NeedleWorkMonday - Amigurumi Doll Process

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago (edited)

00A6C26AF7484453B02B6EB53F849714.jpeg


Hey NeedleWorkMonday Family! It’s been awhile since I did a needlework post. Guess what? This isn’t my work so technically it will still be a little longer before I update what I’m working on. 😁

Let me tell you a funny story. My SIL (sister in law in case you didn’t know 😉) sends me a snap shot of what she was working on. It was an amigurumi leg. I got so excited because she has never attempted this style of crochet before. She is a great crocheter but this was something new for her. So while on the phone I said,

Oh my gosh you are making an amigurumi doll?!!

She says,

An amiguru-mi who?

🤣🤣🤣

I said,

Amigurumi, it’s basically 3D crochet.

She says,

Oh stop making up words again, there’s no such thing!

🤣🤣🤣

So finally she researched and realized I was telling the truth and she couldn’t believe what she was doing was called Amigurumi...what a fancy name!

So here we are now, seeing the process of her work. She is a really good designer and comes up with her own crochet work. She prefers it this way over reading a pattern. Thus, the video at the end is the source of this pattern she followed. She’s one of those visual experts. If she can see it she can do it! I’ve always challenged her to learn crochet terms so she can easily recognize them when following a pattern or video. Till this day she still claims I make up half of what I tell her. 🙄😅

This doll belongs to my niece that just turned nine last weekend. She wanted the hair to have spunky colors which I think is really bold and fun.

Below I have edited the process images in a desaturated color so that each photo would have the same tones for easier viewing.

Process

Starting the foot

218996A35D314886AC63140FEF6B646A.jpeg


First foot and leg complete

69D984187AC64838BDA5A63C56B515E7.jpeg


Second foot and leg complete

2EAFEBC9AB3D444AAA9D029D3065B95B.jpeg


The mid-body section

6A242B54675C4FC89A55526A969B4A68.jpeg


Finishing the mid-body section

7D1DE9FF69E54025ABD35F91E5861C5D.jpeg


Head attached

7E9FAA009DC3430382462F67D8AE6C90.jpeg


Crocheting the hair on

This is really neat to me because my SIL installs braids for people so she used the same method of weaving with the crochet hook.

725C6A8AED2B44879D535FB44C232036.jpeg


Hair shots

EF3C57094EB748D1B01D84A64B0FB282.jpeg

4D2C4F31114C4AE6BC70551485F90030.jpeg

BA0DB0ECBD984DF5B238C1C1EC6A4962.jpeg


Here she is relaxing and waiting for her facial features. 😄

019D773C421543D792C3C3F44A8D176A.jpeg


There are many times when I mix two or more patterns together to get an end result that I am pleased with. This is the case for this doll. My SIL is going to use a different method than the one shown in this video to make her facial features. I’ll be sure to come back and show you the final results!

Oh I almost forgot to mention, she designed this adorable dress for the doll! 🤩

video source


For more information on the NeedleWorkMonday Community please visit our FAQs!

Please take note of our updated posting guidelines.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg


NeedleWorkMonday Founder: ### @crosheille

Administrators:

@muscara

@shanibeer

@marblely


Our Motto: Support & Inspire!


Thanks for Viewing :)

Sort:  

This is extremely elegant and amazing.. I love the doll but it will be scary to get for my little niece as a surprise...

Personally i love it.

Thank you so much for your nice feedback! Yes, I can imagine depending on the child’s age any doll could be intimidating. 😄

OMG I want mine🤭

Hee hee! 😁

Hehe, when I was learning crochet Symbols in 2008, and I was telling my grandma info about the terms, she was so excited and she thought that I was some kind of genius to find those stuff! As for the doll, I adore the colours of the hair and the dress as well! Also, I am looking forward to your updated needlework Post :)

Lol that's so funny! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting ~ 😊

 4 years ago  

It's almost ready and it's very cute! I already want to see her face.

Thanks so much for the compliment! My SIL was very pleased to know others enjoyed it!! Looking forward to sharing the final results! 😃

This is sooooooo cool! I've been looking at dolls like this one on twitter and here you are with one. I love it 💓😍, excellent work!!!

Oh wow that's so awesome! So glad you stopped by to see it! Thank you so much for the feedback. This really helps my SIL ;D

Congratulations @crosheille! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Congratulations @crosheille! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
 4 years ago  

Love the doll and especially the hair!!! But sour sil... she needs to have more crochet faith in your 😂😂 As if you would make up terms (Hmmm. Perhaps you should make up terms, just for fun 🤪). I am amazed that she simply works without a pattern, for amigurumi this would be too complicated for me. I am sure I would forget to write down what I did and the doll would end with two different legs or arms.

I'm so glad you like it! I said I've gotta share this spunky doll! Haha ya know what, maybe I should make them up. 🤣 So funny! She followed along with the video this round. I wouldn’t be surprised if she’ll soon be making up her own pattern though ;D

Thanks so much for sharing some feedback ~

A funny story! But you are so really good... I love it! I can sell it here after. Hahaha... I hope I can focus to make something like that. LOL

Thank you so much, my SIL will appreciate your kind remarks. I'm sure you could do it too if you focused and took your time ;)

 4 years ago  

Haha.. what a cute conversation you two had about the amiguru mi who? I couldn't stop laughing when she said to you not to make up words again haha.
The doll is really cool. I love the last pose of her waiting for her "facial" features to be done. Her hair is very funky like Halloween. I can't wait to see her features! The hair itself is quite some work, isn't it?

 4 years ago  

That was so hilarious! But seriously, your SIL has the gift! I have patterns right in front of me and my ami would oftentimes still look funny. She's definitely the "Amiguru mi who" master!

Lol! I thought it was funny too. Haha you’re not the only one. I’ve made a couple and had to keep restuffing to make some sense out of it. 😂 Definitely a craft you have to get use to.

Thanks so much for stopping by ~