I spent 10 hours putting together my new TV stand that I got for free from Wayfair

in Build-It2 years ago

TV Stand Thumbnail.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

So much harder than it should have been 🪛🔨

I keep getting blessed left and right, I have so much to be thankful for. My most recent play had me receiving a brand new TV stand to replace the 15-year-old TV stand that I've had since I was a teenager. All of this at absolutely no cost to me, it doesn't get much better than that. The only thing is, I had to put the TV stand together and that was no easy task. I'm happy to say that I completed the job, with some help from @flowerbaby and my dad. Let's talk more about this major upgrade that turned into a major workout/headache.

Right around the time that I got my PS5 about a year ago, I was also able to purchase a brand new 63in Sony TV to enable my 4K/120 FPS next-gen gaming experience. I was not able to purchase a new TV stand back then. I didn't consider it essential, despite the fact that the stand I had was missing some pieces and was almost the same age as my girlfriend.

My mom came through clutch again. She is partnered up with Wayfair thanks to their Tried & True program. She gets the opportunity to receive multiple items each month just to review them. She has been able to claim thousands of dollars worth of furniture. Lucky for me, she is a very giving human being and has gifted me multiple items that she was able to get for free. First was my computer chair. Then my new computer desk. Both of which go perfectly with my new iMac. She even got me a super high-quality gaming chair, which I somehow never wrote a post about. @flowerbaby even got a really nice makeup vanity for her place. As you can see, this list is starting to get long.

The only major catch here is that when you receive the items, you have to put them together by yourself. The assembly is often tedious and sometimes borderline impossible. I'm not a craftsman by any means, I've got a small toolbag and that's about it. Wayfair products are pretty much my only experience with the assembly of furniture pieces. I've managed to put together everything so far without major issues, but this TV stand was a major pain.

IMG_4256.JPG

The instruction manual was not very detailed, as you can see from the image I provided above. There were 26 steps to complete. This was the worst thing that I’ve had to build so far. All of the parts were jumbled together in one bag and it took me forever to separate them all. Most of the wooden pieces weren't labeled with numbers like the instructions said they would be. Somehow I was able to figure out what all was what still. Half of the holes for the screws weren't even drilled and I had to create the hole myself by just screwing the screws with force by way of a screwdriver until a hole was started.

That last part was my biggest issue. I can't tell you how sore my hands are today from screwing with all of my might. I didn't have a drill to use for most of this project. Eventually, I got to the point where I refused to keep working without a drill. I made a special trip to my parent's house just to borrow their drill. After getting that, everything became so much easier. I wish I had used the drill from the start of the build, I certainly learned my lesson there.

IMG_2809.JPG

Working with my hands like this made me realize just how underused they actually are. I do so much typing and gaming and so little hard labor. I go to the gym pretty much daily, but that only does so much. I feel soreness that I haven't felt in years because of this project. It's honestly such a satisfying feeling and I respect anybody who is a builder for a living. I give mad props to my mom for putting together all of the free items that she has received from Wayfair. She is both a beast and an angel!

Prepare for a laugh here. I'm about to lighten the mood in a big way. Just because building this TV stand took up pretty much my entire day, doesn't mean I didn't still have some fun. During the portion where @flowerbaby was assisting me (couldn't have done it without you baby), she caught one of my finest moments. I was bent over with a screw in my mouth and she started dying laughing because I had a hole in my underwear. She wondered how on earth I had not noticed the gentle breeze seeping into my lower region.

IMG_2811.JPG

I couldn't help but laugh as well. The image she captured of me will go down as one of my funniest photos ever. Plus we were near the end at this point, so we both were feeling pretty excited to call it a night. The impossible to miss the hole in my underwear was the cherry on top of a job well done.

Just look at how sexy this new TV stand is. It is a clean white with light-colored wood trim. It matches my computer desk quite well. It is a cool switch up from the dark black TV stand that I had for so long. My gaming area looks so much tidier now too, very satisfying to say the least. Everything is tucked away in cabinets and the drawer, rather than right there in plain sight looking messy. My PS5 is and TV feels right at home with one another.

IMG_4262.JPG

IMG_4263.JPG

IMG_4261.JPG

This new TV stand not only looks better, but it also increased my total space in my tiny little apartment. This was huge for me, it finally allowed me to rearrange some things. I only have so many options of where all of my stuff can go due to a lack of space. You may have seen that I recently purged my wardrobe, which also gave me a bit more room. The purge and new TV stand together have given my apartment the opportunity for a fresh layout. I actually have enough room for a couch now! I know my mom has her eyes on Wayfair for the perfect one. Hopefully, a retro-styled loveseat in my favorite color teal will come up at some point.

IMG_4286.JPG

IMG_4287.JPG

IMG_4288.JPG

IMG_4289.JPG

I think that Thursday night after finishing all of this was probably one of the most relaxing evenings in quite some time. Thursday was the hardest day of work that I have had since leaving my loathsome job with USPS. Even this terribly hard day was far more enjoyable than even the best day at my old job. I'm so thankful to have the time and energy to do things like this now.

IMG_4273.JPG

I followed up my new setup with a busy morning of cleaning on Friday. This place feels better than ever and I'm happier than I have been in years. Life is good and I am beyond thankful for the people and things that I am lucky enough to call mine.




Thanks.png

Profile Footer.png

https://opensea.io/daltono

https://punks.usehive.com/gallery/daltono

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️Delegate Hive Power 👏Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: Daltono#5080

Sort:  

Argh, I hate building flat pack furniture. 😅 My most 'fun' experience was building my son's bed. It was supposed to be a two-person job but using the wall to help me, I was able to do it all by myself! Only took an entire 8 hour period. xD

Nice hole, rofl. 🤣

8 hours omg, that is the type of pain I am trying to describe. You know how it feels. It took almost an entire day of work. The thing is, I'd do it again for another cool piece of furniture.

Looks great! Those instructions are hilarious, on Cyber Monday last year I had bought a drawer/stand that had that type of "useful" instructions and I swear I spent 3 hours on a 5' x 2.5' drawer. Embarrassing to say the least.

Although aside the embarrassment, doing projects like that are always the best, the feeling of accomplishment and that the item is working perfectly fine although a dumbass (at least in my case) had made it.

It's a bit worrisome when the instruction manual has me second-guessing my decisions constantly. I can't tell you how many times I did something one way, only to have to undo it because the manual didn't provide me a clear visual. No matter how long this took me, I'm still proud that I completed it. Building things is not one of my major strengths. There was a time where I would have never been able to figure this out. Bravo to you for getting that drawer/stand finished too.

Oh shit man, you got such a nice room, the TV fits perfectly.

hahah lmao the ball pic made my day, I love that you're not scared to put this there. I would do the same just for lolz

Nope, not afraid to provide laughter for the world in the least bit, even at my own expense. I didn't think anybody would get mad about it considering you really can't see anything. I knew the right people would understand what is going on there and get a chuckle out of my torn underwear. I refused to throw them out by the way.

haha I had a similar story with my old red sweatpants. it was even more serious cause it was visible, pants are not when u go out XD my mom beg me for like months to throw them out. But fuck it I loved those sweatpants.

We love what we love 🤪

lucky to get into that program and nice trickle down!😎

Truly. She had to purchase a lot to get that invite. Basically redid her entire house and then they let her in. Luckily she still has many more ideas and is able to make use of the free products. I think the main thing is you have to be consistent and timely. If you get one of the free products and do not write a proper review for it quick enough, then you are out and do not get a second chance.

Nice job on the TV stand! It looks good. I am happy that my husband likes to put stuff together. He recently bought me a desk that he put together for me too. If I were on my own I wouldn't buy stuff that has to be put together.

Putting stuff together is a major task. Making it a team effort seems to lessen the burden. It is hard work either way, which makes it that much better once you finally finish the job.

Working together on a project like that does make it an easier task! And very satisfying to see the finished product. Have a great day! 😀



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

I was not expecting that picture but I did welcome it.

You never know what is going to be within these blogs of mine. Glad I didn't scare you off with the real me.

The ripped underwear photo killed me man! ahahah

I was told not to share that photo, but there is no stopping me! It was far too hilarious not to include. Glad you got a laugh out of that.

You are a mad man!!

untitled.gif

I kept telling people "you can post literally anything on hive, and no one had the ability to censor you.."

And then I saw the back of your left nut, and regretted everything!!

untitled.gif

I know you dont.. smfh.... lol!

yeah, it was way too funny to keep to yourself lol

Nuts will be nuts 🥜

untitled.gif

Hahahaa! omg! so crazy. Congratulations on your new acquisition, I hope you enjoy it very much all those future hours and entertainment. It made my day.

Gotta find a way to have fun doing something torturous. I'm so glad to be finished with this project. I'm very pleased with our results.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Greetings, @Daltono!

Your incredible DIY/Hands-on projects were featured on our Home Improvement ideas Compilation article. We've sent some fractions of $hive and $buidl to your hive wallet. Hopefully, this little support will boost-strap your creative courage! Keep sharing your awesome DIY crafts and projects on our condenser and earn $buidl when you publish through our Tribe page or using the recommended tags #diy #build-it #buidl respectively!


Build-it is a DIY (do it yourself) and hands-on crafts content creation platform that leverages Hive Network for scalability, decentralization, and reward system. DIY'ers earn $BUIDL tokens when publishing their DIY and How-to tutorial/craft on our Tribe page or simply by using one of our tags: #build-it #buidl and #diy respectively. Keep up the creative spirit and keep adding value to the blockchain!


Want to invest in 'BUIDL' tokens?

Deposit Hives to your TribalDex and purchase the token. The ticker is 'BUIDL', or click the quick links below

==> TribalDex

Connect with us on our friendly socials:

Let's build together at Build-it!

Build-it line divider 2.gif

Hi there! This was an enjoyable read. Gosh, the pain of these instruction manuals of furniture and no holes drilled brings back some memories on my part, been there done that! At the time I was with a boyfriend that didn't even have a drill so it was all manual labour, what a pain!

I have to say that the desk looks awesome and is indeed a true improvement for the neatness of the space, so much calmer. Enjoy the fruits of you labour :)

ps that picture got me laughing so hard haha, you're just like my boyfriend, he'd have no shame in sharing that either :)