You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another Day, Another Knitway

What is the point of boor cuffs? I understand full on leg warmers but boot cuffs seem a bit frivolous.

I know you’ll get the hang of it one day and then you are completely hooked on making socks! I on the other hand need to pick up the crochet hook and make a new bathroom mat.

Sort:  

Boot cuffs make it easy to achieve the look of wearing a chunky knit sock without the added bulk (for people who don't like wearing long socks or get too hot doing so) and it saves time and yarn. I suggested them because you stated you should do something small and use the yarn you already have. So if someone likes the look of long knit socks and doesn’t have enough time or material these would be an ideal shortcut. 😉

Haha thanks! I really hope so. I saw you mentioned it took you years and years of practice…that’s a bit intimidating to me since I’m already 40. 😬😟 That means I won’t be a great knitter until I’m 65 or so. 😒

A crocheted mat sounds cool. How often do you crochet? That’s my go to needle craft as I have been crocheting for almost 12 years now.

Well it didn’t take me 20 years to learn how to make a decent pair of wool socks 😁 Basics of knitting plus a few tries on the socks and you’ll be golden. When you get the basic model down, it’s so easy to do different kind of socks without even changing much. I am biased but I would advice to learn the continental knitting way with closed hand, less chance of dropping needles and it’s suuuper fast when you get the hang of it.

Haha I knew crochet is your thing, right from the name already 😂 I rarely crochet and when I do is something really basic. I have made many a granny squares in my life but the crochet look is a bit too hippie for me usually. I do like crochet for interior textile stuff though.

Lol I think I was jumping ahead to the sweaters. Surely you’re right and it won’t take me 20 years to learn to knit socks either. 😄

It’s funny you mentioned that because @marblely posted about learning the Continental style and because she is normally a crocheter she is liking that way much better than the English style. I’ve bookmarked the videos she posted to have a look.

Honestly, the reason I stopped practicing my knit and purl was from discouragement of dropping so many stitches. In crochet it’s so much easier fixing a mistake but when you don’t know what you’re doing in knitting, it’s so much harder figuring out how to pick them back up. Me and frogging are best friends when it comes to knitting.

Lol, yep I’m a crochet addict! 😂

I get what you mean about the hippie look which is why I’m very picky on what I choose to crochet. 😁

Helping out remotely in handcrafts is quite hard but I like to try. If you drop stitches, a crochet hook is actually your best friend in recovering them without having to frog at all, you basically crochet your way back up with the stitch, row by row. While you are just getting your hands used to their weird new position, it might help if you use a coarse yarn, like an Icelandic wool, so if and when you drop stitched, your work won’t unravel as easily because the yarn grabs onto itself.

I just saw this crochet book while browsing https://lainemagazine.com/shop/molla-mills-crochet-crush and even I’m tempted!

These are great tips and I’m sure they will be very helpful to me. Thank you, I’m grateful for any tips that will help me improve.

Oooh la la!! 😍 I think I’m due for a new bag anyway! 😁