Courage, The story of my username

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

Hello beautiful Ladies of Hive, I'm glad to find this community and looking forward to being a part of it. Hope you enjoy what I have to share today; the story of where my username comes from.

pembee2.jpg

Courage

Many many years ago Platon wrote a book where he defines the meaning of courage in various epilogues named laches. In Turkish, my native language; Lakhes.

To Plato courage means wisdom. He explains in order to be brave a man needs to be wise. Only fools are cowards. they are so busy achieving small accomplishments they let the big and important things slide. But if a man is wise. He will calculate what is really important. And will not waste his time in a frightful state of losing small things.


Source

💫It is debatable to me that courage only means what Plato thinks it is, because I can find bravery even in simple things. To me, it doesn't have to be so complicated.

🌹I found it in myself when I decided to change my profession against the wishes around me.
🌹I found it in myself when I helped my mother overcome a very difficult disease without help.
🌹I found it in me when I decided to be a rock climber and face my fears,
🌹I found it in myself when I shut down the people who try to control me, saying no and setting a firm boundary even to the most loved ones, at the risk of losing them.
🌹I found it in myself when I decided to be a good person against the bad things in life.
Simple acts. Results in the big picture. That's where I find my courage.

And I find it in almost every woman around me. Who tries to fight the problems of everyday life, I respect them so much. Even in a society that still doesn't give them enough credit for everything they do, they still find a way to make people around them happy. There are some women I know of, as we all do in our personal lives, who are the definition of bravery.

“Courage is the most important of all the virtues because, without courage, you can't practice any other virtue consistently.”
― Maya Angelou

pembee2.jpg

And as a woman who always tried to be courageous in every field of life, I found the name might suit well for this journey of Hive and added a little french twist with ''la'':)

pembee2.jpg

000020.JPG

One of my biggest fears; Overcomed, me on a rock climbing trip last May

💫This is my entry for contest #65 promoted by the Ladies of Hive community. I would like to invite @zo3d participate 💫

Thank you all so much for reading!

Sort:  

This is inspiring, a name that reminds you of your special characters and ability, that's beautiful. ❤

Thank you! :)

this is wonderful! i did enjoy reading it. :)

Thank you, im glad to hear it :)

I am glad to hear the way it helped you be courageous at every step. Your name developed special courage inside you.

I would like to think so! Thank you :)

Congratulations @lalakhes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 13
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

That is a great way to pick your name and very inspiering 🥰
Love it.
Thank you for sharing and Good luck 🌷

Thank you so much! :)