You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Counter of Enough

Probably this differs from person to person, also depends on in which phase of your life you are in (for instance kids or not, kids studying or not).
For me personally I do like the money I earn, but I do work to life not the other way around. I had that phase but decided a few years ago, that I am not willing to give up more of my life to get a bigger paycheck!
While I do like my live and also work, I would happy to have the guts to get another less demanding job and earn a little bit less. But the mortgage isn't paid off yet, kids still need to study another 10 years, so I do have that as highest priority!
Not that I am in the quite quitting phase but it did come close.
I did resign from my previous job last year because the life balance was getting into the wrong direction. I just wanted to do my job at the client and that's it. But due to my experience and hierarchy in the company, I was more or less forced to do extra tasks. I was willing to accept a same job at another company for a lower paycheck but at the end I am earning just as much, just with less responsibility.

Sort:  

but I do work to life not the other way around.

It is about meaning. Some find meaning in what they do (weirdly in some cases).

Our financial needs dictate our job for the most part. Many can't downscale, without having to give up things they care about. So, working is the only way to meet needs.

I was willing to accept a same job at another company for a lower paycheck but at the end I am earning just as much, just with less responsibility.

Sounds good!