The Symmetry of Misfortune; A Perspective about Decadence

in Reflections8 months ago (edited)

This is my first post in this community. In the days prior to the publication of these lines, I had several suggestions of Ecency and PeakD's algorithm with this niche. I have read stories full of an intelligence that touches and that at the same time, is a mime to creativity. Between that drop of inspiration, which from these words I thank the authors who made them possible, and the appreciation of my own decadent existence, I have also taken the decision to express a point of view that is uncomfortable but that I can no longer tolerate?

I decided to title this little literary window in this way for poetic reasons, although there are indeed several parallels between what we can see in the symmetrical art of photography and the misfortune of living in a country with no future, no evolution and a markedly foul and overwhelmingly pessimistic air. Yes, I am referring to Venezuela, the place where I lived during my years of life? This is a combination of many emotions and perspectives: complaints, rage, some anger and also a lot of frustration. Sometimes, I just need to leave this behind, even briefly, and this beautiful opportunity is witness to what I long for.

To fully understand what I mean, it is important to understand what has happened. I'm not old, but I'm not a young guy either. My age is that of a young man, I suppose... 33 is not too old, but it is not too young either. In fact, almost anywhere else in the world without problems of wars, invasions, armed conflicts or some other incentive, you could say that at this age you would have a lifestyle and above all, a purpose to achieve. In Venezuela, this is an illusion. For at least 24 years, our history has changed.... And no, I will not go into political details. I will only emphasise that what is usual outside is dreamlike here.

There is no dreaming, no budgeting, no entrepreneurship, no saving. It's like a constant episode of The Walking Dead; especially one called "J.S.S. (Just Survive Somehow) but perpetually.... There are three fundamental and therefore unpostponable "missions" if you live here: prioritise the purchase of food, buy or acquire dollars, and don't get sick.... Basically, the average life in this miserable, remote and surrealistically elitist place boils down to these three variants. It's no coincidence that HIVE is full of so many of us...

I don't intend to read myself or be perceived as walking shamelessness, I really don't. And I apologise to those who perceive the gloomy and hopeless tone in my words, but as I have said before, I need to let out some things that are destroying inside... Back to the subject, Viviana Maier, who is the protagonist of the photograph on my cover, lived through the Great Depression in the 1930's in the U.S. That event changed her totally and irrevocably. All her life she dedicated herself to capturing the art of the everyday, but with a perfectionist approach: the symmetry of misfortune...

I am not Ms Maier, I would love to have 10 percent of her talent, but I will never get there. However, she is the closest thing I have been able to find to explain why hopelessness is the dictator of those of us who live here. Rather, of me, of my way of seeing and understanding the world. I would love to be able to say that the horizon will always remain, no matter the adverse conditions, but I deeply doubt it. My friends, the vast majority of my relatives, and even a couple of my loves, have left here because of the incompatibility that comes from longing for something more, and living in this geography.

Normally, I wouldn't be expressing any of this, but I guess the straw that broke the camel's back (again, for me) was seeing a child, no older than 5 years old, abandoned in a sector of the city where I live (Valencia, Venezuela) of wealthy and "upper class" people completely abandoned, dirty, full of flies because of his filth and noticing the indifference of the people who passed by him, and deliberately ignored him? Can you predict anything "positive" for this child's life? I simply cannot....

I was tempted to photograph him, but out of respect for his dignity as a human being, I didn't. Together with an unknown friend who was there like me, we decided to call the police and let them, the so-called authorities, deal with him.... This happened a couple of weeks ago, and every morning (to make matters worse, I'm a night owl) I think about him, his dreams and the life of that boy.... It tears me apart to witness what he has had to suffer, and it makes me even angrier to know that it won't be the last... For now I say goodbye, and I really hope you are better off than me.

You are a wonderful community. I hope I live up to it, and that you like what I post. I needed a space like this... And yes, all pics were taken by me, all but one, the Vivian Maier's from the miniature. Source

Sort:  

Thank you for your thought-provoking post. In fact, you've provoked so many thoughts that I'm feeling too emotional to write a coherent response. So I'll add some more thanks for:

  1. Introducing me to the Reflections community, where I've found a lot more high-value, heartfelt content like yours.
  2. Your other content that I've only begun to read. But contains great photography combined with expressive words.

!luv

Thank you very much for your words, the support and of course for taking the time and read my thoughts. @keithtaylor

@freakshow90, @keithtaylor(1/1) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx