Another Day, Another Knitway

D68EC87D-B90D-4884-A3F2-8320FE34B3A3.jpeg

I have advanced in my knitting career into being obsessed with making myself all my dream sweaters, which is a neverending list. Every week I find a new pattern I want to execute.

First I made a few Icelandic style swetears, then I made a rib dress and now finally a more delicate sweater. This pattern is by Knitting for Olive and it’s called the Olive Turtleneck, though mine is not really a proper turtleneck because I wanted to do a folded neck that is not too high.

I chose my current favourite yarn/yarn combo for this; 100% merino called Sunday, held together with two strands of Tynn Silk Mohair, both by Sandnes Garn.

I had some trouble with the pattern and needle choice at first, but when I solved those issues it was a pleasure to knit this. I ended up using more yarn than what the original pattern called for because I used smaller needles, and I’m happy with that decision.

I rushed to finish this sweater and just tucked in the ends to take these pictures in the beautiful light that was present. Still need to weave in the ends, which I hate doing, and then wash and block. In reality I will probably wear it a few times and then wash it.

It took two weeks to make this because I didn’t have time to knit every day, which my obsessed serotonin driven brain would have liked to do. But two weeks really is not long at all, at least my wallet thinks so because it often needs to open again when I finish another knitted piece. I think I need to do something small and use yarn I already have before embarking on another big big project that I am planning on and that requires a lot of real nice yarn.

4C931A98-1E0E-4F99-9637-5CF8EF054EF1.jpeg

8523AFBD-3EC4-4D6A-A77C-C9EF7BE8FAE9.jpeg

87A0BF71-6E5B-43A5-A321-23F1AAFAFE57.jpeg

1799CA67-76F3-4473-9152-4D75C55614F1.jpeg

8278778D-1F72-4215-81F3-57FA06136D1A.jpeg

Sort:  

I’m with you on the neck part. I can’t wear regular turtlenecks like I used to…this height is ideal.

You should feel very accomplished, you knitted this sweater very well. Maybe an idea to use up the leftover yarn could be making boot cuffs to match all your beautiful sweaters ~

I like turtlenecks but it really depends on the style of the sweater weather or not it suits.

I would never wear bootcuffs, I’ opt for full wool socks but that again would require more yarn 😝

Never??!! 😳😮🤭🥺😄

I get it, everyone has their preference. I just think they are so cute and of course so much faster to make. I still plan to pick up my circular needles and practice my knitting. I will present a finished pair of socks one day to the community. 😆

What is the point of boor cuffs? I understand full on leg warmers but boot cuffs seem a bit frivolous.

I know you’ll get the hang of it one day and then you are completely hooked on making socks! I on the other hand need to pick up the crochet hook and make a new bathroom mat.

Boot cuffs make it easy to achieve the look of wearing a chunky knit sock without the added bulk (for people who don't like wearing long socks or get too hot doing so) and it saves time and yarn. I suggested them because you stated you should do something small and use the yarn you already have. So if someone likes the look of long knit socks and doesn’t have enough time or material these would be an ideal shortcut. 😉

Haha thanks! I really hope so. I saw you mentioned it took you years and years of practice…that’s a bit intimidating to me since I’m already 40. 😬😟 That means I won’t be a great knitter until I’m 65 or so. 😒

A crocheted mat sounds cool. How often do you crochet? That’s my go to needle craft as I have been crocheting for almost 12 years now.

Well it didn’t take me 20 years to learn how to make a decent pair of wool socks 😁 Basics of knitting plus a few tries on the socks and you’ll be golden. When you get the basic model down, it’s so easy to do different kind of socks without even changing much. I am biased but I would advice to learn the continental knitting way with closed hand, less chance of dropping needles and it’s suuuper fast when you get the hang of it.

Haha I knew crochet is your thing, right from the name already 😂 I rarely crochet and when I do is something really basic. I have made many a granny squares in my life but the crochet look is a bit too hippie for me usually. I do like crochet for interior textile stuff though.

Lol I think I was jumping ahead to the sweaters. Surely you’re right and it won’t take me 20 years to learn to knit socks either. 😄

It’s funny you mentioned that because @marblely posted about learning the Continental style and because she is normally a crocheter she is liking that way much better than the English style. I’ve bookmarked the videos she posted to have a look.

Honestly, the reason I stopped practicing my knit and purl was from discouragement of dropping so many stitches. In crochet it’s so much easier fixing a mistake but when you don’t know what you’re doing in knitting, it’s so much harder figuring out how to pick them back up. Me and frogging are best friends when it comes to knitting.

Lol, yep I’m a crochet addict! 😂

I get what you mean about the hippie look which is why I’m very picky on what I choose to crochet. 😁

That's a fantastic sweater. I guarantee it'll always look better on you than Galen!!!!

How many more sweater comments from @galenkp before some of the spambots start flagging him 😂

Let's find out.

#sweater

If the spambots ever start flagging @galenkp, he'll go Viking on their asses in at least 39 different ways.

☠️ ☠️ ☠️

Lol, probably.

Message from @dobranoc: nice one, just try to do sweaters bottom-up.
Making it top-down causes serious problems with creating a proper neckline (thus folds, etc.)

(or whatever all that means ;-) )

Hugs.

Say hi back! 🤗 I am not experiensed enough with sweater knitting yet to have known that neckline problems could be caused by doing the sweater from top down, thanks! I definitely prefer the bottom-up patterns, just makes much more sense especially with the sleeves. It’s such a hassle to knit the sleeves last but I also don’t wanna do them before the body is finished.

So, she just told me a lot and it's way above my language skills to translate :-)
You just need to talk on the next HiveFest. Bring your needles ;-)
(Do you have an account on Raverly?) By the way, that's a platform that would be perfect to run on Hive...

I only use raverly to buy patterns sometimes, but if she has an active account where I can see what projects she’s got going on, drop me the link :)

Raverly would totally work on Hive, it’s already got that ugly look so no downgrade there 😂😝

She's @dobranoc here and there as well :-)

And yes, we agree on UI/UX :-)

Oh, she is very diligent in taking notes and cataloguing her works, nice. We have different taste but I can see she is very talented and has a great handwriting (doesn’t translate well to English) in knitting.

I am inspired to make a simple colourblock t-shirt now though after seeing hers.

two weeks to make this, that's an accomplishment and a half. It's beautiful, love the choice of wool.

Thanks, I am a pretty fast knitter and I always want to finish a piece real fast so I can start a new one again 😝

What a lovely sweater! So light and airy. Bravo!

But not too airy so it’s still providing warmth :)

I love it. I wish I could be like yours so that I can knit whatever I want (^_^), greetings from the Philippines!

All is needed is years and years of practising knitting 😝

You have done a great job friend, truly admired with this great gift that you have been given, this fabric is very beautiful ....

You have done a great job friend, truly admired with this great gift that you have been given, this fabric is very beautiful ....

Oh, that one goes a bit see through in the light. A bit risque but that's ok, I'll rock it. Can I have it in blue also?

Works great with a dark lacey bra, give a little hint of something naughty underneath the library lady sweater.

Your fans are awaiting that photo shoot 😀

Of me or Galen wearing the sweater with a bra showing? 😂😝

Both! Seems fair? 😇

Well aren’t you greedy!

Beautiful thanks for sharing and looks so beautiful on you 😊

Beautiful work! I am obsessed with sweater knitting right now as well :)

Thank you! What’s your go-to yarn for sweaters right now?

Can't say that I have a go to. Right now, I am working with a 70% Merino, 20% Alpaca and 10% Silk blend. The last one I finished a couple of weeks ago was 100% English wool.
I have one in the works as well from 100 % Peruvian wool, planning on a bulky Merino after that, and am looking for a linen/cotton/Wool/Bamboo blend for a summer top 🤪