(very) Slow Fashion

How to keep up with sewing while traveling?

I left again, on a journey, cycling up and down the mountains, how should I find the space to sew?

I am searching for it.

While I carry the absolute minimum for all my belongings with me. I still found some (probably way too much) space for sewing gear in my bags and pockets.

How could I wander around this beautiful world without a pair of scissors, some threads and needles?

What I am trying to sort out now, is a way to keep up the sewing itself. How much material or fabric can I carry with me?

At least to that the answer, I have it, it is pretty simple; almost none.

Embroidery was my first idea.

I could choose one garment, that I will keep along the journey for sure, and start embroidering things onto it.

But will I really keep any piece for the whole trip?

My leggings already have wholes and need to be replaced, it gets warmer, and I might not need my hoodie anymore, very soon…

…my wardrobe isn’t a fix thing; it is constantly changing and adapting.

Too my own surprise I even took too little clothes with me. I guess because I was traumatized by the overly heavy bags of the first trip.

Two flea markets later I found the missing pieces. They aren’t perfect, they have flaws. Even better, because that’s what inspired me.

Upcycling and hand sewing.

Every time I read one of @clareartista s posts I get very inspired to start hand sewing again. When I am around my sewing machine, I never get to follow that impulse. Maybe I am still too lazy in the end, to do it by hand, if I have an easier option.
Now I have no choice.

The hand sewing plus me being very exhausted from cycling each evening is going to make this a very long process. This is going to be some very slow fashion.

At the same time, I want to focus more on the photography part of my work. Therefore, I am crossing all those beautiful places and sceneries, it would be a shame not to use my surroundings to my advantage.

I might not have an atelier with me, but the perfect lightning and backgrounds.

And what am I actually working on here?

A pair of leggings and a body.

The body was meant to be practical, but isn’t, so it should rather become a T-Shirt, with maybe some extras. I might try my embroidery skills on it. Or see what I could create out of the left-over fabric.

The leggings are my new cycling outfit to be and a statement against my choice for black colour. The trousers are basically ready. I just cut the leggings to the preferred length. With the leftovers I am planning some sort of crop-top, which I am not sure to have enough fabric left for.

Creating a new concept of very slow fashion on the road...

...this is going to be my project for the next days and weeks.

Thank you all for visiting, and have a wonderful week!

All photos and words are my own, written and taken by me in the last few days.

Sort:  

The pictures are xo amazing, i got hooked viewing fashion combinex with nature, and the natural lightening did justice🥰 to these photographs.

@clareartista also inspires me, it's been long I tried hand sewing,it's slow but helps especially when on a journey and you really need to get an inspired style done.

Oh, thanks for this mention also, dear @glorydee !! I love how we inspire each other to try a different pace in sewing, in particular: I got inspired by others in using the machine this week 😇😍 and am loving being able to move forward more efficiently on projects that have long hems, for example! Hehe! So glad that we encourage each other to slow down though: slowing down is one of the greatest natural medicines that we can heal with, and which is available to us all, right here right now.

😄

...the long hems is what I have a horror of, I guess I'll end up shaping any design until it has no more long hems at all😅

Talking about textile with nature, Alice Fox's works are my favorite fiberarts :)
https://www.instagram.com/p/Cht-4g0LZpg/

ooh, I just had a look at it, beautiful indeed!!! (thanks for the tip!!😊)

Thank you!!💕
Indeed it is awesome to have that sharing and inspiring each other to try out different ways...😊

I absolutely love the photography in your post. It really shows that you are paying more attention to it.
Slow fashion sounds like a better solution to our current situation in which everyday it seems new trends are created, thus new desire and hence more consumption. Deadly cycle.
In any case, enjoy the time away! (If that is the case.) Keep well!

It certainly seems like a better solution to me, at that stage I couldn't even see myself going back to "consume" the fast fashion. Meanwhile there are also many situations (that most people are in) where it is almost impossible to escape it.
Thank you! I did and do enjoy indeed, very excited to try out some more!
Have a great day!

That is the problem right? And what I see happening is that clothes are getting so expensive but the quality is going down. I bought some pants at a very good discount (I could never afford the original price) but they did not even last a year before they literally disintegrated on certain spots. I cannot fathom how people pay the original price for such bad quality.

It is madness indeed, especially when you thing that not that long ago clothes where worn over decades and actually lasted, or/and where repairable!
(I don't get it either why you would spend so much money on things that do not last)

I am so sorry for the long wait; I had a hectic couple of weeks.

Indeed, I cannot fathom the madness we are embedded in. Nothing really is repairable, and it seems like it will only get worse from here on. We constantly hear about big companies destroying fashion items and clothing rather than giving it away to the needy or even to those that can still use them, we hear about food being thrown away even if completely edible. It seems like we are headed into stranger times.

Indeed!!
And never mind the 'long wait' it's like that sometimes...:)

While I carry the absolute minimum for all my belongings with me. I still found some (probably way too much) space for sewing gear in my bags and pockets.

I can relate to this. I always packed my crochet materials with me whenever we visit my parents' house. Sometimes, they eat up more space than our necessary things like extra clothes. 😅

Anyway, your photography looks amazing. Nature is the best and perfect background. Your pictures look so good with the perfect lighting outside.

Enjoy your journey and hope to see some updates of your leggings and the body. 🥰

😂 Exactly!! (and anyone not into sewing is making fun of me...)
Thank you so much!!
...I am working on it🙃

Aaahhhh, I love this - even slower than usual - slow fashion post, dearest @kesityu.fashion - and it was a JOY to hear my mention in relation to hand-sewing! How funny, that the post I just shared had almost totally machine-sewn items, for the first time 😍😍 It's so good, isn't it, to keep being inspired to chop and change, adapt and try new things.
I adore seeing your sewing in situ, as I too have LOVED sewing on the go: I always pack a project or two for any long journey - and have very happy memories of sewing in airports and train stations, which makes waiting a whole lot more peaceful and harmonious. The purpose and focus of sewing in nature, is also VERY beautiful and peaceful. Sometimes I listen to podcasts, but lately have taken more time to hear the waterfall and bird sounds outside my magical home in the mystical medieval quarter I live in. That adds to my calm as I sew - especially, helping me not get overly-wound-up by the machine!
Much love in your ongoing travels dear friend - I love getting a glimpse of your journey xx

I am even amazed about all the inspiration and exchange, honestly I wouldn't have expected such a thing😊For sure!!
Yess and then it will forever remind you of that trip and the things you where living and thinking at the moment where you made it!! (probably one of my favourite part about slowly made things, it is also preserving memories:))
Podcasts are a cool thing too though, but at times hard to find the ones you really want or need to listen to in that moment (to me at least) ...but just silence is a favourite for sure😊
💜

YES @kesityu.fashion ! Weaving story, atmosphere and place into the garments... makes me think of the deep legends of spiders and women - of weaving and sewing as metaphor for our alchemical relationship with Life... and of our power to connect things, as we travel out into the world away from our homes....

Yes, too: I have a hunger for podcasts that I can only satiate by making them myself! 😇 I love the Freebirth Society show, and occasionally really like Crrow Radio 777 and The Survival Podcast - though the masculine shows tend to get really stuck in the labyrinth of the problem, rather than seeing that the Solutions are so simple and embodied... I speak more to the latter; to our creative process and how it relates to health, wealth and happiness.

I've been struggling to get a proper platform for The Art Of Life since I got removed from mainstream, but am still sort of between platforms - Aureal works okay sometimes, but not always.
I'm finding more interesting shows now that I have the Fountain podcasting App, but am going through a process to 'claim' my show there, and have not yet had success in doing so. I was thinking to write a post about podcasting and alternative podcasts and being censored etc - and to ask Hive folks if they recommend a particular podcast I could listen to... I highly recommend @vincentnijman 's Hypersensitivosaurus show, too!

Yes! I love this post and all the amazing photos and textures. I practice slow fashion and mending too -- and your post has truly inspired me to mend something today

Thank you!! Ahh this is beautiful to hear😊
...I just had a quick look, and just want to say your aesthetics are beautiful too, love it!!!

At least you can travel luggage free, piece of material and sewing tools = outfit!

You are still cycling?
Bucket list?:D

Hahah, yes😂
Yes, cycling again, I had a quick break...
...I think so yes, I always had this feeling when cycling in the city, that I would love to just keep going like this forever, I guess thats what I am trying out now😅

I look forward to seeing how your project will be. Initially I thought you embroider when I saw the photo of a bag full of embroidery threads. It's nice to see we can still enjoy needlework while traveling. I only did knitting while I was traveling but I must think about other options. Thank you for the great inspiration!

Well I took all those threads with me, so eventually I will probably do some embroidery:)
Aah I mean knitting is a great one for traveling, I am just not so much drawn to it..
And thank you, lovely to have you stopping by!!

Sure your post catches my eyes every Monday :) Enjoy traveling!

😊 Thats very nice to hear!! I will🙃