Sometimes Plans Go Awry

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

First Image.png
Today was the day to celebrate International Women's Day. I jumped out of bed, got the sweeping and mopping done, sorted lunch and dinner for the kids, and then got ready to hang out with Bestie_K and some girlfriends to celebrate.

My little car trudged along, but the AC wasn't working and the car was blowing hot air. I wound down the window a little bit and was already sweating it out in the car when the engine just died on me.

Three cars away from the traffic lights, uphill, on a very busy area in town, at lunchtime, no less. The light was still red, I stayed calm and tried to start the car, but nothing happened. The lights turned green, and even though I had my hazard lights on, irritated drivers honked and gave me dirty looks as they drove around me. Coz, like I really wanted to hang out in my car in the middle of the road, sweating profusely.

So yes, I panicked a little bit. First I called The Hubs
"What should I do?", I asked. Call for the tow truck he told me. Then I called Bestie_K as she was waiting for me to go to the bank to sort out some stuff before the celebration. "I'm not going to make it, the car just died on me," I lamented. Then I called the Insurance rep to send the tow truck. And all this while honks kept honking and I got dirtier looks as the drivers saw me talking on the phone.

Then I thought, since I was on a slope, maybe I can let the gravity help reverse the car and I'll get as close to the side as possible, so people wouldn't be as upset. I shifted the gear to Neutral but the steering wheel locked and wouldn't budge. Just for the heck of it, I tried starting the car again, and boom, the engine came to life!! But the radiator was at maximum. So I just waited until the lights turned green, drove up 30 metres to a spot in the shade that did not obstruct traffic and waited for the tow truck.

IMG_2771.jpg

As soon as I got out of the car, I was thankful for three things. One, that the engine started and I could get away from the honks and stares. I was actually talking aloud to the car, thanking it!

IMG_2774.jpg

This big beautiful tree, which gave the car and me plenty of shade, as we waited for the tow truck. It would take 45 minutes, they had told me and it took a little longer.

CF5241D9-5F08-464D-8714-BE37623C54F9 2.PNG

And Bestie_K, who dropped everything, cancelled her appointments, jumped into her car and drove out to me so she can keep me company while waiting for the tow truck. She even sacrificed washing her hair for the get together later that night. She is one woman to celebrate all right!!

Once the tow truck had taken the car to the mechanic, we proceeded to prepare for the ladies get together. And the incident just became one more story over lots of food and laughter.

HEART DIVIDER.png

As I am writing this, I realise, today for the first time, I consciously practised looking for things to be grateful for through what could have been a very stressful situation and I found them. Enough to put a smile on my face. So it's all well and good.

Happy International Women's Day Ladies!!

THANKYOU.PNG

all images are mine, and the first is a shot of a poster I saw in a mall to promote today

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Reminds me of a day long time ago my car striked on the Highway in the middle of nowhere
I had to wait an hour (the time bevore Smartphones you remember?) Until I got help.

But the crazy thing was, I apreciated that hour. It took me out if my daily struggles and gave me just time and peace in heart.

You made the best of that breakdown and actually enjoyed it
Love this :D

All year should be women's day lol. Glad you got a laugh out of it :)

I ditto that :D

Beautiful smile!!!
Happy International Women's Day, @kaerpediem!

Thank you @silversaver888
Trust you had a wonderful day yourself

So you displayed the woman power at the women international day.

It's just the matter of perspective either you feel grateful or ungrateful in a situation. Every situation carries the element for both the attitudes. You could choose to be frustrated and calling you unlucky, but it's nice that you chose the other way. Being grateful is important for one's well being and those who we surround.

!ALIVE

@kaerpediem! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @amberkashif. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

It so is but it doesn't always but I am making the effort :D

Coz, like I really wanted to hang out in my car in the middle of the road, sweating profusely.

Of course that’s what you wanted. LoL

Cars can be such jerks when they don’t listen. Oh, my this is hilarious, not withstanding your pain. People, on the other hand are always JERKS. At least you found shade TBTG. ❤️😊🤔😊😊❤️

Yeah, I didn't want to complain but I'm going to give it 5 seconds.
Like the guys were honking and didn't even offer to help in any way... gahhhhh

And all that sweating made me feel like I had a workout haha

Oh, so sorry. People are jerks

You received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for posting in Ladies of Hive!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Hello @kaerpediem. I understand those type of days. I had one memorable one myself on my way to a title company for the closing of our home. Flat tire on the freeway. And on the opposite side where you're not supposed to stop.

Needless to say that my nerves were frazzled. I was late for the closing. Once, I arrived, I discovered it was rescheduled, so another day from work and additional interest due to recalculations.

I had to search hard to find the happiness in the long-awaited refinancing.

Thanks for sharing.

So sorry for the tardiness

Frazzled is the word - I experienced it but just a fraction I think compared to having to be there for something important
But it gives a story to share hehe

Wow that must have been stressful but your bestie made everything better for you after that, I am pretty sure!

She sure did!!
Not just company but the AC too hehe

Sound like a stressful situation, but like always you breeze it through...with a smile!

It sure was but I didn't have a meltdown - phew hehe

Congratulations @kaerpediem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 17000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 18000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Oh geez, i could have reacted differently too if I had that experience.. Im just nee to cars and driving and i once drove with a full flat tire 🤣🤣 but as you have said, there will always be kindness and things to be grateful for!

Belated happy womens day!

I just want to say that you are beautiful