Competition # 59. My dear Christmas, the Hallaca and the Christmas tree

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

1️⃣ The holidays are all about tradition. What is your most cherished family holiday tradition? Tell us about it, how it came to be, and why it's special to you.

WhatsApp Image 2021-11-28 at 5.53.44 PM.jpeg

The most precious tradition for me and my family is divided into several, it is a feeling, it is a nostalgia for me to talk about it, since all my loved ones are estranged at this time. Some are in Ecuador, others in the United States, others in Mexico, others in Colombia, but others are in Venezuela. However, our spirit, despite the distance, joins us on these beautiful and warm dates.

Our tradition is to meet at the grandmother's house, all together as a family, to spend that week of joy together, it is something that for many of us is complicated by the distance, however thanks to technology we can make video calls and spend hours and hours connected showing us what we do in different parts, the delicious dishes we make, the delicious desserts we have and the gifts we open on Christmas Eve.

WhatsApp Image 2021-11-28 at 5.53.45 PM (1).jpeg

Our family tradition is to make the famous Hallaca and enjoy this delicious dish, both in the preparation procedure and on the day of sharing with the whole family. We are a very large family between parents, uncles, cousins, children, nephews, we became about 40 people in a house together and happy; Today we are about 10 maximum but full of love to reach that other side of the world and to be able to embrace our family members in spirit.

Once the Hallacas is done, we like to accompany it with a salad, ham bread, yellow cheese and leg. And it is that the saca is not only to sit down to cook, it is to receive the support of each one of us so that each one with love places a grain of sand in this fantastic stew, there are more than 200 Hallacas that are made for a single night; and our best motto is the best Hallacas is the one my mom makes!

separador navidad blogdeimagenes (42)_thumb.gif

2️⃣ So many shiny ornaments (and maybe some not so shiny). Show us your most treasured holiday ornament and tell the story behind it.

WhatsApp Image 2021-11-28 at 5.53.45 PM.jpeg

For me the most expensive ornament is the Christmas tree, since I was little I always felt a great emotion to see when my aunt in grandmother's house took out the tree to decorate everything with Christmas, for me, it was the meaning that Christmas had arrived It was the emotion of knowing that I would see many gifts, knowing that we would meet 23 cousins to play, explode rockets, take out the artificial stars, share the gift of each one and talk about what we ask Santa.

There was only the Christmas tree in the grandmother's house in my mother's house there was none, but 11 years ago we decided to buy and open it every Christmas, since 11 years ago my daughter was born and my mother was a grandmother, and Every consecutive year I open the tree, I decorate it and I feel that same nostalgia when I was little, a tradition that my children will take up in a few years later.

separador navidad blogdeimagenes (32)_thumb.gif

The photos posted on this blog are my authority. The separator GIFs are taken from the website All Christmas

I invite my friend @isabelpena to participate in this contest.

Thanks for reading this post, have a nice good day.

Sort:  

It sounds like a lovely time, especially when you were able to get everyone together. Thank goodness for technology and how it allows us to be together even when we can't.

I like your ornament response, as I never really thought of a Christmas tree as an ornament. A very BIG ornament, lol! Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!💜🤗

Thanks for your words. If for me the tree is an ornament, a memory, an emblem, a start to happy family days.

You are welcome!

You received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

Please note that since our LOH token is still so new, that it will be worth more if we HOLD them for a bit before trying to sell them. Some have been trying to sell them immediately after receiving them, but holding them for a bit will help them to increase in value! We are working behind-the-scenes to try to keep the price stable, but the "sell orders" are hampering the stabilization of the price of this new token. Please hold on to your tokens. Thank you! 🙂

Tenga en cuenta que, dado que nuestro token LOH todavía es tan nuevo, valdrá más si los MANTENEMOS por un tiempo antes de intentar venderlos. Algunos de ustedes han estado tratando de venderlos inmediatamente después de recibirlos, ¡pero retenerlos por un tiempo les ayudará a aumentar su valor! Estamos trabajando entre bastidores para tratar de mantener estable el precio, pero las "órdenes de venta" están obstaculizando la estabilización del precio de este nuevo token. ¡Considere esperar! ¡Gracias! 🤗

Much the same for me having close relatives together and the wonderful memories most strongest as a child.

Thank you for sharing your most memorable Christmases @phderoes 🎁

Thank you for your words.

I hope that this emotion will last forever in you and will be transmitted to all your relatives. In my house there was a time when it took a long time to take out the ornaments and put up the tree, but my mother used to put them up on December 21 and with time that custom was lost. Since my nephew was born, 12 years ago, that custom was taken up again. Nowadays, we don't have a tree and we haven't bothered to have one. My mother always puts up a small nativity.

Every year, I kind of lose the desire to celebrate these days, but then the enthusiasm comes back and I start to immerse myself in the festivities.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Espero que perdure esa emoción por siempre en ti y se transmita a todos tus familiares. En mi casa hubo un tiempo en el que se tardaba mucho en sacar los adornos y poner el arbolito, pero mamá los ponía el 21 de diciembre y con el tiempo se fue perdiendo esa costumbre. Desde que nació mi sobrino, hace 12 años se retomó esa costumbre. Actualmente, no tenemos arbolito y no nos hemos preocupado en tenerlo. Mi mamá siempre pone un nacimiento chiquito.
Cada año, yo como que pierdo las ganas de celebrar estos días, pero después me llega el entusiasmo y comienzo a sumergirme en las fiestas.

Hay que lastima. Pero pueden crear uno en la comunidad de hive diy, hay muchos tutoriales de como realizar un arbolo de navidad, es muy bonito ver la emoción de los niños, esa inocencia celebrar un día de mucha alegría. Anímate.

Hello @phderoes. Wow, 23 cousins! That's a lot of play time and getting to know each one. And I thought I had a large family. What you describes is so lovely to decorate the tree each year. Our family finally purchased an aluminum one so that we wouldn't have to worry about finding the appropriate place to discard them once Christmas is over.

Thanks for sharing your favorite tradition. Good luck in the contest. Take care.

To you beautiful, if we are a large number of cousins, my grandmother had 7 children and of those 7 each one enlarged the family, from my mother we are 3.