Summer Reflection #24: Inappropriate Bargain

in Reflections2 months ago

I drink a lot of coffee. Some would even go as far as saying that I drink too much coffee. That "some" would include myself. However, other than the twitchiness from too much, and the shaking hands and headaches when I don't have enough - I'm fine. I am not some coffeephile that spends an ordinate amount of time searching for or making a perfect cup, but I do enjoy a good French roast. At home, I drink drip-filtered coffee, and I don't grind my own beans or anything like that, but I have been looking for the perfect container to hold the coffee packet.

And I almost found it.

image.png

But it is round, and the packets are square.

However, I am still quite happy with the find, as it ticks lots of the boxes I am looking for in a coffee grind holder, if I actually cared enough to spend much time looking for one. Firstly, it is not new, it is second-hand, and while I have no idea when it was made, it wasn't this year. Secondly, it is also the right color to blend into our kitchen palette. Then lastly, it is quirky, with a picture that I think is probably not politically correct now, and perhaps never really was, so that if someone did see it, they would wonder about it.

A bargain for only 5€

And I didn't have to pay.

I didn't steal it either, but almost six months ago, I got a gift card to a culinary shop in the city for my birthday, and as we happened to be close by today, we went in to see what they have. They import packaged food like pasta, sauces and biscuits from Italy, but they also sell some bits and pieces like cups, glasses, carafes and cutlery that they have picked up from around Europe also. It was a pleasant surprise that they even had a small range of gluten-free pasta and gnocchi, so my wife and Smallsteps were catered for also.

The gift of food.

I am normally not a fan of giving gift cards as presents, because they are a bit of a "cop out" in some way. However, especially when there is a cost of living crisis that has driven the prices of food up much higher, getting one for a specialty shop is actually pretty cool. We would never have likely gone into this place otherwise, as while not super expensive, it would be far cheaper to pick up similar at the supermarket. But, we also wouldn't have bought this kind of food anyway, so it was nice to go in and be able to choose some things that we wouldn't normally, just to try.

A container of memories.

As this was given for my birthday by a group of friends, my wife suggested I get something to remember it by, and I chose the cool coffee cannister. It isn't in fantastic condition, but I will clean it up a little and put it into our breakfast cabinet so that every morning, I will see it there and be reminded that once upon a time and likely still today, people see me a lot like that picture and call me names to suit.

Nearly perfect.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

This whole politically correct or not thing has gone a bit far sometimes, we seem to have to tread extra carefully, like a self censorship.

Seriously, there are still people calling others names nowadays? What are we? Kids at school 😣

The kids at school learn from the parents at home for the most part. We live in a world where people blame others for all of their self-inflicted problems.

Sadly that's how most of our politicians act now.

Many people in Europe love drinking coffee, especially in the morning. I am not coffee addicted, thusI wouldn't long for coffee, but our tea 😄

My wife's tea drinking puts my coffee drinking to shame! She must have 20 a day.

I've tried to like coffee, but I just can't seem to do it. It's something that I just can't acquire the taste for. I don't mind the smell and I like beers that have coffee tones to them, but I don't think I will ever been one of those coffee folks. My nieces love iced coffee and probably get about one per day.

It is definitely an acquired taste. I also wonder if there is something like when it comes to cilantro (coriander) where there is some genetic component of preference to all flavors.

That could be. I love Cilantro, but I know some people just taste soap when they eat it.

My father is like that. He drinks a lot of coffee, and even at night. Drinking coffee a few hours before bed doesn't mess with his sleeping though, and I'm thinking he already has a high tolerance to caffeine. He buys different kinds of beans, mixes them, and blends them himself. He even has different ways of making them, like pour overs, drip, and a boiling one where the coffee rises from the bottom. I'm the opposite, and I'm just a social drinker.

Yeah, i don't actually suffer from any issues from drinking coffee that I know about.

You should do a post about his coffee making!

That's a good idea. I'll try to work on it. Thanks.

Part of my daily routine is to have a cup of freshly brewed coffee from a steam pressure coffee machine. I go up to the attic where we have installed a panoramic window to watch the sunset. During the holiday season, we substitute cocoa for coffee.

If you have a caffeine dependency, ask your doctor about an intradermal device that regulates caffeine doses. I know people who use them and they work well. At my age, I don't suffer from any of the symptoms you described related to coffee dependence.

I don't have the room for another coffee machine. We don't have anything on the counters :) Sounds like a nice view.

I was actually only joking (note the sarcasm in the text) about the symptoms. I don't have any symptoms at all and can drink coffee at midnight and still sleep fine :)

I checked wallets of both steemmonsters and bdvoter. Both accounts are powering down...Do you think that this means that splinterlands is really leaving Hive? And can Hive thrive without splinterlands?

That "some" would include myself. However, other than the twitchiness from too much, and the shaking hands and headaches when I don't have enough - I'm fine.

I drink 2-3 cups of coffee a day. So far I don't experience either twitchiness, shaking hands or headaches. But I guess that it is only a matter of time.

I hope they don't go anywhere. I was thinking of playing the game soon.

I hope so as well.

No, I don't think they are leaving Hive.

If time permits, and it seldom does, I like to grind my coffee beans moments before I prepare the coffee in a French press..

One thing I want to try someday is a cup of authentic Jamaican Blue coffee, from what I hear it's some of the best in the world because of the soil in Jamaica.

Is it easy to grind your own coffee? I have never tried and have always thought I would do it wrong or something :)

Yup, I have a small electric grinder - you just add the beans, secure the lid, and grind away. I also have an old hand crank one but that's more for decoration nowadays.

As for me, I love to give money for birthdays. I feel everyone needs money and that’s what I love to be gifted almost all the time too
I have noticed on here that so many white people love coffees. Maybe I’d give it a try. I’ve had coffee but don’t see anything special in it
Maybe my taste bud doesn’t appreciate it😅😅

You think only white people like coffee? Never really thought about it, but a lot of the world are also tea drinkers. However, I know lots of black people who drink coffee also :)

Gift cards to specialty shops are just awesome man hahahaha, especially in tough times. Nice choice on the coffee cannister brother

I get gift cards twice a year and I always use them to buy something valuable
Would you believe if I tell you that I have never had coffee in my life?

I drink coffee like crazy sometimes. Lately I have drank a great deal with all my issues being able to sleep. The coffee probably doesn't help matters much, but it does help me stay awake some when I need to. As far as the your container, I hope it does not remind you of being called names, but reminds you of the gift card given and the thoughts behind it.

As a coffee lover, coffee really has a special effect on me. Just the smell alone is incredibly addictive. My day is always worth it when I get to drink coffee because it definitely boosts my energy. It feels like nothing else matters, no matter how much work I have to do, as long as I have my coffee.

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 67000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 68000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP