Escaping Captivity

in DREAM2 years ago

ef6592cb_e755_4bfc_ab77_f79cb833fbb2.jpeg
Final Dream Sketch

I spent the last three days taking my wife and kids to visit my grandma in New York. Last night I had a couple beers and wound up telling my grandma and wife more about my military experience than I typically share with anyone. I woke up around 0430 and remembered what seemed like hours of footage and plot line from this dream.

9ed6eca4_490e_49ac_a4db_7df48b63205e.jpeg
Sketch succession 1&2 of 5

I was held captive by some sort of para military group. They had a large compound. There was a man who acted as my handler. I remember him forcing me into an uncomfortable position with the tip of his knife to my back, there was something I was supposed to agree to do. I agreed but was planning my escape.

32231cc3_5065_4ca9_ac51_e12de99c0b79.jpeg
Sketch succession 3&4 of 5

I don’t remember how I got there, but I remember being just outside the walls of the compound, at the opening of what looked like a maze of sewage tunnels. I had an M4 carbine with me, and I stashed it in one of the tunnels. I used rebar and some other stuff lying around to fix the rifle up high in the pipe so it wouldn’t get wet.

1076209b_55aa_48b2_8e94_ee4afb4886e9.jpeg
Sketch succession 5 of 5

I have the strongest sense, I can remember so much more was there, but by the time I’d packed the car, driven back to Maryland, unpacked the car and gotten the kids to bed, this one scene was really all that was left of an amazing escape adventure.

One thing I remember from when I woke up at 0430, was that I was very excited to have had something along the lines of a nightmare. I always love to be terrified and attacked in my dreams - I feel like those dreams contain a wealth of information, and the fear/adrenaline helps make them more memorable…I say this after admitting that I forgot nearly everything.

img_1752.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @albuslucimus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 13
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!