A Legendary Card and a 20,000 LEO Delegation!

in Splinterlands2 years ago

image.png

It’s a great way to end the last season with my last DF rewards receiving a chaos legion pack. As I opened it, there was a huge shaking. After more or less a year of playing Splinterlands, it was my first time receiving a legendary card as a reward. This time it’s Grum Flameblade, a fire monster with Bloodlust and Void Armor abilities at level 1.

image.png

The current market price of the card is $6.06. I was thinking of selling it and buying an earth monster instead. I am torn between Mitica Headhunter and Mushroom Seer.

image.png

My earth collection is weak. By buying these two cards, my earth deck will be strengthened. So far, I am satisfied with my fire, water, and life collections. I am still weak when it comes to dragon, death, neutral, and earth.

Mitica is very fast. Every time I play this card, it always has the first attack advantage due to its speed. This hunter also has Snare ability. He can capture and destroy a flying enemy without difficulty.

As for Mushroom Seer, its Silence ability makes magic enemies weak. Having Unicorn Mustang as the team’s tank, the magic enemies one attack can easily be canceled out by Mushroom Seer’s Silence and Unicorn Mustang’s Void abilities.

A Recollection of My Early Months

For almost a year of playing the game, the highest reward I received so far was an Epic Fire Monster. The card at that time was worth more than $100.00. Its lowest market price now is $4.08. That’s a huge decline of 95.92%.

image.png

And that’s why I hesitated to sell Grum Flameblade. It’s $6.06 now, higher than Lava Launcher. I was thinking that perhaps if there will be a bounce in card price months from now, Grum will be worth 10 times its current market price.

During my early months in playing Splinterlands, I sold cards that I thought were no longer necessary. I considered them excess and at that time I didn’t find much utility for them in the game. Later, I realized their usefulness and they become expensive. I am talking about Onyx Sentinel and Axemaster.

image.png

I sold at least three Onyx Sentinel and three Axemaster. After stumbling with Lord Arianthus, I realized that Onyx is a cheaper replacement, for the latter will have the Void ability at level 3.

image.png

Grateful for the Rewards

Receiving a legendary card on my last Daily Focus last season is more than enough consolation for me and not to mention the rewards I received as the season ended.

image.png

Yes, I agree with a couple of articles that I read so far that last season was difficult. It was difficult not only because of the noticeable decline in the USD value of the chests but also because of the struggle to increase the number of chests. Compared to the 23rd and 24th seasons, both my personal account and my family’s accounts received a higher number of DF chests and rewards as well as the EOS chests and rewards. Forty to fifty chests in the Bronze I League appear easy.

However, in the last season, increasing the number of chests was a struggle. When I observed such a change, I stopped doing DFs in the Bronze league and focused instead on just one account, my Silver III account.

As a result, I completed eight DFs during our 25th season. As for the Bronze I accounts of my family, all of them just completed one DF. The total USD value I received from the first seven DFs was just $0.26. Completing the eighth and last DF, the reward is $1.83. But as I mentioned earlier, when I opened the pack, Grum Flameblade appeared. And so, the total USD value of that last DF was more than $6.06. Surprisingly, the worth of that one Daily Focus is more than the value of the first seven DF chests plus the twenty-four EOS chests.

image.png

As I commented in @gadrian’s post, given the fact that earning rewards and increasing chests are getting more difficult, I think players have to learn to accept the reality of the random character of the rewards. I agree with him that no one knows the “next rewards might blow you away!”

An Extension of Orca Power

Though a different platform, a similar experience happened to me twice in LeoFinance as a result of participating in the #LPUD challenge. This is my second month winning that 20,000 LEO delegation. My Orca Power has just been extended for the next three weeks. The experience reminds me of an Old Testament text:

We may throw the dice, but the LORD determines how they fall (NLT, Proverbs 16:33).

If reading this article got you curious about Splinterlands and LeoFinance, why not check either this link or the "Get Started" tab in this link.

Grace and peace!

Sort:  

Grum is more of a niche card, but for the niches where it can be used successfully, it is really powerful. Personally, I'll max out mine (haven't already).

I now have two Grum. I forgot the time I bought the first one. I am also planning to upgrade it to level 3.

!CTP

Yep, level 3 is enough in most cases. That's where I have it now. Level 4 is more for an edge advantage, but it may not be justifiable economically to buy 5 more Grums. I just want those edge advantages. :)

No problem to max out to the fullest if there is an extra fund. 😆

Even with leveling up, I only do it if it is really necessary.

Thanks for sharing! - @yonilkar

Grum Flameblade I have never received one of those hahaha.

Well done on winning the Orca again! You had some good luck.

Thanks for the reminder of Mushroom Seerer
!! I need to add to my collection.

That's a very powerful Earth Monster! I never enter the battlefield without it.

I am also surprised that my extension joke happened. 💲🦈😆

!PGM

Mushroom Seer is a great counter to opponent Summoners whose Ability is adding to their team's Magic Attack (such as Alric Stormbringer, Delwyn Dragonscale, and the fairly new Obsidian). 🤓

I used to be addicted to soap.
But I'm clean now.

Credit: reddit
@rzc24-nftbbg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @savvytester
The LOLZ Tribe is here! Stake your LOLZ now to earn curation rewards and continue using the !LOLZ command. Please read our latest update for more information.
(3/4)

Yeah, very useful card!

!PGM

With only 3 Health and 1 Speed at Level 1, you should not forget to protect your Mushroom Seer against opponent Monsters with Snipe or Opportunity* Ability. 🤓

Well, we don't know what cards the other player will use.

Against Opportunity monster, I think that's the use of low health cards, a distraction.

You should have a general strategy for protecting useful, low-Health Monsters on your team. 🤓 Looking on the opponent's last 5 Battles, you can have an overview of what their frequently used Summoners and Monsters are, which would help you in strategizing. 😏

!PIZZA !LOLZ !CTP

I kept putting it off as mushroom is quite pricey 😃. I just upgraded to unicorn that improved my win rate alot.

Keep up the great work!!

Yeah, same here. One of these days, I will buy it together with Mitica. If I have Mylor, I am curious if my cards are ready for Silver 1 League.

Thanks!

!PIZZA

!CTP

Mitica is awesome with the net, i didnt understand what it was for until you mention. Unlike Jarx who seems to miss often, she is hitting more often good attacks! Im barely making it back to Silver 3 right now, but may need some serious upgrades.

Yeah, really powerful! I've been in Silver 3 for I think 6 months already fighting with level 1 cards against level 3 or level 4 summoners. The outcome sometimes is very interesting particularly when both use the same summoner but at a different level. The choice of cards in a team and their positioning are crucial to winning over an upgraded card.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks man, its getting tougher for sure and I notice just getting the position slightly wrong has been crucial..

Do you mean Mushroom Seer? 🤔

That's a powerful Rare Earth Monster indeed! 🤓

!PIZZA

Yes, i bought him but im mostly playing Modern so im not sure if I should keep hold of him or not.

In that case, you should rent out your Level 1 Mushroom Seer to get some DEC per day without selling it, so that if you decide to play Wild Ranked again, that Monster Card will still be available for you without the need to buy one again. 😏

I saw that you are currently selling your card for $5.44. 😅 Renting it out instead will give you an ROI of about 71% right now. 🤓 #NotFinancialAdvice

!PIZZA !CTP

It is a good ROI and card. It might make sense to keep hold of it. 71% isn't to be sniffed at. Thanks for the tip!

!CTP !PIZZA

The annual ROI for a Level 1 Mushroom Seer is now 67.81%. 😅 Different levels of the Monster give vastly different ROI values. 🤓

Thanks for the appreciation and the tokens! 😀

!LUV

You're killing it on your game! Congrats and to winning the Orca power too :) Cheers to the new week!

Yeah, last season and #lpud were really great for me! I !love them!

💲🦈😄

Yay! And enjoy it for the second time around🥂

Yeah, I really enjoy it the first time. Now, I have an idea of how much LEO Orca Power can give.

!CTP

Although I quit playing, I can tell you that mythica headhunter is one of my favorite cards ever. I used to have it maxed years ago, sold my full collection before the boom though (ouch) .. I bought a new one some months ago, for quite a high fee, still worth it. If you can buy it for that price now, do it, you will not be disappointed!

Wow! Selling before the boom? I wonder what year did you start playing Splinterlands? It's good that you bought them back. Yes, together with Mushroom Seer, buying Mitica is my new target now.

!PIZZA

!CTP

I started a few months after the start of steemmonsters...

!CTP

Oh! That's great! I guess you owned a lot of LGFs back then. 😄

Congratulations @rzc24-nftbbg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 4500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
savvytester tipped mypathtofire (x4)
@savvytester(2/5) tipped @rzc24-nftbbg (x8)
rzc24-nftbbg tipped thisismylife (x1)
mypathtofire tipped savvytester (x2)
rzc24-nftbbg tipped savvytester (x3)
rzc24-nftbbg tipped mypathtofire (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!