Finish Beef Broth - Monday

in Freeze Dried Foods3 years ago

It snowed overnight and then throughout the day. It's a light fluffy snow but it still makes the roads gnarly. The birds tend to hunker under the overhang or in the sheep pen when it is like this and it is pretty funny watching the ducks trudging around with their asses dragging in the snow.

IMG_20210215_093513.jpg

The beef broth was not quite fully dried so I took the sheet off the tray and broke it up into smaller chunks that I put in the dehydrator. I ran it for a few hours off and on during the day which ended up being enough time for it to finish.

IMG_20210215_100045.jpg
IMG_20210215_100059.jpg

IMG_20210215_100159.jpg

I was wondering about the machine and pulled up the system hours to see that I have crossed 1200 hours of the thing running and nearly 900 hours on the vacuum pump. That is an average of 38 hours per batch on the system and 28 hours per batch on the pump.

IMG_20210215_164344.jpg

This morning I am lucky that I opened my email since I had an order for the co-op that had to be delivered and I managed to get out of the house only half an hour later than normal. The traffic was actually a little bit better but that could be because the roads are shitty. This is the first year I have had produce to sell past November and still have about 70 or 80 pounds of butternut which is slowly getting purchased.

Today R has school, we are picking up groceries, it's still snowing, I need to get J's scout shirt ready as we are starting the scout pack up again on Wednesday, and I am waiting for my deposit to clear so I can get my trade orders setup.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

You have kept the dryer running most of the time since it arrived in early December, so those numbers don't surprise me. Do you have any sense if that is how other owners have run it?

 3 years ago  

It seems pretty varied from what I have seen. There are people who use theirs like I do all the way to the occasional users. I think many people use them more often than not though. It is pretty hard having the thing sitting there quiet though so I like to keep it going to make sure I get my moneys worth out of it.

That would be what I'd do, keep it going as much as possible...