Sewing Pleather and Lace

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

This weekend was sewing time for a girl's night out dress for my youngest daughter and a mother-of-the-bride dress for me. I am working with two of my favorite materials, leather (fake) and lace.

Pleather Mini Dress
First step was to cut out the lining and perfect the fit before cutting into the pleather fabric. Pleather is unforgiving of mistakes and a needle hole once made is forever--so any mistakes need to be made on the poly/cotton lining fabric. The white stitches seen in the picture are hand basting so my daughter could try on the lining. While hand stitching may seem slow, it is faster than making a mistake, and is easy to remove. It is also more comfortable to try on and is more accurate than pin fitting.

blkdressbasted.jpg

The neck facing is made of lining fabric. I fused it to the interfacing, then pinked the edges.

neckfacing.jpg

Since the lining fit, I then cut out the pleather dress pieces. After doing some research, it seemed the consensus among dressmakers was to use a jeans needle in the machine (jeans needles are sharp enough to penetrate the vinyl coating of the faux leather) and a relatively long stitch length (3mm) to minimize holes while still making a strong seam. A roller foot is used to help the fabric feed evenly under the needle.

machinepleather.jpg

I will reveal more of this dress later as I speed toward the finish line!

Lace
For my gown, I have a dove grey stretch lace fabric. Again, I cut the bodice first from lining fabric and hand basted it together for a trial fitting. I then removed the basting and decided to use the lining pieces as an underlining instead of a lining. What is the difference? An underlining is basted to the fashion (outer) fabric and the two layers are treated as one, while a lining is constructed separately from the garment and attached only at some points such as the neckline. By using an underlining, the lace will be more stable and easier to handle. Here are some pieces of the lace basted to the underlining:

laceunderlining.jpg

I am leaving the sleeves unlined, however. For the sleeve seam. I used a double-stitched seam. Lace doesn't ravel, so this is a less bulky alternative to a French seam.

dblstitchseam.jpg

The taffeta skirt is cut out, but I have not begun sewing it yet. Again, I will update as my work progresses.

Happy Needlework Monday!

Sort:  

I am looking forward to the finished result. it will be something great!

I hope so!

Well first let me say Congratulations to your daughter for her engagement and upcoming wedding! How exciting!

I would be so nervous to work with pleather because it is so unforgiving as you mentioned. Thank you for sharing this fun and important project with us. I’m looking forward to seeing the progression and how that pretty lace will couple with the pleather :D

After I finish the lace dress and the pleather dress, I will create a dress using both. The mini dress is a "test drive" to see how the pleather works in actual sewing and wearing. Years ago when I worked for Macy's I remember stocking some pleather skirts and loving them--but not sure if I wanted to try sewing that fabric. Now I am old and fear nothing- Ha!Ha! The worst that can happen is I ruin some fabric and have to recycle it into doll clothes or something.

Oh I see now, very smart to do a tester first ;)

Hahaha that was funny, you have no fear! 😄

That’s a good point, you can ways use/recycle the fabric into something else. Let’s just hope it does not get ruined and you can pull this off. I believe in you!!! You can do it!! 😉😘

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Thank you!

Hello @fiberfrau! Your post was selected by our staff on behalf of the OCD Community Incubation Program and has received an OCD upvote! Congratulations!!! Please keep sharing these quality posts :)

Written by @crosheille for the NeedleWorkMonday Community ~

Thank you!

Am always a big fun of female clothing because they're always attractive ☺

Lots of fun mixing different fabrics. Thanks for commenting. !BBH

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

 3 years ago  

Wow, this looks like a lot of work and I am curious how both of the outfits will look when finished. I used the fake leather two times so far (one fo a skirt and one for a simple open front jacket) and surprisingly I also found it nice to work with. I would have anticipated that it is harder to use... And with the basting, I normally do this with the machine with a super wide stitch and without locking the ends. Is there a reason why you do it from hand?

When I think I will need to remove the basting, I do it by hand--much easier to remove than machine basting. Also, I can hand baste anywhere. I machine baste on big items, though.

I use hand basting on curved seams, slippery fabrics, or small tricky spots where I need accuracy. !BBH

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Congratulations @fiberfrau! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!