Curating as a Guest on Ecency

in Ecency10 months ago (edited)

This week I was selected to be a Guest Curator for Ecency. It’s kind of a big deal for me since the Ecency account votes with over 1.1 Million Hive Power and receives probably 300 to 400 Boost Requests each day. This is a decent responsibility because Ecency is NOT a small project!

I had started looking into Ecency just over a month ago when I began Evaluating Ecency Interface and Point System. I was intrigued by how the point system worked and had begun posting through the Ecency website to try it out. I’ve been fairly impressed with everything so far though I was a bit confused about how some of my posts would get Boosted while others were Rejected. I made some enquiries on the Ecency Discord to try to understand what I was doing wrong (or right) and was encouraged by the ever-helpful @melinda010100 (an Ecency Admin) to apply to be a Guest Curator so that I could meet the team and see how things worked first hand.

This was an opportunity to have a bit of a peek behind the curtain and so it was a perfect way for me to get a better understanding of the Ecency project. I applied to be a Guest Curator for August (they cycle guests monthly) and was accepted. So the last couple of days I’ve been mostly watching how the curation team functions and I dipped my toe in the water to try a bit of curation work myself.

I’ll probably write up my full experience a bit later but the first thing I have realized is just the sheer scale of content that the Curation Team at Ecency have to wade through every day. Probably less than 50% of the 300-400 Boost Requests each day get approved and I think that a big reason for that is there is just not enough Voting Power to go around. The team is trying to keep the VP above 80% and that looks hard to do! A lot of Boost Requests are just for 150 points (the minimum - which is about a $1 vote value) but not even all of those can be approved. The team looks at a few metrics and reads through the submitted posts before deciding on whether to approve a Boost but the sheer weight of requests means that effectively curating them all is a HUGE job!

Anyways, I am appreciative of the opportunity and still pretty fresh faced but I hope to get a good handle on this new gig soon. I intend to be curating regularly for Ecency over August. If anyone has any questions about Ecency or it’s curation efforts then please ask away and I’ll try to answer as best I can with what I’ve learnt so far.

Sort:  

I am quite excited to have you on the curation team for the month of August! It would be great to have more delegations so that we have more voting power to be able to give out more boosts, but we work with what we have! ❤️

Thanks. I think the key to the delegations is to build awareness of the good work that Ecency is doing. Hopefully I can help a bit with that too.

I a getting handsome return...Delegation to ecency is best...wanted to add more but I have doubts about ecency points that comes along with it...already have 80k if instead of points gets rewards then ot meant a lot

I don't know when it will happen, but there is the possibility of an Ecency token and the rumor is that the airdrop will be based on the amount of Points held. So don't loose heart! And enjoy the Hive you earn each day, too!

aha good to see you on the curation team, I'm sure you are gonna love this journey 😀

!giphy great

!PIZZA

We can be really happy to have you onboard this month, rarely someone learns so quickly. I think it took me a week to understand when I started long ago first also as a guest curator.
Hopefully Hive rises a little bit, then VP is no problem. Its much more fun if you can give to the posts who well deserved than being so selective as we have to be at the moment
!ALIVE

@buggedout! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @beeber. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Thanks! I am still learning the ropes at Ecency, but have been curating on the blockchain since 2017. It is always very tough to skip over posts when the VP is a bit low but it's a job for pragmatists and so we do our best with what we have.

Congratulations 🥳 I tried few times but never gone through....might I lack to be active over discord or missig out on something.....hope to see more often 😄😉

Thanks. Being active on Discord certainly can't hurt.

I'd gotten so many refunds that I thought it didn't work anymore. If a post boost fails, is it worth trying again?

If your post has been refunded you can't boost it again.
Right now you stand the best chance of your Boost request being approved if your post is less than 24 hours old, has been published on Ecency and you boost it for minimum points. 150 to 200 Point boosts are the ones I see most frequently getting approved by curators
Keep trying! We love being generous, but must balance out boost requests with available VP.

Thanks for clarifying! Totally understand about maintaining the available VP and will keep it in mind the next time I write a non-contest post.

Good to know - thanks for this info

Welcome to the team! 😎
!DHEDGE

Congrats on your curation assignments! I've acquired quite a few Ecency points over the months, I've been using them (minimum amount) consistently on my daily posts and also on other posts. I really appreciate turning these points into an upvote, lending more exposure for my content. However about 1/3 of them are refunded without explanation. It seems as if "boosting" a post is really more like "submitting for review, if the post is good enough and/or we have enough VP you might get an upvote". I can understand how these points could be abused, so it's reasonable to manually curate, but it also devalues the points a bit in my opinion. It may still be good to stack them, in case any other uses crop up in the future. Are there any plans for other uses for Ecency points besides promote/boost? What is the policy on boosting two different posts in one day?

In order to spread boost votes to more people we do ask that you only request one boost per day.

Thanks. Your assessment of how it works is pretty fair and getting refunded 1 in 3 is actually not too bad.

Keep persisting with it. I think this is a project that is on the up and we're only going to need a little kick along for the HIVE price and that VP will be able to stretch further to reach more posts.

I used the browser many times when curating and enjoying #LOH and other Hive community content but never posted and go through this Boost option with it yet. Anyway, I've accumulated over 5k Ecency points just by accomodating to the writer's preference.

Very nice. 5K Ecency points is a tidy sum.

It's great to have you on the team of curators this month. I love knowing the origin of your interest, it is very similar to mine. I wanted to understand how it worked because my instinct wasn't enough.😁

Laughs yeah, it's like lottery without losing the money 😂 I boost every post I make but I think every 10th one actually gets voted by Ecency.

I'm not complaining though, I get the points for free and also the votes but I use Ecency daily on mobile!

I'm surprised you only found out about it now?

!PIZZA
!LUV

@buggedout, @technicalside(1/3) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

There is so much going on within the HIVE ecosystem it's hard to keep up. I've had a pretty hectic last couple of years and only recently been able to dedicate some serious time to catching up on HIVE developments.

Ecency is lucky to have you! Enjoy the curating. 🙂

I worked as an ecency guest curator and it was a great experience. The team is so supportive and it was fun curating posts.
Congratulations to you and I am sure you will like the experience of curation with ecency.

💪😎🤙🙏🙏 wow, i didn't realize there was so much to it.. yea, i try and use that all the time. maybe i'll get lucky and even have YOU to be the one to see my post! that would be so cool.

Congratz! Tell us about the experience after it finishes!!

Props bud for dipping your key into the pitch! 😀

image.png

Congrats buggedout !
Nice to see you as guest curators in ecency.
I hope you are enjoying it..All the best.

Congrats. Wish you best of luck 🎊

congratulations on the promotion 😉

there are more obligations. And the main problem in voting power. When there are relatively few requirements and a lot of power, it would be foolish to be too critical. and on the contrary, as much as the request has little power, there is a need for more criticism. sometimes I can get away with everything, sometimes nothing. The quality is mostly the same, I would say

Congratulations on being selected as a Guest Curator for Ecency! It sounds like a great opportunity to learn more about the project and to help curate high-quality content.

I'm also impressed by the scale of the curation effort that Ecency undertakes. It's clear that there is a lot of work involved in sifting through the 300-400 Boost Requests each day and deciding which ones to approve.

That's great you join the curation team

300-400 boost post request daily. That is pretty huge for them to attend to. I used boost some times also and I will be eagerly waiting for you to share your experience. I can definitely pick one or two things from it

That's great that you are selected as a guest curator.

Being invited by Ecency is a lot of work and it shows how big and how valuable you are on the platform.
I wish you Goodluck as you start the job.

Congratulations and have fun curating this huge amount of blog posts!
!LUV

@buggedout, @dailyspam(1/1) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Enjoy - it's not an easy task and holds a lot of responsibility - well done

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
bhattg tipped buggedout
@technicalside(1/5) tipped @buggedout

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @seckorama! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus

@seckorama has 12 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

Guess this answers my question great work and hope see you around 😉!