... No Inspiration

in Reflections2 months ago (edited)

I left the house late morning with the plan to hike to a river beach that is a bit more hidden and - aside from that - more natural than the one with the 'ombrellas' that I shared in my recent posts.

As I tend to do, I took one of my many notebooks and some coloring pens along with me, as well as some nice food and plenty of water, quite important as I planned to stay out for a couple of hours and it was (about to get) pretty hot out there.

The hike was nice, some serious exercise, and I enjoyed swimming and the nature as well as some cream crackers with peanut butter
but, truth be told, inspiration didn't hit me. I chilled and went for another swim, in the amazingly fresh water ( not too warm not too cold ).

I had also listened to a podcast called 'The Unmistakable Creative' ( by now I must have gone through at least a 100 episodes, over the years ) during my 45 minute hike.

Nothing happened creatively though

After leaving the river beach, I walked to the village bar, where I had talked about my creative process with an acquaintance, days ago ( as can be read in my previous sharing:

Do you understand your creative process?

I drank some cold beer, ate some lukewarm cheese and watched the last hour or so from one of the final stages of this year's Tour de France.

Even though I had laid down my notebook and coloring pencils in front of me, nothing happened, inspiration wise...

The only thing I jotted down on paper was that I was annoyed by the loud, seemingly exaggerated noises of an old woman at a table behind me, licking ice cream like a greedy dog devouring his food but - unlike the dog - it went on for many minutes.

I guess she couldn't help it.

I then discovered that I had my sketchie of Robin the hairy-chested red-breast(ed) robin with me too.

Read more on this guy in Robin goes to the river

So, in an attempt to make the woman behind the bar smile, I walked up to her and showed her the above drawing. I said, translated from Portuguese:

I don't know the name of this type of bird but it's wearing my swimming pants and walking on the river beach, out here...

The drawing did make her smile, an effect I do tend to have on her, but I forgot to mention the chest-hair part. She probably didn't notice this detail on the drawing, busy as she was with other customers. Which is a bit of a shame, as I'm sure it would have made her laugh out loud. Even more, as I walked into the bar in swimming pants and shirtless, so she surely must have noticed my chest hair.
and please don't call me shirley and have connected the dots/seen the parallels between that robin and me.

Anyhow, after having finished two beers, most of the cheese ( I took the rest home ), and ice cream, I paid my bill. I even ordered a cold Coca-Cola ( something I rarely drink ) for the road. I thought the possible sugar/caffeine boost might work wonders.

It's now hours later, I have been home for a while and even this aforementioned drink/medicine hasn't had any effect on my creative outpouring today.

It is fine though.
Tomorrow is another idea.
Also, I am hungry and it's dinner time.

Who knows, I might get inspired later tonight.
Or not.

Whatever's the case, I'm okay with it.

Sort:  

Hahahaha I love this bird! Amazing trunks 🐘!

I think your new account is going to inspire a post I make and it’s going to be about tantric sex and the creative process. I wonder if you can guess where I might go with it and I wonder if I can remember to write it 🤣

I think your new account is going to inspire a post I make and it’s going to be about tantric sex and the creative process. I wonder if you can guess where I might go with it and I wonder if I can remember to write it 🤣

Ehm... perhaps you're thinking of a trunk in your trunks ;<)

P.S. If you forget, I will make sure to remind you of it haha!

Sometimes I feel like this, without inspiration, but it has happened to me that if I look for it, less comes; It is better not to "force the bar", which comes in the end.

greetings.

but it has happened to me that if I look for it, less comes; It is better not to "force[...]

That makes sense. I actually wrote about not forcing things in my previous post Do you understand your creative process? In fact, I think it is a recurring theme of mine and something I have mentioned over and over again, on my old blog @vincentnijman :<)

Muchas gracias for your thoughtful comment and wishing you a creative day!✨

Congratulations @diaryofacreative! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP