Lost Love

in Inner Blockslast year (edited)

Hello Hive friends and readers. I hope everyone is having a fine weekend. My week has been busy and a little hectic. So I will use what is left of my weekend to wind down some bit.

Today I tell you about my 3rd serious relationship with a girl named Nedie. I have already published about this special experience on read.cash. I tell it a little different there though. To take a look at it click below: https://read.cash/@Coolmidwestguy/lost-love-cd1d36b6

This experience is truly my only lost love. So I will tell you how we initially met, a little bit about her, something I knew going in, meeting in person, some fond memories (some not shared previously), and how it ended. I'll also share what happened with her and some of my after thoughts.

How we met

I had recently bought a personal computer (PC) sometime in late 1997. The popular internet craze at this time in the United States was America Online (AOL). One could chat with others through individual chat or group chat.

I don't remember who made contact first. One of us made a user search using one of the platforms tools. More than likely it was me but maybe not. It's been a long time but I know you could search location, sex, age and probably some other information. I'm sure the conversation started with a simple hi because that was just how conversations started there. We ended up chatting thier for a few weeks than talked on the phone I think once before meeting in person.

Just chatting online we found out we have quite a bit in common. The more we chatted the more we seemed to gel. It wasn't long we exchanged photos. I'll admit she was very attractive 😍. She told me that I was handsome 😳

Little bit about her

She had just arrived from the Philippines a few months prior. She stood about 4'10, long hair, and had a slim slender body type. She was working full-time already at a major credit card maker. Nedie worked the mid shift there and was making good income for a 23 y/o.

Something I knew before going in

Alright we talked a lot online prior to meeting in person and she was very honest. Nedie got to the United States by marrying an American citizen. She despised of him from the onset. I remember her showing me a picture of her wedding photo. She looked beautiful but she was not wearing a smile. If you met Nedie you would notice her beautiful smile was missing in that photo.

I never really asked her hard questions relevant to her marriage. I didn't want to see her get emotional over it. When she brought up the subject I mostly listened and gave back empathy and sympathy to her. I often thought her marriage was not by choice. You may ask why continue to start a relationship with someone taken.

Well I fell for her story and we were very compatible. I really wanted to give her the happiness that she deserved. At first a friend approach was on my mind but that just didn't happen. I'll share why in a little bit, I promise. She was a great person on the inside and I never faulted her for being married.

Her husband was in his 70's and worked as a security guard. He worked the grave yard shift so they really didn't see each other often. I'll be honest he looked the age too. He also had a son that was old enough be a father to us. I found out from her he was unable to give her a child. She did tell me they had sex just one time and she described it as disgusting. The husband wanted to get his son involved with being a donor. She was totally against this. Nedie had also told me stories he threatened getting her deported.

Even though I was young I didn't have an aspiration of being with a married women, this was just different. I just couldn't let this young girl keep experiencing sorrow and loneliness.

Meeting in person

Well the meeting place was my apartment. We met shortly after she got off work. She knocked on the door and I opened it. Oh my goodness, I was amazed with her appearance. We both said hi to each other. I immediately offered her a seat on the couch in my living room. She was wearing a white button up shirt, black slacks, and had on a pair of black heels.

I wanted to compliment Nedie on her appearance but she beat me to it. Nedie told me I looked taller and was more handsome in person. I almost said the same thing, haha but I told her she looked better as well. The smile of hers caught my attention it just lit up my whole apartment.Both our eyes were locked onto each other. I'm so glad we had a very comfortable conversation because the eye gazing may have got uncomfortable, lol.

It didn't take me long to realize I can't just be friends with her. That feeling was mutual, I just felt it somehow. Another thing I thought about was her petiteness, I could have swore my hands were as big as her feet. So darn cute, btw I don't remember when but we compared hands sizes and her feet were a little bigger than my hands, lol.

So I'd say she was in my apartment for less than a hour and I was thinking about giving her a kiss 😘. I turned slightly and moved in slightly than came back. I thought I did this without being noticed. Before I knew it her lips were on mine as she kissed me, haha.

I had a very good time with her, yes even without the kiss. I walked Nedie out to her car and wished her a safe trip home. She simply told me good night and to call her soon if I wanted to. I said of course :)

Memories

The first memory I will share will be when I visited her work place. This was about two weeks in and we probably seen each other 10 times already. She wanted me to come so she could introduce me to her friend. She did tell me a little bit about of her friend.

I met her during her lunch break which was only 30 minutes. I initially thought maybe I would get drilled with questions by her friend. It was not the case, it was more of a show and tell I think. I didn't mind, if anything it showed she was fond of me. Her friend was all smiles back to Nedie. So if it was for approval I passed 😂

The next memory I will share is when she spent the night at my apartment for the first time. She knew it was to time to leave. She told me that she really didn't want to go home. I looked at her and said she could stay if she wanted to. The look on her face was priceless. You would have thought she was recognized for some prestigious award, lol. She immediately questioned if I was sure and than gave me the warmest hug I had ever received. It was also the first time she said, " I love you." Nedie left the next morning when I went to work.

The last memory I will share was similar to the last one but so much more to tell. She spent the night again but this time when Nedie woke up she looked tired. I told her she could stay and sleep if she wanted to. She agreed and asked if I was coming home for lunch. I told her yes and that I was just going to have some left overs in the fridge. So I head off to work.

I headed back to my apartment from work. The first thing I noticed coming into the building was the smell of food. I lived on the third floor.

I opened the door and there stands Nedie with a huge smile. I made you lunch she said. I don't remember exactly what she made but there were a few veggies and pork served with steam riced. The food was delicious and she made more than enough.

My apartment was also spotless, she cleaned for me as well:) I was impressed and I noticed she brought some pans and other things from her place. She told me she got up right after I left. She cleaned right away and then went home to get food and some things to cook with.

Before my lunch hour was up I called into work. Nedie didn't go into work that day either. This was by far the most time I have spent with her within a 24 hour period. Often we only shared a few hours together when we seen each other.

I had a lot of good memories with Nedie. That girl would have done anything for me. We always were pleasant with one another and we never even had a single fight. I can say I have never felt so loved by anyone else. I feel a bit of shame because I didn't show my feelings for her. I did this because part of me worried about her being married. I guess I feared something bad could happen to me. I may have hidden some feelings but I definitely felt them. If there is such a thing as a perfect girl friend out there she was it, too bad she was married.

Our last day together

I got a phone call from her number. I answered it and it wasn't her but her husband. He asked, " Bob how do you know my wife?" I hang up in a panic and felt like my world had been tipped upside down. I did hear her in the background saying, "Don't, give me phone back."

First thought was what if he finds out and contacts my military unit. It would surely affect my career. The other thought was he owns a gun. What if he came after me? Both issues were very concerning to me.

She arrived at my apartment not long after. She came to me and said she was so sorry. I told her that I knew she was. Next thing I did was tell her we have to end our relationship. I told her it's not her fault. I did mention that her being married and her husband knowing was the reason. It was hard thing to do but I felt I had no choice in the matter.

It was my hardest break up I ever did. She was very understanding and only said good things to me. She mentioned that she has no regrets meeting me and will never forget our time together. To be honest she was the right person for me but at the wrong time.

What happened with her

Well I admit I kept track of her after we ended our relationship. I didn't try to contact her or accidentally try to run into her. I would sometimes search for her through the internet. I prayed a lot for her to find happiness. It was about 5 or 6 years later after we last seen each other I found out she got married. I was really happy for her that she escaped her marriage and got to choose someone for herself. Her new husband is very close in age and I'm sure he is nothing like the old one. I don't know for sure but I highly believe she has a few children.

I also found out her ex husband passed away this last November at the age of 95. Looking at his obituary he married again and his wife was the same age as Nedie. I'm guessing by seeing her name in the obituary she was Filipina too.

After Thoughts

When I was with Nedie I was always happy. She was never a nuisance, never questioned my attentions, and was basically there for me all the time. There is a lot of what ifs with her. I think to myself I had to let her go and just wish only the best for her. I'm assuming she is happy now and rest assure that makes me smile.

I don't really have regret because I believe she is happy now. If only I had met here at a different time. Well to conclude, Nedie you are my only lost love. How I wonder if I hadn't lost you.

If you have read this far I really thank you. I know it's a long read and I even left things out. Take care, be safe, and until next time.

Sort:  

Oww, what a long story. I've never read this from RC. Good to read it here. :)

Yes 1 of 3 I wrote. I wrote this on read but it was a much smaller article. The other 2 relationships I wrote here. Thanks for reading. A lot of friends are here from read. There is a fourth I don't have the nerve to share.

Another cool story from you, however, for you it was a piece of your life. Look at the bright side. You both got something nice from life and at least nothing bad happened to you, like retaliation or something. You were left with good memories and she managed to get out of that bad marriage.

That is true and I am happy that she improved her well being. It was hard not making contact with her but I didn't want to be an interference.

A long story but very real and sad in the end. I understand, the right person in a wrong time... we don't know why that happen but there we have a reason maybe, who knows, another life experience, another love story, another part of our lives that we remember. ❤

It is the one I let go but I don't think I really had much of a choice.

Yep in my opinion you hadn't...

Why am I singing Barry Manillow's "Somewhere Down The Road?" 🤔

Haha very relevant to the point about crossing paths again. Maybe in another life :) Now I might have to listen it's been awhile since I heard that song.

Have a great time listening to the song, big bro :)

You found each other, but wasn't meant to be. It's kinda sad bout the ending though given a chance getting to know each other. While reading I thought it was a story of a teenager 😁.

Anyways it's ok, heaven knows and finding each other has a purpose.

Teenage story, haha. Ya sad but not meant to be :(

Like what I said before, this was indeed a testimony of a true love in the wrong time. It was very sad how it ended, but maybe there are reasons for it. People come nad go in our life, and some of them are not meant for us but gives a different kind of lesson in life. ♥️🤗

Yes indeed. I figured I would post this experience here as some seemed interested in it. Without a doubt my best experience, but it wasn't meant to be unfortunately. I can't imagine if I would have completely showed how I felt. I think it would have spelt trouble. A lesson but I think I made the right choice even though my heart told me otherwise. I've moved on but I haven't forgotten ❤️:)

Congratulations @coolmidwestguy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

https://leofinance.io/threads/@vempromundo/re-leothreads-y43busw5
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( @vempromundo ) sharing the post on LeoThreads.

Wow, indeed a great adventure. Really getting involved with a married woman brings us some worries, but I'm glad that in the end everything worked out 'all right' and you're fine now.

Real liking is seeing that the person you like is happy, regardless of who you are with, this is a beautiful gesture of maturity on your part.

Peace.

P.S.: By the way, I published your publication on the LeoFinance Threads, have you heard about it? If not, you can check it out through this link, it is still in the alpha version of the frontend

https://alpha.leofinance.io/threads/view/vempromundo/re-leothreads-y43busw5

If you can leave a comment as an answer there for me, it would be a great help for engagement, thanks

Awww, it's really a right person in a wrong time. But at least you get to enjoy the little time you had together. It's just that, it had to end too soon no.

Yup a time I will forever remember. I guess so since this is the second time I am writing about it. Heck I could write a book on this. A book of joy, happiness, and tears.

I know Filipino women well and the truth with all my heart I must tell you that you had enough nuts to invite someone to your house on the first occasion without meeting her personally for a long time, I would never do that brother.

I think you were impressed by her way of being, the culture, education and upbringing of women in other countries is usually different, in the Philippines I know that many women are educated for marriage, to be good wives, that's surely why I impressed you their way of being, but that is something common in that culture (it is not something that I like, I actually prefer that the person be spontaneous and that what they feel is not something programmed or something that has been imposed by their culture or family tradition, but of course, this is a very personal choice).

Anyway, what I highlight is that it impresses me is that you have decided to meet someone in your own home, that was quite brave of you, and that is a risk that I would never take =)

She was married so meeting in public would of been dangerous. It was a very unique situation. She didn't have a programmed way about here. I didn't invite many to my place the first time. Sure after a couple visits. Thanks for reading I know it was long, I guess your rubbing off on me, hehe. Actually hard to tell experiences may they be good or bad in a few words.

When what you tell is interesting, it doesn't matter how long it is, because I'm still going to read it. In my case, what annoys me is not having enough time to read the things that interest me, so when I make a comment it's because I really read all the content well hehehe.

I would have met her at a friend's house, but never at my house. I have a long history of experiences with scammers from that country that many Filipino friends have told me about, scammers, kidnappings and a lot of other things (including people who have had their organs removed to sell them, just for having met women they met in line, they have been drugged and they take out an eye or another part of their body, and when they wake up they find that unpleasant surprise), that's why I would never risk it, it scares me a lot.

Recounting bad experiences in a few words is an art, I've mastered it, but in my particular case, the things that have happened to me, such as the episode in which I recounted the paralysis of my legs, involved many details, which I know people he is interested in reading them, and that is why the writing is long hahaha.

I have a lot of things to write pending, but time is not enough, I have to make time to write about an occasion in which I had to sleep in the street (I already did it once, but this time I want to give all the details), Let's see when I can do it.

have a long history of experiences with scammers from that country that many Filipino friends have told me about, scammers, kidnappings and a lot of other things (including people who have had their organs removed to sell them, just for having met women they met in line, they have been drugged and they take out an eye or another part of their body, and when they wake up they find that unpleasant surprise), that's why I would never risk it, it scares me a lot.

That is scary I did have a roommate. I have heard of those stories. In todays world it would be a big no no. It was probably risky back than as well but I think maybe a little less risky because those were times when not everyone had internet. It was the beginning of the social communications taken place on the internet. Sure scammers and other bad deeds were probably happening but not at large as they are today