Upcycling on the road.

Cutting your clothes apart, or why simple doesn’t have to be boring and complicated isn’t necessarily the best.

The simplest way to upcycle anything is really just to chop off a part of the garment you don’t like.

Long trousers into shorts. Just cut off the legs as short as you want them. That’s it, you upcycled some trousers.

Same with T-shirts, crop them, widen the neckline, shorten the arms.

As long as you want to take a part of it can be quite simple.

Readjusting or adding is more difficult. And completely changing is probably the most challenging.

How I felt about a long time towards upcycling clothes, was, that I absolutely didn’t want to be able to recognize the original garment in the upcycling piece.
In that matter, if I made a blouse out of a men shirt, I didn’t want them to be visible anymore, the details that remind you of the shirt.

That approach mainly came from me being feed up with all sorts of patchwork-upcycling. I didn’t want to create anything patchwork related. Because, and I still do think, that upcycling doesn’t have to look as such. Upcycling can be chic or elegant and doesn’t have to be limited to any Style or conviction.

I still enjoy this approach.

In the meantime, I did also learn to appreciate many other forms of upcycling. Ways where you can tell which original garment was used. Or ways that are just very simple.

Because sometimes all you need is a pair of shorts. Therefore chopping of the legs of some trousers is all it takes to create what you need.

“Simple” is a great source of inspiration to me and has always been.

How should I expect myself to keep on sewing complex dresses and outfits, while I am on the road, with no proper atelier to work in? I am asking myself this question since last week, at least.

Copping the garments apart…

…is my first bet.

But how could I secure the edges? What details could I add? What could I create from the little scraps that are left?

I wanted to chop of those leggings and turn them into a two piece. Until I realized that they actually fit me perfectly as they are. My other leggings had to go in the bin due to too many holes.
Shame because I was really looking forward to work with this material.

The body.

I copped the lower part of.

And wanted to try out crocheting along the edges.

Which worked rather well. Using a very thin crochet needle.

Just piercing the fabric.

That was thin enough for that purpose.

Luckily.

Complicated or simple, in the end the upcycling project is really about finding solutions and new ways to work it out. Weather it is figuring out how to cut that you’ll still have enough fabric left for the rest, how to hide away the key points of the old garment or figuring out how to keep sewing and upcycling while traveling.

I am still doing the same thing, but different... figuring out how to alter pieces of clothing while considering limitations.

Thank you all for stopping by it is much appreciated!! Have a lovely week!

All photos and word are my own taken and written by me in the past week.

Sort:  

The simplest way to upcycle anything is really just to chop off a part of the garment you don’t like.

As I read this, I thought you were going to say “chop off a part you like” and was going to agree but it turned out it’s the opposite of how I am looking at the garment I’m chopping. I think of what I want, then cut that part out.

that upcycling doesn’t have to look as such.

I agree. I’m not fond of the patchwork approach.

Wonderful photos as always. I especially like the b&w photo of you, the angle it was shot.

Aha! I like that approach too (chop off what I like), I should try it next time! :)

Thank you, as always, really appreciate hearing that from you!!

(😊 I was running back and forth trying not to make it all fall into the river(me and the phone, lol) at least is was worth it)

I like your way too. I like seeing things from as many different perspectives as I can. I'm going to try your way next time. 😁

Thank you, as always, really appreciate hearing that from you!!

You're welcome! It's always a pleasure to read your posts, see your creativity in your photos and words, hear about what you're doing, and to chat with you. All the things I look for on Hive wrapped up together.

(😊 I was running back and forth trying not to make it all fall into the river(me and the phone, lol) at least is was worth it)

After I left you a comment, I started wondering how you took that shot. Now I know what pain you went through to get it. Definitely it was worth it.

I was actually thinking about it some more...
...and I think I will adapt your way, I am maybe too often knowing what I don't want, instead of taking/knowing what I do want. (same result but different approach)
...so that is me reflecting my life through sewing😅

💛💛💛Yes!!

That's so funny! Maybe like this...
We each try the other ways and then we can talk about what it was like. 😄

Really, they are the same, two sides of the same coin and it's a matter of what you want to see while standing on the coin edge, as it rolls, while not losing your balance. 😂

...so that is me reflecting my life through sewing😅

I love that.

!heartdropyellow

Heartdrop_Yellow.jpg

Well done. Enjoy your new top. !BBH

@kesityu.fashion! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (1/5)

Excellent idea of the woven design on the edge of the blouse, happy day.

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it:)

How many times only my mother tried to teach me how to crochet, she is a master and a big fan, obviously I didn't get that gene of hers 🤪 so I will just continue to admire the stitch

Aah I admire anyone who masters that skill!
I am good enough for simple stitches, but anything to complex or big isn't compatible with my patience😅

It requires nerves ineed, that was my problem also, I suppose...😏

Nicely done! I love upcycling clothes. I hate tight necklines, so I'm always widening those. Also a big fan of turning jeans into shorts. Any other ideas for old jeans, btw? Would love some input from a pro :)

Thank you:))
Ooh I think jeans are a whole upcycling subject for themself (I have to admit I don't do that much of it) but I have seen one girl on youtube do this (the throusers):
Screenshot 2023-02-18 at 18.38.01.png
...which is my absolute favourite jeans upcycle I have come across, so far!

That is so creative, I love it!!

Isn't it? She has lots of pretty cool ideas going on...

So inspiring and so practical too --hemming the cut off top with a crochet knit is just genius, totally gonna give this a try. Keep up the good work you do <3

Thank you!! Glad you got inspired:)
(thats really nice to hear)

Crocheting around edges is a great thing I take away from this post! Never thought of it for some reason, great idea! 🙏😊

That's good to hear😊
Yes it's quite an easy and nice way to keep creative while moving... I would be curious to see how it goes for you!