We went whitewater rafting through the New River Gorge in West Virginia

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


RaftingVideo.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

West Virginia is adventure 🏞

Many people where I live here in WV hate this place. I've learned to love it more the longer that I've been here. One of the best parts about this part of the USA is the abundance of nature and the many different things to do if you're a thrill-seeker.

Out of everything we have to do here, whitewater rafting is my favorite thing to do. We live about an hour from some of the best rafting rivers in the entire world. The New and Gauley Rivers. Both are sure to provide many rapids to experience, but also allow for a casual trip downstream at times.

I announced the other day in this video that @flowerbaby and I were very excited to finally get to do this together. I waited until Labor Day when they have a buy one get one free sale on the tickets. This allowed me to not feel too bad about spending $110 on photo and video footage. Even with that added cost, it was still far cheaper than the average full-day trip for two.

You may have already seen my post on Liketu from yesterday where I shared some of the best photos from our adventure. My goodness, we seriously had so much fun and I wouldn't change a thing about the trip. I even think that the rain was a good thing, although I'd like to go again when the weather is clear so Hannah can see what it's like.

I have saved the best content from this trip for today. I have an absolutely amazing video for you today. I've combined some of my usual walk and talk with loads of videos from our rafting trip on the New River with Adventures on the Gorge. There are also a few more photos that you haven't seen.

I've also added some of my favorite music that I've been listening to right now. If you aren't into it, just watch those parts of the video with the sound muted. If you are a fan of the music, here is some more information on that.


The songs used in today's video are all off of Meechy Darko's debut album "Gothic Luxury". Here is a list of the tracks in order of when they play in my video.

CURSED (feat. Kirk Knight & Vita)
LAVÏ$H HABiTS (Gothika)
Never Forgettin’
PRADA U
Never Forgettin’


Thanks to everyone who visits my blog often 👏

I wouldn't be able to get out and do awesome stuff like this without the support that you all give me. I hope to keep providing great content like this for many years to come.

Leave any comments you have down below. I will get back with every single one, as usual. I have a feeling many may have questions about what to expect from whitewater rafting. Perhaps you have already been before and know just how fun it is. If not, you will see exactly what I'm talking about in my video today.




Thanks.png

Profile Footer.png

My NFTs: https://inji.com/@daltono/nfts

Daltono Ocean God.jpg

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️My YouTube Channel 🎥Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: Daltono#5080


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Wow, man. The video was really as great as you said it was. It was really incredible to see you fighting the waves lol. At 14:37 your facial expression when you first surfaced was hilarious. You definitely didn't seem to be expecting that 😂.

Thanks, dude! I wouldn't hype it up like that without knowing for sure I was going to be correct 😉
I was definitely surprised during that 14:37 timestamp you mentioned. Felt like I got smacked in the face by mother nature herself. It basically felt like I was drowning to death, but somehow I enjoyed it knowing that I would recover a few moments later. Our guide was amazing and he knew that I wanted to get wrecked like that, so he did it and I can't thank him enough for being such a great guide for us.

I didn't know you meant to do that, man. Good to know you guys had a great time. It seems like a good experience, but I don't know, it seems a little risky to me. I'm not a good swimmer, so I'm hesitant.

That looked incredible. Glad you guys were able to still have fun even though it was raining. That bar area looked super nice and chill too, great-looking venue. That water was wild, like a natural roller coaster. It’s always great to get teamed up with good people in those kind of activities, looked like your group was all vibing and have a wicked good time. It also looked like an amazing workout, sitting in that raft while paddling must have been some good exercise. Awesome video!

I’m so glad I purchased that video otherwise I’d have been unable to describe how amazing it truly was. The rain made for a peaceful yet wet setting.

The bar area really makes you one with nature and everything was made from natural wood to exemplify what AotG is all about.

Very good workout indeed. Actually, the most difficult part was climbing back in the raft if you decided to get out or were thrown out by accident. It was the equivalent of climbing a rope, which luckily seems easy to me. Everybody else on the raft struggled to get back in and need lifted by another person.

Yeah I liked how that bar area was built so open, probably allows for a lot of nice fresh air and natural lighting. There's a part of your video where it looks like a different group had someone fall overboard and I can't imagine the struggle of pulling yourself or someone else back into a wet slippery boat out of such turbulent waters. Probably requires a ton of upper-body strength lol

If you're in decent shape, you can easily pull yourself back in like I did. Most people struggled though and it was funny to watch them wiggle as their friends hoisted them up. The water does get calm at times, but if someone falls out in the rapids, good luck to them.


~~~ embed:1567521649028653056 twitter metadata:QWRyaWFuUGFwYXZhfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL0FkcmlhblBhcGF2YS9zdGF0dXMvMTU2NzUyMTY0OTAyODY1MzA1Nnw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @daltono, @acesontop ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You made a great and very informative video. Very cool. It will definitely be a reference for many people if they want to visit there.

I have heard that "you will come back there again". Your statement is very cool. It shows that you already have an emotional bond with the strong current there.

Thanks bro! I tried my best to make this worth watching for people besides friends and family. This should be informative enough to encourage somebody to try whitewater rafting.

I will definitely go rafting again at some point. Maybe not until next year though.

If many do not like such a fun adventure, they are missing out on something extraordinary. As for me, I thoroughly enjoyed such a splendid occasion. Huy and the boat ride, on that mighty river was strong but very fun. Dear, it is a golden publication, that is why I consider that you will have many visits. successes.

You are correct, ignoring the option to whitewater raft like this would be a huge missed opportunity. Thank you for leaving such a positive comment.

We will always be visiting each other on Hive. You celebrated your great adventure very well. Greetings from Venezuela.

Hahah damn that looks like it was an awesome time dude! It was funny how he kept steering you guys into the rapid there to just get sloshed around and wet. Crazy that the water was 80 degrees, it looked a lot colder than that LOL. Will definitely make a note to go WWR in WV for sure!

He wanted to make sure that we had the best experience out of everyone there and that he did. The river felt like warm bath water, it was great.

Wow what a lovely adventure to experience and thanks for sharing @daltono

A video like this is about as close as you can get to the real thing. Thanks for watching!

that is the best part of living in nature to be able to do incredible things such as Rafting and some others of course. Just enjoy the video

As isolated as the location is where I live, it is nice to be nearby to spectacular points in nature such as the New River. Living in a big city with a fancy airport would be convenient for travel, but being so far from the best parts of nature would be less than ideal.

It depends on what you are looking for. For example, I really like nature and not so much how noisy and stressful life is in big cities. Everything has its negative and positive side

This is so amazing and it is kind of adventure am looking forward to. Thanks for sharing @daltono and have a wonderful day

It was even better than it looks in the video and photos. I thank you for watching and encourage you to seek out your own whitewater rafting trip sometime.

You welcome

congratulations @daltono we hope to see soon other videos with new outdoor adventures

I hope to get to do many more exciting things like this. I will always be sharing my memories here, you can count on that.

I am way to anxious for something like this 😂

There were a lot of anxiety-ridden people there that somehow managed to muster up the courage to do it. I noticed that most of them calmed down after the first bit of rapids once they realized they most likely wouldn't be dying that day.

I will really love to experience this some day

I hope that you can experience something like this at some point in your life. It is such a thrilling thing to push (I mean paddle) through.

Whooohooo!!! I've seen the photos, but the video, and you're telling your experience was more excited. Congrats man, this is a really great experience.

Thanks, my friend. The photos were great, but this video certainly tops them in terms of the viewer's perspective.

There was another boat recording yours or it was a drone?

It was a guying in a kayak who recorded. He would get ahead of us and then get out and get up on massive rocks. Then he would hurry back into his kayak and have to catch up and then get in front of us once again. He was working really hard.

Wow, so professional. And risky.

This is an exciting adventure my friend

It was one of the most exciting things that I have ever experienced in life.

Oh man thats crazy your guide tried to waterboard you "surfing" lol.

I have not gone rafting, just kayaking on mostly calm waters though windy which sucked. But have also had a good time on canoes going down the Chattahoochee.

Glad you two had a great time.

He was the best!

You have gotta try something like this out. I enjoy kayaking, but rafting is a whole other level of exciting. Advanced rafters are known to transition into kayaking the whitewater too.

Hope to see you in next post and waiting your outdoor adventure post.

Many more adventures to come. Thanks for the follow.

and

SPLASH!!

awesome music for the intro!

Matt looks like a real cool guy! and that was 1 big ass bar!

uh oh., that jogger guy was like..

Nice guy for sure and the bar was totally massive.

Ludacris is one of my favorite rappers of all time. His sense of humor is a great combo with his flow.

image.png

image.png

image.png

and dont forget his acting skillz.. 😜🤩💪😎

🤣 the part when i got it full blast in the face for like 30 secs!

Quite a great adventure It is really here

Congratulations @daltono! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 19000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 19500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ in Amsterdam is next week. Attend and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

The New River area in West Virginia I see in the video is beautiful. A place worth visiting please return carefully sir @daltono

It truly is such a gorgeous area. There is so much to do outdoors in nature in Fayetteville and the surrounding areas. It is no wonder that the New River Gorge was officially made a national park recently.

Sir, can we go there for a trip? Is it open to everyone?

Yes, everyone is welcome, even children. You can find out more information at https://adventuresonthegorge.com/.

I just did a quick search and it seems you have whitewater rafting options in Malaysia. Check https://malaysia-whitewater-rafting.com/ for some info about that.