Sort:  

Combine it with fat-shaming, and it is a winner all round.

I don't know if it's just a coincidence but once they started the anti-smoking campaigns on this side of the world, that's almost the same time people started growing.

I recall a time when majority smoked, appeared healthy, and also thought they were awesome all at the same time.

Now they're growing larger and the internal hidden issues shifted to the brain. You mentioned DNA and smoking has been linked to mutations. I wonder if what's happening to people today is evolution. Products of the environment, right?

Nobody ever said evolution only makes things better. All it is is the sharing of changes. Nothing exceptional really.

I don't know if it's just a coincidence

I don't think it is a coincidence. Withdrawals symptoms for smokes feel like hunger. And then there is the habit of doing something with hands, plus the replacement of the bad habit.

Now they're growing larger and the internal hidden issues shifted to the brain.

Like any addict. If someone was drinking too much, gambling too much, or whatever, they wouldn't be celebrated for it.

I meant in general the mental health issues are also on the rise, at the exact same time. Everyone is sick, somehow, some way.

Maybe the real problem is the expectation of perfection.

I mostly replaced the smokes with a vape. Some will say I didn't quit. Yet I'm consuming far fewer chemicals I didn't want in the first place.

Addiction sucks. Roughly three days away from three full months sober and three months away from the next step. In a world where people want fast food and fast results. Can appreciate the time but know there's a longggggg way to go yet. It don't mean shit to anyone else and the last thing I want is a party. Can't even share the whole story until writing's finished and I'll probably just burn that book.