with just a month of preparation for a civil wedding. I hopped into my very first international flight going to the land of free . Thus, I experienced one of the busiest airport in the US which is the Los Angeles International airport. I can vividly remember how I raised my dilemma of surviving in that big of an airport. My friend Patricia who is a J1 teacher and
consistently encouraged me to apply just replied to me as, "Use your reading ability. As long as you look up and read those signages to where you were going, you'll definitely find your way to it. Besides, you can speak English, as the airport authorities that you can see". Then I felt the relief and it indeed took my worry away.

The departure.

The process took 6 months. It took me 3 months of applying and waiting until until I received an interview schedule from one of the Districts that I applied. I am blessed to be hired on my first interview. Yes, in here, you have to apply to a district and it will be a school principal's initiative if they liked your credentials and schedule you for an interview.

The take off.

Upon getting my job order for a teaching position, I and my long time boyfriend back then decided to get married through a civil wedding before I leave. I felt so bad for my friends of not being able to inform them in advance. He was always there to help me with all those documents needed and I can hardly travel as I was still working. I just started to file for an a leave of absence for 3 month when I was accepted to a teaching position abroad. I was trying to get the win - win situation. It was all in a perfect timing as I passed my visa interview and he was still waiting for his schedule to his voyage because he was a seafarer.

image.jpeg
This was our covid civil wedding ceremony hence the wearing of mask is a must.

image.jpeg
Constantly monitoring and tracking for my leave of absence.

The turbulence.

I believed it was all in God's plan. I passed the visa interview, then we booked a ticket and my family were ready to send me off. That night before I left, I received a positive result for a Covid test which was a main requirement in every flight. I felt so frustrated but I kept my faith. If it is God's plan to let me go, this could probably just a little bumpy turbulence that I have to take. I was right, despite of being delayed to my initial arrival in the US and start as the school opens, my then school principal was so understanding and assures me that he will wait for me. Mind you, not everyone were blessed to be in that same situation. Many J1 teachers were suddenly taken back their job order if they could not comply to their demands.

image.jpeg

This is my niece cutting off the barricade tape after we all came out negative and been quarantined for 14 days.

The smooth ride.

After getting the clearance to travel, I couldn't contain my happiness and gratefulness to God. I remembered as my husband sent me off to the airport, we were reassuring each other that soon, in God's time, everything will fall into place. Living my whole life surrounded by my big-o-so-loud family, I was thinking of how lonely it could be staying in a country where not even a single person is your family. Cliche as it may sound, but it is true. You will never know the struggles unless you fill into someone's shoes. My appreciation towards OFW's then was as high as the skyscrapers.

image.png

The arrival.

I had two stop over airport which were the Narita international airport and Los Angelest international airport before my last destination airport. Then, I arrived at Sky Harbor airport, in Phoenix , Arizona and got picked up by our teacher coach, Ms. Teeter. Yes, that's how wonderful my school community is. They will not spare any effort to support you. She brought me to a house where I rented a room with my co-teacher Hazel. Then 3 years later, here I am , having my second home.

image.jpeg
This was the busiest airport among the 3. The Los Angeles international airport.

I am now on my 3rd year as an exchange teacher under a J1 visa. It is a wonderful program that allows international teachers like from the Philippines to gain teaching experiences in any states of America. I think it is also a resolution to this country's teacher shortage dilemma.

Yes, the pay is indeed enticing. Truthfully , it is one of the main reasons why I took this opportunity. However, I personally wanted to challenge myself to be better at this chosen profession. At first, it was like walking on an eggshell. I have to be extra careful for everything that I do. Everything that I've learned when it comes to the Philippine's educational system and teaching styles had to be kept in the cabinet, because it was not useful. Yet, later on, I perceived how my DepEd experiences honed me to be prepared for this new venture. Indeed, the teaching practices were never similar in any way possible. However, being trained to a much heavier workload in our country's public education system made most of the tasks here a lot easier. From 8-12 subject areas to teach in a self-contained classroom, teaching 3 subjects a day in here is a piece of cake. Having more than 30 students in a cramped classroom, managing 20-25 learners in a wider and well equipped classroom has been more manageable. Before, I was spending from my own pocket for classroom but now I will just order the supplies from the front office and it will be delivered to my room. Don't get me wrong, these are just an icing to the cake. Underneath it are more complicated ingredients and flavors that makes this experience worthwhile.

image.jpeg
This is me on one of my carpet time discussion. As you can observe the anchor charts posted on my whiteboard and bulletin boards are the essential materials that they would want to see in a classroom. Not the ready made ones. They want us to create such along with the students' learning time.

Hope this blog inspires you to just trust God’s plan. It may not be what you expect but surely it is the best for you.
‘Till next time 🖐️ God Bless!

Sort:  

Hello, Ms., @jubilantjenny. It's nice to have you here and reading your blog is an exciting part for me.🥰 You are giving the readers a virtual tour of that beautiful place, US!

Being far from family is a big challenge and I adore you for conquering it. I am happy about your achievements and am inspired by you, having the plan to teach abroad. In God's will.

Be safe there po! ❤️

Thanks @marsventure . Indeed, being away from family is a very big factor of it. I was also inspired by my college professor who said getting as much experiences from different places would be beneficial for one's professional growth. I believe your time will also come, and I' ll be there to cheer you up!😊

Courage and determination really change life and you have it ma'am Jen, your CES Family were very happy of your success.♥️

Thanks @simplybil 😊 My DepEd experience is such a big part of this journey. Thanks for being part of this too…

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jubilantjenny and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jubilantjenny, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

That was an extreme turbulance you have experience and gladly that you are now okay and happily persuing your dreams🤗

Congratulations on your success dear adventurous sister🙋 Were waiting for a made in the US baby🥰
You both keep safe always. Hugs💑.

Hahaha gracias hermana! Yeah right, we're working on it. 😉

Congratulations @jubilantjenny❤️I really impressed your courage and self determination to fulfill your dream despite of some challenges❤️So happy for you🙂Thanks for sharing❤️❤️❤️

Thanks @lovinglymers . I just wish I got the chance to work under your supervision too. ☺️

Wow😲Are you kidding Ma'am@jubilantjenny?Many teachers wish to be liked you to have the chance to work there and yet you wish to get the chance to work under my supervision,here in the Philippines?hehehe!I'm so flattered!Anyway,thanks Ma'am❤️It's my great honor to have you❤️You are always welcome here❤️🙂Thanks for sharing❤️❤️❤️

I genuinely look wish for it @lovinglymers as I heard nothing but good feedback of how motivating you are as an administrator in the school. Perhaps, those many projects you've initiative would definitely attest to it. :)

I can't make it alone without the support of my colleagues and also to you Mam.You are one of the generous donors of our school. Thank you Ma'am @jubilantjenny for the support.Highly appreciated❤️❤️❤️🙂

Congratulations @jubilantjenny! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024