Stolen moments

in Reflections4 months ago

The air was tinged with salt, cool in the early morning but with a hint of promise at the warmth the day would hold. I stood at the open window looking at the deep blue ocean under an azure sky and the red rooved houses below and inhaled deeply feeling very much in the moment, in the precise moment in which I needed to be within, at that specific time.

bmc.jpg

I took this image

I'd been haphazardly making my way around the Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur part of France, no fixed plans or destinations just days that followed nights, a cycle of sunrise and sunset with what I referred to as the ideal life in between each. It was idyllic, a series of moments in beautiful places and with my man who felt as passionate about the places we went as he did me I returned that passion all the time, day and night.

Life isn't always easy; problems arise, trouble strikes and sometimes life dictates to us - we have to focus on less pleasant things, do tasks just to get through it and to progress - and that's why the moments I was spending seemed so valuable to me in the moment. I felt like I was stealing life back, drawing from the credit I'd amassed in different times through effort and hard work. Stolen moments? Maybe I was owed them. Either way, I was taking them, using them and spending them in amazing places and with an amazing man.

I think about that time, those stolen moments, in France and many others like them, in times of stress and worry and when life takes hold a little too tightly and they comfort me and help to put life into perspective. It would be amazing to have the luxury to travel constantly, to spend time in places simply because I loved them, to have no time-frame, no responsibilities other than my own enjoyment, contentment and satisfaction but life's not like that - life can be hard at times and reality can be sobering.

Today, after a difficult week, I was thinking about those stolen moments in France and many other places around the world and felt such gratitude that I have them to strengthen me. They bring me hope and happiness and fortify me that I may do what I must when the realities of life weigh upon me.

- This is what I'm listening to -

Becca 💗

Sort:  

I agree that happy memories are something that we can always draw some comfort from, in times of trouble and difficulty. Reminiscing can give a temporary, yet necessary escape from the current situation, and should help power us through it afterwards. I hope that whatever it is you are facing gets better soon, and that you can go back to France in the future.

Have you found that you draw on happy memories to help you through difficult or complicated times?

Becca 🌷

I think I tend to draw on them during difficult times, since that is when I need them more.

A beautiful song to accompany complicated moments. I believe that life has meaning precisely because of all those memories that give us encouragement in difficulties. I hope the storm passes and the sun comes out again. Best regards

Memories of past times, and the times themselves, help shape us in our lives and it makes sense to me to look back on them and draw them back into reality in times when we need them most.

Thanks for commenting, I appreciate it.

Becca 🌷

Your words are so beautiful and heartfelt. It's clear that those stolen moments have made a lasting impact on you. Thanks for sharing your reflections and spreading positivity

Those moments shall stay with me for the rest of my life, those and many more, and they bring me great comfort. Do you do the same thing as well?

Becca 🌷

It is nice to have those stolen moments when things get difficult, to be able to have that positive energy to fill our soul and give us the strength we need, just in those complicated moments.

I hope you have many more of those moments and that whatever happened this week .... passes and the bad stuff dissipates, because you deserve the good stuff.

A beautiful song to accompany such an emotional piece of writing.

Thank you Becca and a big hug❤️

At what point of your life do you look back in times of stress or worry and what memories do you fortify yourself with?

Becca 🌷

Yes, I look back at times when I am more worried or when I feel sadder and those moments that strengthen me are mostly the signs of life that I have received, like my move to Spain, which was a great sign that I followed. That helps me a lot!

Thank you Becca.❤️