Tales Of A Burdened Lastborn Child | LOH #84

I was one of those kids people would refer to as mummy's pet or daddy's pet and I simply hated it. I might have been the last child, the second one after many years of waiting, but I wasn't the spoilt last born people pointed me out to be. Today, both my parents boldly beat their chests saying they didn't raise a fragile last child.

Untitled.png
Pexels, edit by me.

My parents used to be very strict with me even if they provided the best they could for me but all of the excesses that make people tag one as a mummy's pet were far from me. I was an 'ajebutter' in the eyes of many, but inside the house, I was just like every other 'ajepako'.

I used to get teased for being soft and not being able to do chores and all those things that society tags as hardwork. But my mum has never been that kind of mother to treat one like an egg. I did a lot of housework growing up and my mum would even volunteer me to family or friends to help them out with work.

My mum also trusted me enough to man her store and as early as 10 years old, I already was selling her goods unsupervised and being accountable. Handling physical cash day in day out in a funny part of town meant I had to be wise and 'shine my eyes'.

So I was a soft-looking child that had to be smart, else, I got swindled and my mum would beat the heck out of me. I did get beaten a number of times for different reasons and I walked on eggshells mostly. I had to live up to my parents' expectations and I had a mindset never to fail at anything.

I was told not to be like my much older brother who they weren't proud of his life choices. So I had to be focused and face a clear path, a little me carrying the burden of redemption of the family's pride.

That messed me up so bad and the things I carried were too heavy for my age. I was mostly depressed and an emotional wreck. At that time, I felt if I had more siblings, all eyes wouldn't be on me and I would have been allowed to just be a kid. Thinking about it now, if we were more, we probably would have all been depressed.

I am still an anxious wreck today and I'm not the most comfortable around my mother. My heart still races sometimes when I hear her footsteps just like it was when I was a teenager. My mum is a good person but we do not have the best mother-child relationship.

This affected me a lot in the way I relate with older women. I generally do not converse deeply with them and I feel a certain uneasiness. I'm not even a social person because I didn't grow up as a social child. I was shielded a lot from going outside as a girl child and as the lastborn.

One thing that hinders me a lot right now is making choices with the fear of failure. I was always shut down as a kid when it came to making decisions concerning me. I am a very opinionated person and I always have an idea about everything but I was never given room to be a part of things that concern me.

I was the lastborn so what did I know? That was a steady reminder. My parents said I was a 'know it all' and called me all sorts. So I recoiled into my shell and always doubted myself because the older people told me I didn't know anything and that they always knew better.

I went through a lot of mental conditioning that affects me till today. The thought of even having kids is a dicey topic for me personally and I'm not sure about catering to the emotional needs of a child because it isn't something I got.

I'm not mad at my parents for being the way they were because they could only parent the best way they could and had my best interest at heart I guess.

It was kind of lonely being a lastborn that was practically an only child with the absence of a way older sibling. But I learned to enjoy my own company which is why until today, I am never bored of being by myself. I am very introspective too and it turned out to be a good thing.

I'd say being in the position of a lastborn didn't change a lot, I went through all of the things my older brother went through or at least similar. The difference is my dad never beat me and he gave me more money. Lol. My mental health still suffered though.

Today, I am at a better headspace than I used to be and I don't think of myself less. Even if I'm not successful in the way I was expected to be, I am successful in my own eyes and I will even be more successful in time to come.

This is my response to the first question in the contest prompt of the week.

I would like to invite @adrah1 to the community and to participate in this contest.

Thanks for reading!



Discord - wolfofnostreet#4939

Twitter - wolfofnostreet_

Sort:  

There is no book on how to raise children, but I might guess that you mom realizes she treated you maybe the same as she might have been treated. I know that it is hard to break out of that particular sequence and do differently. It can be a difficult path for sure. Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day!

I know that it is hard to break out of that particular sequence and do differently. It can be a difficult path for sure.

Yes it is, and for most people, it's too late when they eventually do.

Hind sight is 20/20. Take care!

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

Your article was upvoted by @minnowsupport
pal_2.png

I wasn't as close to my Mother as I'd like. She was strict and business like and brought in more income than my father who was a Sous Chef. Yet I still wanted to please her and as first born I gladly accepted my role in overseeing the welfare of my siblings and took the blame for their behavior.

KLR

You had to do what you had to do. Sure the responsibilities also helped shape you in a positive way.

Thanks for reading!

It is sad when parents expect too much from us and we end up fearful of failure. But we can't really blame them, like you said, perhaps they did the best they could. I love that despite your experiences, you have learnt to not look at yourself any less❤

Trying to move on with life and not dwell on the negatives 🙂

Thanks for reading.

That's great, we should always do that :) It's my pleasure and have a lovely day.

It's hard to have that kind of burden, to see in yourself what the older son couldn't do, so you had to be good for both of them.

Being and feeling good alone is not a bad thing, in fact it is essential to feel comfortable with yourself in order to be with someone else.

In life you have the choice to be like your parents or treat your children better, so don't be afraid of that. Just make better choices.

In life you have the choice to be like your parents or treat your children better, so don't be afraid of that. Just make better choices.

I will hopefully. Thank you!

Undoubtedly, your parents gave you the best they could give you with the little knowledge they had about raising children, it is a very compassionate act on your part to see it like that.

Yes, they did. I love them for that. They're very nice people too.

Hello @wolfofnostreet. Wow, what an impactful story history you have as the last born child. I understand a bit of it. Parents do the best they can with what they now. I understand my parents did. You don't realize that until later that they didn't know the best way. They probably emulated what they'd seen growing up.

Your assessment of you how your childhood spilled over into your adulthood is an insightful one. I don't think parents realize this. They're in the moment and doesn't think of the long-term effects.

When you say:

"I was told not to be like my much older brother who they weren't proud of his life choices. So I had to be focused and face a clear path, a little me carrying the burden of redemption of the family's pride.
That messed me up so bad and the things I carried were too heavy for my age. I was mostly depressed and an emotional wreck. At that time, I felt if I had more siblings, all eyes wouldn't be on me and I would have been allowed to just be a kid."

I've had friends who relayed the same sentiments about the burdens placed upon them when young. It can either go two ways, negative or positive. I'm sad to hear how the experience impacted you later in life.

I wish you much calmer waters now and in the future that one day you may consider becoming a mom with confidence.

Thank you so much for sharing your story with the community. I appreciate it.

Take care and have a good rest of your week.

You don't realize that until later that they didn't know the best way. They probably emulated what they'd seen growing up.

Exactly! It all makes sense when you're older why they acted the way they did. They're just people after all.

I wish you much calmer waters now and in the future that one day you may consider becoming a mom with confidence.

Thank you so much. I look forward to that.

Good day @wolfofnostreet, that was a very moving story, life can be tough, and I don't believe beating a child has any merit whatsoever, I am sorry for you. BUT you sound very determined to work through these bad memories and rise above.
We only get one life to live, let go of the past and envision a beautiful tomorrow.
Be strong, be positive.

I don't believe beating a child works either but it's a normal thing here. I'm breaking the chain though.

Thanks for your kind words.

Hey wolf lady. This is a beautiful entry and your parents must be so proud of how you’ve turned out. The strong value you picked up a child are still very evident. I must say you’re one in a thousand last borns though, having gone through your childhood chores like your other siblings is not very common among last borns.

Thank you for sharing.

Thanks babe. I'm glad I didn't grow up a spoilt brat. It really set me on the right path.

Yeah,you are successful in your own eye. Your success isn't measured by what others see but what you see...nice write up!

!LADY

Your LOH token balance is not sufficient to send tips. Please hold a minimum of 25 LOH tokens to send tips.

I'm the last born too... My mum was not soft on me too, she was not always around so I got so used to her absence and really affected our relationship... I don't call her except it's very important, that can be once in a while.