MY GREATEST REGRET (STORY) - [ENG/ESP]

in Writing Club2 years ago (edited)

Preface

Fictional story of a guy who had a life-changing business deal at the office to attend to, and at the same time, he was very much needed at home. He was faced with the dilemma of choosing whether to stay at home or go to the office and secure this one in a life time business deal.


pexels-photo-4100420.jpeg
source

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

"Baby please stay with me". These were her last words before I let go of her hands. I had told her about the emergency at the office, the money I would lose if I didn't go, and the connections I may lose also. I explained how this meant so much to me and the company, and how this contract if won would elevate our family status and standard. She had asked me to let the secretary fill-in for me but I declined. It was a big business and I wanted to handle it myself.

I whispered into her ears some sweet words in a bid to weaken her resolve, I told her that once I got to the office, I would transfer some money into her account so she could go give herself a treat, I even promised her a new car and a trip to a resort center at the end of the year but she was still unyielding, she still held strongly unto me, still insistent that she wouldn't let me go

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

That day, she was unusually clingy and babyish. She acted pettishly as she pleaded that I stayed back and spent the day with her. She tried all means she could think of to keep me home. she caressed my cheek with her cold soft palm, kissed me passionately and even hugged me tightly.


pexels-photo-4009368.jpeg
source

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Although she could feel the incessant vibration of the phone in my pocket as she hugged me, she still wouldn't let me take the call, She was just keen on having me skip work for the day and nothing I said could make her change her mind.
At some point her voice receded and her countenance changed. she now looked very gloomy and pitiful.

I was then tempted to forfeit the appointment at the office and yield to her demands, I was always heartbroken to see her in such mood. I felt her plight as that was the third time she had complained about how I was obsessed with work and how I wasn't giving her enough attention. I told her the last time about my plans for a perfect getaway for both of us but at a perfect and appropriate time and place. she had replied that there was no perfect time or place, she said our love would make the times and place perfect.


pexels-photo-4009379.jpeg
source

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

I just felt she really didn't understand what I had in mind for us because I sincerely had big plans for the getaway. I wanted to take her somewhere beautiful, somewhere luxurious and fascinating. I wanted to dazzle her. I just wanted the best for her but all that costs money and the money was what I was trying to make. My commitment to my job was for a better life for both of us, it was for the greater good.

I was faced with a dilemma, I really didn't know what decision to take. I thought of which was more important, the work and money or staying with my lover. Indeed they were both important but one had to go for the other. I decided I would go to work and secure this job, not because I love my job more than her but because I wanted more for us, I wanted to give her more of everything. I planned to close early from work and rush back to her.


pexels-photo-3754270_1.jpeg
source

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

I gently loosened her hands from my body, reassuring her that I was going to be back as soon as I was done with the emergency at work. Tears had risen to her eyes as she still tried to persuade me to stay back but my mind was made up. I felt I had taken the most rational decision. I felt if that was what it would take to secure a better future for us then it was worth it.

I then took my phone from my pocket, it had been my secretary calling all the while, when I took the call, she informed me that it was past time for the meeting and our clients were already seated and were waiting for me. I told her to keep them comfortable that I was on my way.
I dropped the call, pecked Elizabeth and then hurried off to work.


pexels-photo-7534794.jpeg
source

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

When I got to the office, I was told that the client had just left. I was informed by my secretary that he had come to inform us that his company no longer needed our service and so they had arranged for the meeting to formally inform us that they were calling off the business.

I was really devastated and full of regret. I became both sad and angry. Still in that sad mood I got an even more painful and devastating news. I immediately got a call and was informed that Elizabeth was knocked down by a vehicle on her way to the store and had died at the spot.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

I was utterly shocked and heartbroken, it seemed as if the world was crashing on me, my hands could no longer hold my phone and so it fell and shattered. I couldn't utter a word, tears began trickling down my cheek and I wept so bitterly, I felt like I had killed her and I still feel so. I still can't forgive myself.


pexels-photo-4101157.jpeg
source

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

I regret leaving the house that day. Just maybe if I hadn't left her, maybe if we had spent the day together, maybe she would still be alive. I just wish I could turn back the hands of time.


JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7ymzBFDMTahjBhpAFXEsBgHZ6DaEsCXGoctSAXy6r54Mgo3GBQEitWLSb4zWdXxoRsAdmPQZd44Ei1hK1FAT1nwbMikvCn (1).jpeg

Versión en español

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7ymzBFDMTahjBhpAFXEsBgHZ6DaEsCXGoctSAXy6r54Mgo3GBQEitWLSb4zWdXxoRsAdmPQZd44Ei1hK1FAT1nwbMikvCn (1).jpeg

Prefacio

Historia ficticia de un tipo que tenía que atender un negocio que le cambiaría la vida en la oficina y, al mismo tiempo, le hacía mucha falta en casa. Se enfrentó al dilema de elegir entre quedarse en casa o ir a la oficina y asegurar ese negocio único en la vida.


pexels-photo-4100420.jpeg
fuente

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEZf2o8BwGNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

"Nena por favor quédate conmigo". Estas fueron sus últimas palabras antes de que le soltara las manos. Le había hablado de la emergencia en la oficina, del dinero que perdería si no iba y de las conexiones que podría perder también. Le expliqué lo mucho que esto significaba para mí y para la empresa, y cómo este contrato, si se ganaba, elevaría el estatus y el nivel de nuestra familia. Me pidió que dejara que la secretaria me sustituyera, pero me negué. Era un gran negocio y quería manejarlo yo mismo.

Le susurré al oído algunas palabras dulces en un intento de debilitar su decisión, le dije que una vez que llegara a la oficina, le transferiría algo de dinero a su cuenta para que pudiera darse un capricho, incluso le prometí un coche nuevo y un viaje a un centro turístico a finales de año, pero seguía siendo inflexible, seguía aferrada a mí, seguía insistiendo en que no me dejaría ir

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEZf2o8BwGNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Ese día, ella estaba inusualmente pegajosa y aniñada. Actuó de forma mezquina mientras suplicaba que me quedara y pasara el día con ella. Intentó todos los medios que se le ocurrieron para que me quedara en casa. Acarició mi mejilla con su suave y fría palma, me besó apasionadamente e incluso me abrazó con fuerza.


pexels-photo-4009368.jpeg
fuente

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEZf2o8BwWGNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

A pesar de que podía sentir la incesante vibración del teléfono en mi bolsillo mientras me abrazaba, seguía sin dejarme coger la llamada.
En algún momento, su voz se apagó y su semblante cambió. Ahora tenía un aspecto muy sombrío y lamentable.

Me sentí entonces tentado a renunciar a la cita en la oficina y a ceder a sus exigencias, pues siempre se me rompía el corazón al verla de ese modo. Sentí su situación, ya que era la tercera vez que se quejaba de que yo estaba obsesionado con el trabajo y de que no le prestaba suficiente atención. La última vez le hablé de mis planes de una escapada perfecta para los dos, pero en un momento y lugar perfectos y apropiados. ella me había contestado que no había momento ni lugar perfectos, dijo que nuestro amor haría que los momentos y el lugar fueran perfectos.


pexels-photo-4009379.jpeg
fuente

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEZf2o8BwGNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Sentí que ella realmente no entendía lo que tenía en mente para nosotros porque sinceramente tenía grandes planes para la escapada. Quería llevarla a un lugar hermoso, un lugar lujoso y fascinante. Quería deslumbrarla. Sólo quería lo mejor para ella, pero todo eso cuesta dinero y el dinero era lo que yo pretendía. Mi compromiso con mi trabajo era por una vida mejor para ambos, era por un bien mayor.

Me encontraba ante un dilema, realmente no sabía qué decisión tomar. Pensé en qué era más importante, el trabajo y el dinero o seguir con mi amante. Efectivamente, ambos eran importantes, pero uno tenía que ir por el otro. Decidí que iría a trabajar y aseguraría este trabajo, no porque amara mi trabajo más que a ella sino porque quería más para nosotros, quería darle más de todo. Planeé cerrar temprano del trabajo y volver corriendo con ella.


pexels-photo-3754270_1.jpeg
fuente

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEZf2o8BwGNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Solté suavemente sus manos de mi cuerpo, asegurándole que iba a volver tan pronto como terminara con la emergencia en el trabajo. Se le llenaron los ojos de lágrimas mientras intentaba persuadirme de que me quedara, pero mi decisión estaba tomada. Sentí que había tomado la decisión más racional. Pensé que si eso era lo que se necesitaba para asegurar un futuro mejor para nosotros, entonces valía la pena.

Entonces saqué mi teléfono del bolsillo, había sido mi secretaria la que había llamado todo el tiempo, cuando cogí la llamada, me informó de que ya había pasado la hora de la reunión y nuestros clientes ya estaban sentados y me estaban esperando. Le dije que los mantuviera cómodos que yo estaba en camino.
Dejé la llamada, le di un picotazo a Elizabeth y luego me apresuré a ir al trabajo.


pexels-photo-7534794.jpeg
fuente

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEZf2o8BwGNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Cuando llegué a la oficina, me dijeron que el cliente acababa de salir. Mi secretaria me informó de que había venido a informarnos de que su empresa ya no necesitaba nuestro servicio y por eso habían concertado la reunión para informarnos formalmente de que cancelaban el negocio.

Me sentí realmente desolado y lleno de pesar. Me sentí triste y enfadado a la vez. Todavía en ese estado de ánimo triste recibí una noticia aún más dolorosa y devastadora. Inmediatamente recibí una llamada y me informaron de que Elizabeth había sido atropellada por un vehículo cuando se dirigía a la tienda y había muerto en el acto.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEZf2o8BwWGNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Me quedé totalmente impactada y con el corazón roto, parecía que el mundo se me venía encima, mis manos ya no podían sujetar mi teléfono y por eso se cayó y se hizo añicos. No pude pronunciar una palabra, las lágrimas empezaron a resbalar por mi mejilla y lloré con mucha amargura, sentí que la había matado y aún lo siento. Todavía no puedo perdonarme.


pexels-photo-4101157.jpeg
fuente

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEZf2o8BwGNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Me arrepiento de haber salido de casa ese día. Tal vez si no la hubiera dejado, tal vez si hubiéramos pasado el día juntos, tal vez todavía estaría viva. Ojalá pudiera hacer retroceder las manecillas del tiempo.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7ymzBFDMTahjBhpAFXEsBgHZ6DaEsCXGoctSAXy6r54Mgo3GBQEitWLSb4zWdXxoRsAdmPQZd44Ei1hK1FAT1nwbMikvCn (1).jpeg

Thank you so much for stopping by.
I hope you enjoyed the story and you learnt something too.

This story is an original story written by @luckydrums.

I also want to appreciate my role models @whispermystery and @franchalad. They are great writers and their works inspire me alot.

All images used are well sourced and are from free image sites

Sort:  

@luckydrums. I am really touched by your story, It is one of the most interesting stories I have read in a while.
There are quite a lot of lessons to be learnt from this. Firstly - money is not everything.
Secondly - we should put our family first before money and other things

If he had stayed with his Elizabeth, maybe he would have averted her death but instead he chose his work and money and at the end he lost everything.

I hope people learn from your story and know that some things like our loved ones and family should be put first before money.

Thank you so much. I really enjoyed reading this.

Congratulations @luckydrums! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Una historia triste y muy dura. Pero pienso que si las cosas van a pasar, nada de lo que hagamos cambiara el final.

Buen relato

Thanks for stopping by. I really appreciate

This was deep and intense..it went from zero to 100 and from 100 to zero again..Nature was not on his side...such a sad ending to what started well

Thanks for stopping by

Touching story... Most times we've got to let some things go just to be able to attain something important because what defines the importance of anything is the value they hold to us forever. Some things are just important for the now. They have no eternal value.

Awesome article sir..

Thank you for stopping by. I'm happy you got the message

Regret always comes when it's too late.