Balcony Voyeurism - Red-breasted Robin vs Hairy-chested Hermit

in Reflections3 months ago (edited)

... I'm distracted by (a) robin,
who visits me daily
usually once the sun starts to slowly set.


I can hear her
but I can't see her,
as of yet.

She likes to hide
and watch me,
I guess...

Playing the voyeur
while I am sitting here
in the cool breeze, on my balcony.
Bare chested and only wearing my swimming pants.

She must like
my chest

and I like
her
red breast

a robin is called a 'roodborst' in Dutch ( which translates to red breast/red chest)



While I wrote the above, it was still warm enough to wear hardly any clothing.

In fact, I could have gone full monty,
as my nearest neighbors live 5 minutes away

but you know what: I like my swimming pants.

There's a lot I could write about today
but, instead,
I prefer to write about not much at all.

Slow Productivity

a phrase I picked up on,
a month or two ago
and something that a bunch of my friends can relate to.

In fact, the world could use more of it.
There's too much burnout and depression

and I have plenty of experience with both of the aforementioned

I like to think though that slow productivity leads to increased ( mental and physical ) health.

It is one of these subjects that I could have written a book on but someone else beat me to it.

I'm looking at you, Cal Newport!

I guess I don't like to write self help kind of books. In fact, I prefer to write fiction, filled with plenty of humor and a (not so) hidden message.

Just now, I closed my eyes,
to enjoy a little evening breeze.

I have a bit of a headache, but I know what is causing it
and that makes enough of a difference
to not worry about it and just let it pass.

I'll slowly let it move on,
not unlike the huge cloud that I am looking at, right now, after swiveling my desk chair - that I brought to my balcony - to the right.


The cloud seems to be moving super slowly ( distances can mislead us ) but that's alright. I will give it all the time it needs, just like my headache.



It's fair to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my day,
even though - to an outsider - those of you who are still very much focused on productivity and results - it might seem like I have done not much at all.

It's an illusion though.

If you would only see the inside of my brain ;<)

I have to eat more than average - and most who see me think I don't eat enough - just because my usually overactive brain burns loads of calories.

It's fair to say that what I did today ( among other things ), namely de-stressing, re-balancing and doing relatively little, aside from doing a lot of thinking, some intense exercise ( hiking or cycling ), listening to a podcast or two and - now I think of it - fixing the water system inside the house ( by communicating long distance with its owner, who is in England and going through a number of steps is plenty for me ) is actually not that little at all.

Oh and I forgot about the slow gardening.

A creative modern day 'philosopher' ( formerly known as a philosoraptor named hypersensitivosaurus ) needs these kind of days: partaking in plenty of unstressful activities that make it possible to do a lot of thinking too.

Tomorrow is another day
and today has been well spent :<)


Now let me leave you with a picture of the still passing cloud that is probably hundreds of meters in size.

It is starting to get a little fresh now, out here on my balcony. Too fresh to just wear swimming shorts.

It's time to go inside and edit this post ;<)

I hope you enjoyed your day as much as I did and if you can, I highly recommend trying to look into slow productivity and find out if it would fit you.✨

I feel more people could use this and I don't believe the world will fall apart, when this goes viral, spreading like a healthy virus.

TO BE CONVINUED...


FYI: I wasn't able to get a picture of robin, decided to not go for my hairy chest and instead added a picture of a rhinoceros beetle that I found dried out in the grass outside my house, yesterday morning. I put it on my garden table, dusted it off and immortalized it on the blockchain.

Sort:  

Slow productivity. I'm with you, life is way too fast paced for me. You day sounds very productive to me. xxxx

I knew you could relate :<)
🤗

I enjoyed my day as much as you did and that’s because I made so much sales in my shop today and I was really happy about it
This is my second all time high

Jealous of your balcony view! mine is just rusty roofing and an old factory haha

I am curious to find out if you get to live in the countryside, one day :<)

Very beautiful poem, wonderful writing. The clouds are floating in the infinite horizon

Thank you :<)

It’s a good activity day for me
I slept throughout and didn’t have much to do at all

It is definitely really a good activity