Lie as a Feather

in Reflectionslast month

Can you be fat and fit?

image.png

Yes, you can be overweight and metabolically healthy. At the same time, we know that obesity is a disease that affects the body in many different ways. Thirteen types of cancer and 200 other health conditions are related to obesity.

However....

Only 12% of Americans are metabolically healthy.

That isn't 12% of Obese Americans - that is 12% of Americans as a total population. A population where 40% of adults are considered obese. So, the question becomes, how many of the obese, also fall into the "metabolically healthy" category?

About 50% of people with obesity are metabolically healthy when healthy is defined as the absence of the metabolic syndrome, whereas only approximately 5% are metabolically healthy when healthy is defined as the absence of any metabolic syndrome components and normal insulin sensitivity assessed by HOMA-IR.

The latest data indicate that 39.6 percent of U.S. adults are obese. (Another 31.6 percent are overweight and 7.7 percent are severely obese.)

So, what that means is that if there are 100 people, 40 are obese, 31 are overweight, and 8 are extremely obese. That leaves 21 who would be considered normal or underweight, meaning that "normal" is not very normal at all. It also brings in some interesting numbers, because if 5% of obese people are metabolically healthy (this doesn't actually mean healthy), That means that out of the 12 people who would be considered so, around 3 of them are obese, which is 25% of the total of metabolically healthy people.

However, what any individual needs to consider, is whether they are one of the 5% who can both be obese, and metabolically healthy. And, as the first quote indicated, metabolic health is different to healthy, where there are plenty of other implications outside of this narrow definition of health, that are known to be affected by obesity.

Now, while so far this article has talked about obesity, it isn't actually about that it at all, at least not directly. it is about

Being exceptional.

We have created a culture where everyone thinks that they are unique, and as an exceptional person, the generalized rules don't apply to them. Everyone thinks that they are the ones that are the outliers, the ones who can beat the system, live outside of averages, be the superstar. And as such, there is a massive sense of entitlement that has set in, where they believe that because they are unique, they deserve to be treated in some kind of special way, that the laws of society are okay for the normal people, but for me as a unique person, I should be treated differently.

Perhaps the most widely cited statistic about human genetic diversity is that any two humans differ, on average, at about 1 in 1,000 DNA base pairs (0.1%). Human genetic diversity is substantially lower than that of many other species, including our nearest evolutionary relative, the chimpanzee.

So, as humans we are special in the sense that there is even less genetic difference between us, than there is between many other species. We are more homogenous, more similar, less diverse, less special. Yet, our belief in how different we are has led to all kinds of cultural phenomena, like identity politics and being able to create our own "personal labels" for ourselves. This means that we can stand out of the crowd, be special, be exceptional, without actually having to do anything special at all.

And, this belief in our own exceptionalism, means that we differentiate ourselves from others, isolate ourselves from others, tell ourselves that because we are different, we couldn't or shouldn't cooperate with people who are different than ourselves. Which is an incredible turn of events where after two million years of evolution where our species competitive advantage became working together with exceptional intelligence - we are now seemingly moving in the opposite direction.

Exceptional stupidity.

Using obesity as the example of many other factors, a lot of overweight people will argue that because of the potential to be fat and fit is there, being fat isn't a problem. But, this is an argument of convenience, because what they should be doing instead of arguing about the group, is reflecting on whether they as an obese person, are also fit. According to the studies, 95% of obese people can't make that claim.

So, is it better for us as an individual to work under the assumption that we are exceptional, or is it better to assume that we are very likely average in most things like everyone else? If we look at it from something like an investment perspective, is it better to aim for the exceptional result of winning the lottery to become wealthy, or is it better to take the average approach to building wealth, of investing into generative assets? If 100 people invest, and 100 people play the lottery to become wealthy, what will the results show?

Now, let's say that 1 person out of the 100 lottery players wins, the average result could mean that the average lottery player outperforms the investors. However, is that winner going to share their winnings to the other 99? Looking at the investors, it is likely there are a range of outcomes, with some winning a lot, some losing a little, but most getting something positive out of the investment strategy. One who wins a lot might be as lucky as the lottery player, but on average, no one really has to be lucky to get something.

"Being average" shouldn't be the goal though, because on average, people are overweight, people are financially struggling, people are unhealthy, people are unsatisfied, people are slightly depressed, people are emotionally uncontrolled... the list goes on.

But, we also need to look at ourselves and realize that we are likely not very exceptional at most things in our lives. We might not be exceptional at anything at all even. However, even if we are exceptionally good at something, that doesn't extrapolate out and apply to everything that is important to us in our lives. An exceptional sprinter isn't necessarily an exceptional investor, or an exceptional partner. An exceptional painter isn't automatically an exceptional politician, or exceptional teacher. Exceptionality is applied in a very narrow frame, but while we are all different, we are on average, much more similar, and across skillsets, much more average than we tend to believe ourselves to be.

I am not exceptional, I am average in pretty much everything I do, and below average in many skills that I need. It is impossible for anyone to be brilliant in everything, so we have to get comfortable with our limitations and shortcomings. But, we also shouldn't artificially create exceptional categories for ourselves, just so that we can feel special. And, we should never try to force other people to recognize our made-up category, and punish them for not adhering to our demands of entitlement.

People can believe what they want, and they can call themselves whatever they want to call themselves, but it doesn't make it true. I can tell you I am, but I am not a doctor. I can say I am fit, but that doesn't mean my body functions well. I can believe I am absolutely anything and act accordingly, but that doesn't mean you have to believe it too, or treat me in some kind of special way because I believe you should.

Thankfully, while the media and corporations have been pushing individualism and exceptionalism for decades, which has led to all kinds of antisocial outcomes, there seems to be some pushback. Some people have realized that the course of continued fragmentation that we are on, leads to isolation, extremism, and less ability to solve the problems we face as a large population, who are on average facing the same challenges in our average lives.

Most people will just focus on the "fat", not the underlying causes that lead to our society slowly crumbling, and dividing into polarized groups, each believing that they are the most exceptional.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

It seems, with the passing of years and constant evaluation and evolution in my thinking, the answer comes back a yin and yang.

Too much of a good thing becomes bad somehow. Too much bad produces good that would not happen otherwise.

Our generation was told that we were not special, we are not experts in anything, shut up, nobody cares, work harder. As good as that is for resiliency and work ethic developing from discipline, it had aweful consequences when it came to exceptions to that rule. Blame, guilt, the lies we tell ourselves to cope in order to keep working harder.

With obesity as a result of lifestyle and too many bad decisions and habits in a row, it is that guilt and discomfort which fuels a painful change in lifestyle that can correct that issue. Lets stop shaming and allow people to be happy where they are sp they can inspire themselves to improve from a good place. The yang of that can be entitlement for comfort, celebration of obesity, misery in company pretending not to be miserable and a comfortable banner under which to seek shelter instead of change.

To me it comes down to adulting. It is what it is so what am i going to do about it? I can choose to feel bad or i can mentally then physically grind out a solution. I can classify it all i want and justify it so that i am not blaming myself, (which can be good) but it will turn bad if it isnt followed by addressing the issue and spending time correcting it. Not always the case but I am working on it for myself.

It is that kind of exceptional that is missing from this universal exceptionality and misery loves company.

Homie dont play that.

As good as that is for resiliency and work ethic developing from discipline, it had aweful consequences when it came to exceptions to that rule.

Finns have this issue, where they cut down the tall poppies who are successful, or aspire to be.

misery in company pretending not to be miserable and a comfortable banner under which to seek shelter instead of change.

"misery in company" is a good way to sum up a lot of lives at the moment.

One of my colleagues asked me the other day what I think was necessary for a good life, and I said that it was high quality relationships. Strong relationships are rare in younger generations now.

I have been working out for a while now and while I know I am healthier internally, you can't really see the difference on the outside. I'm definitely obese though, but that is something that I am continuing to work on. I realize this post is about more than just that though. They say dad bods are in these days...

They say dad bods are in these days...

I must be hot!

From the outside, I am not "that bad" however, I don't feel very good and I can feel the fat in the wrong places. It definitely has an affect on me physically, and I am too uncomfortable at the moment. I would like to drop about 20 pounds, but 10 would make a big difference already.

I agree, I would be happy to drop 20 pounds and I am not really happy with the way I look. The funny thing is, I hold all my weight in my middle, so my legs are totally skinny as well as my arms, but then I have this gut. When I work out, I can tell that my stamina, endurance, and strength is better though.

My body type is different to yours, as mine is pretty evenly spread, but more in the top half. I have very broad shoulders for my height though, which is probably because I would have likely been taller, if I hadn't have got chronically ill as a teen.

my stamina, endurance, and strength is better though.

And probably self-esteem.

Only a little bit with the self esteem. I'm still not going to be that guy mowing his lawn with his shirt off, but maybe one day. My chicken legs are almost comical.

Bring back smoking indoors and watch how quickly people shed the pounds.

Combine it with fat-shaming, and it is a winner all round.

I don't know if it's just a coincidence but once they started the anti-smoking campaigns on this side of the world, that's almost the same time people started growing.

I recall a time when majority smoked, appeared healthy, and also thought they were awesome all at the same time.

Now they're growing larger and the internal hidden issues shifted to the brain. You mentioned DNA and smoking has been linked to mutations. I wonder if what's happening to people today is evolution. Products of the environment, right?

Nobody ever said evolution only makes things better. All it is is the sharing of changes. Nothing exceptional really.

I don't know if it's just a coincidence

I don't think it is a coincidence. Withdrawals symptoms for smokes feel like hunger. And then there is the habit of doing something with hands, plus the replacement of the bad habit.

Now they're growing larger and the internal hidden issues shifted to the brain.

Like any addict. If someone was drinking too much, gambling too much, or whatever, they wouldn't be celebrated for it.

I meant in general the mental health issues are also on the rise, at the exact same time. Everyone is sick, somehow, some way.

Maybe the real problem is the expectation of perfection.

I mostly replaced the smokes with a vape. Some will say I didn't quit. Yet I'm consuming far fewer chemicals I didn't want in the first place.

Addiction sucks. Roughly three days away from three full months sober and three months away from the next step. In a world where people want fast food and fast results. Can appreciate the time but know there's a longggggg way to go yet. It don't mean shit to anyone else and the last thing I want is a party. Can't even share the whole story until writing's finished and I'll probably just burn that book.

Well put. I was having an argument with a friend about this few weeks ago. I didn't have the statistics though.
Funny enough the obese people who make this argument of fit and fat usually don't put in the effort to actually be fit, they use the argument for comfort.

Exceptionality is applied in a very narrow frame, but while we are all different, we are on average, much more similar, and across skillsets, much more average than we tend to believe ourselves to be.

We are much more similar than different, this is a truth we need to absorb. With every passing day, this reality becomes more and more evident. Our exceptionalism never makes up for other areas we are average or below average.

Funny enough the obese people who make this argument of fit and fat usually don't put in the effort to actually be fit, they use the argument for comfort.

Yes. It is similar with all the people who talk about them being happy with themselves in their own skin, but derogatory against people who are thinner than them. I have a friend who is like this. Totally not happy with herself.

Being obese can never be healthy. Being far is cool but when it is getting obese, it means there is a problem somewhere and the person needs to work on it…

I wonder how many obese people have some kind of mental issue.

The "fat is healthy" trend is very dangerous.
Being obese is never healthy.

Don't you find it amazing that it is even accepted as an option?

Yes the new normal.

You wrote it perfectly. I completely agree with you. Even the topic of obesity is something that some people refuse to accept or acknowledge the truth about. But now that you've presented the exact data, it's becoming clearer to me. Many people have always said that sugar is a significant problem in America, and a few months ago, my cousin brought me some sweets and chocolates from America. They were incredibly sweet and just packed with peanut butter. We're not used to that level of sweetness, this is just to much 🤦‍♀️

The difference in sweetness is quite extreme and for me at least, the US chocolate tastes more processed than the chocolate in Europe, and especially northern Europe.

I don't think they've ever tried Milka, and fast food is also a big problem. I can't imagine eating fast food or frozen meals every day. I'm grateful we have the opportunity to enjoy fresh food and that we know how to cook.

Today groups are being born that are being funded to promote fatness, they say that weight is not an indicator of health, that being fat is a condition that has nothing to do with food and I find it stupid, the other day I was watching a talk about obesity where they threw a man for just saying a great truth that the solution to obesity was to exercise and controlled diet, but the reality is that the numbers do not lie if I ate 300 calories a day I would be very low in weight what I mean is that people perceive that they eat less and still do not lose weight when the reality is that they are eating more calories than necessary for the maintenance of our body.

that being fat is a condition that has nothing to do with food

Perhaps they are right - maybe it is a purely a mental problem. =D

There are very rare conditions where a person can put on weight even in calorie deficit supposedly - but it seems that many overweight people believe they have this extremely rare condition.

We are all candidate for being an obese human and I believe that the more technological tools around us advance the less we will be active during a day.

Yep - We are becoming habitually immobile and increasingly on-demand in our consumption. We get what we want, when we want it, with very little control mechanisms.

I'm not too much but too smart I'm I just think. That's good I'm ok with it

It is a bit interesting though how the media is really trying to push being overweight as normal, and how people should be happy with how they are. While the message of acceptance is great, not encouraging others to be healthier isn't. Exercise is important, and eating healthy is too. It might be difficult and boring, but not everything in life should be fun and easy.