Splinterlands Scammers: A True Personal Account of an Attempted Scam

in Splinterlands3 years ago

I have been having some issues with Splinterlands lately, one such problem was transferring DEC from the game into hive.engine.

Splinterlands SCAMMERS.png

A decent wodge of it is stuck somewhere, and it will be dealt with accordingly. This post is not a moan about Splinterlands, but what happened when I inquired about my ticket not being resolved in the Discord/Support public channel.

EDIT: I now have my DEC back, thanks @yabapmatt for personally fixing this for me!

image.png

Less than ten minutes had passed and a user named '@techteam' popped up on discord offering to help me with my 'problem'. I knew from the start it was a lousy scammer but decided to bait him anyway. This is how it went.

I do love the fact that the English language is quirky as fuck and troublesome for non-natives to grasp.

image.png

Kindly redirect what message here

Bad grammar was not doing him any favours. I decided to act dumb for a while and see just how patient and determined '@techteam' was.

image.png

The conversation was flowing and then stalled as I decided to take a shower causing a delay.

image.png

One-legged bloggers of course take much longer to bathe. It didn't phase scammer boy in the least. I was going to say one-armed and one-legged, that I jumped everywhere I went and he probably would have bought it.

image.png

not on the right derivative path’. Are you trying to daze me with your technical jargon?

image.png

Acting awed, dazed, bewildered and confused the conversation continued with me intrigued about which dodgy web site I would need to go to. Here it comes...

image.png

DON'T launch this scammer website!

I googled this and found there was another similar website, but with a slightly different name.

image.png

I won’t even click this one, never mind the .live suffixed version.

image.png

It was then I decided to see how far this twat would go. I needed to get excited.... very excited.

image.png

image.png

In fact, so excited... that I needed to share an eighties video about excitement.

image.png

The thrill of getting my DEC back overwhelmed me, and that pulsating feeling begin in my loins.

image.png

Oh shit…, oh shit. I had to clean up.. a terrible accident had occurred... meanwhile scammer man was still patiently buying it all.

image.png

After over an hour I decided to wind it all up. That was it, no response!

After writing this post, I sent a final message to scammer boy. He’s blocked me and didn’t attempt to defend his dodgy website.

image.png

This says it all. The Splinterlands support team will NEVER contact you directly.

image.png

This is another thread I picked up from discord, with another fake user masquerading as Splinterlands support and another scammy website.

image.png

image.png

While I am far to wily to be conned in this way, they must be having some success or this would not be happening.

Ignore ALL suspect DM's in discord and block them immediately. Don't respond or reply unless you know the person and don't click these scam websites. They are there to steal your money and once they have your keys, they will take everything from your account.

RedLine.png

  • Earn currency while you play brewing virtual beer with CryptoBrewMaster
  • Earn currency while you play and become a global Rock Star with Rising Star


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Good advice. I've not had that one, but I get the phone 'support' for Microsoft/BT/Virgin. Sometimes it's actually a service I use, but I don't trust 'Brian' who seems to have an Indian accent. I'll try to spin them along for a while pretending to do what they say. I can happily waste their time.

I usually can't be bothered. I saw someone else in that discord channel pipe up about the same thing. When the conversation started.. it was quite obvious.. and then the ride began.

Oh well played. I love tormenting the scammers with nonsense. Hehe, having toclean up... Lol!!

I'm thinking I was not direct enough and it wasn't sinking into thicko's brain that he was being taken for a ride. So exciting... hehe...

It doesn't seem to matter how blatant and direct you get they just witter on. It's good to string em along though, gives you that warm fuzzy feeling inside, lol!

Hæhæ, its fun to troll and waste scammers time :D

Normal, I just tell them to go fuck themselves right off the bat though.
Maybe I should troll them more xD

I generally block them but was in a particularly mischievous mood this morning!

This was thrilling, loved the way you had fun while wasting the scammer’s time. I have learnt a new way to waste their time

I could have strung him along for a while longer, it loses its appeal after a while.

This says it all. The Splinterlands support team will NEVER contact you directly.

Unfortunately, bad and soulless people are always around the corner taking advantage of the less attentive people.
A short time ago a friend of mine lost a collection of cards worth 50k stolen by a scoundrel.
You did very well to write this detailed post that will be very useful to those who are new to Splinterlands and those who tend to trust too easily people they do not know...
!BEER
!PIZZA
!LUV
@tipu curate

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@slobberchops, you've been given LUV from @libertycrypto27.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/10)

@slobberchops! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @libertycrypto27.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

I'm not sure how many of these new Splinterlands peeps know about the blogging side of HIVE. I guess you could name it 'legacy' now seeing on how things are progressing.

I have heard some tales of losing entire collections, its sickening.

Nicely done and appreciate the awareness. I'm new to the Splinterlands community, so these type of posts are super helpful in making sure I don't get suckered. Always happy to see a scammer get railroaded.

Its probably the likes of you who they are aiming at. I have been on HIVE since the birth and before then, STEEM. I am well versed in it. Welcome to HIVE and Splinterlands. It's always good to see new people.

Lol. One legged man with a boner. I miss you winding up scammers. You should do this more often. I do this on scam phone calls I get, keep them on 30 mins or more.

Scam phone calls, it's been a while since I had one of those. I do regret not pushing things a little farther.

Acting awed, dazed, bewildered and confused

Sounds like my life on Hive in general. I enjoyed your little escapade, with some 13yr old snot dribbling twat in is bedroom.

BRING BACK MORT!!!!

Mort is gone, he's been sacked. Should I resurrect that series? Nobody seemed to care.. so I put it on hiatus.

RIP Mort

Thief Cartoon: tenor.com

I laughed so hard at your interaction with these couple of horrible scammy folks! The sad part is that they are parasites preying on the unsuspecting! Dirty scamming Hijos de las Gran Putas, I hope their genitals fall off!

Thank you for helping to keep the @splinterlands informed about these scammy people and websites. I, along with many I am sure, appreciate you sounding the clarion. I will be sharing this post on my next Splinterlands Twitch stream later today!

I get umpteen DM's every day in Discord. They never let up. I might see if there's a 'I don't accept requests' option.

👍

Thanks for sharing this clicking unknown links should be avoided at all cost.

Captain Hook on Hive? 😆😆😆

Just for a short while!

I got a really huge boner too. I need to wait :)

Absolutely awesome job and if more people would track these people down and spread awareness of these issues...

A good solid community definitely thwart these idiots.

And the best thing you can do is waste their time and give them all the buying signs that yes you are on board.

Shame how these individuals can't even play a simple game and get paid but decide they want to scam free money.

I can't keep it up for long.. but should have a little more. This one seemed extra dense!

Oh I absolutely love talking with telemarketers. I happen to come from a sales background so I can pull all these wonderful subtle tactics with salesman. Absolutely tell me more oh what was that fine detail explain that again can we circle back to this thing yes let's totally do it tomorrow...

I love the free inclusive vacation to Mexico. I wonder if there is blow and hookers as well as a cartel liaison?

If you're going to have fun with scammers why not want to go big?

So if someone created a thread in splinterlands official discord would you belive that to be real ?,

I also love to scam scammers. I hope if they lose their time and don't have any success they will stop this shit. Because not everyone is that smart to identify scammers.

He left extra rapidly once I exposed him.

Damn, thats scary!!! I only interact with the discord og's that I see over and over. But there is always a first time so I'm glad I read this. Happy you were made whole

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I was very careful not to click that link. That was what I was looking for.. the link.. so I could publish it to warn people.

Discord is such a pain!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I love the way you wasted the scammers time. One should be careful with some if the dms we receive. Once I discover that the person is a scammer I simply pretend that I am playing along with them but at the end of the day they'll realised that they've met their match. Thanks for the info you shared here too.

I simply pretend that I am playing along with them but at the end of the day they'll realised that they've met their match.

Good to hear its not just me who winds them up.

Yes o. I hate people who wants to make others lose their hard earned coins via trickery

Hahaha. I have to spit out my cofee after reasing about the huge boner.

Good job bringing it to people's attention, twitter, discord, and telegram are full of these. I almost got taken by one guy that said I needed to sync my wallet and gave me a website to link my wallet with.

Luckily I got skeptical at the signing screen and looked into it.

Luckily I got skeptical at the signing screen and looked into it.

There's so many of these bastards trying to rip you off. Keep safe and be wary or trusting anything.

Oh. I so enjoyed this. OMG... 🤣🤣🤣. Thanks though. I am new. Haven't started playing yet but this is an eye opener. Unless it's my mentor, I'm listening to no one.

I see you are new. Splinterlands needs some investment to get going. If you want a FREE game.. try Rising Star.

Good job. I am happy that you did get back your dec. My amazon account with my poem book still is locked and I guess will always be like that because I was a fool enough to click the re-verify link some scammer sent me.

You are both intelligent and crazy.... Imagine the way you engage him in a conversation that seem all original and sincere. He was picking the bones without realizing it will choke him.

Kudos for serving him this food cold.. and for spreading the words. Now, those of us who have read this post won't fall a victim.

I have learned one crucial thing in this post, and it's the fact that the support team will never message you directly and I won't forget in case I have difficulties like this in the future.

Thanks for sharing this

Yes, be careful out there. Use Keychain for HIVE or HiveConnect if you really must.

I definitely will ☺️

Thanks

Reading this gave me a boner!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha, I hope not.

Freakin scammers seriously they deserve to be put out to rot in my opinion. It seriously takes s special kind of person to treat others. The slum of the earth and the world would be better without them.

😂

I love messing with telemarketers. This is way better. Shame that these jizz buckets will end up scanning some poor souls.

Glad you had him figured out. I've had experience with scammers in games and Steam client/PSN that attempt the very same thing here, they all pretend to be a dev or have a magical link that will fix everything. Entertaining story, thank you for sharing!

If you don't hurry up and send me your wallet details, you'll lose the other leg!

Thank you for telling everyone about your experience, I have been very lucky because I am very resourceful but I have not fallen into these traps thank God.

Scammers are some of the most entertaining people to engage with. Always a pleasure to waste their damn time. For a one-legged blogger you seem to have done a smash up job here, kudos :)

Thanks for this information, it will help alot of people to avoid scammers.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

scammers everywhere

Yes.. everywhere.

Oh I forgot. Here is some !PIZZA to help fortify you for your next encounter and ensuing battle with scammy scammers!

@slobberchops! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @sgt-dan.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

👍

Thanks for sharing these links , good job bro !!!!

I love it that you messed with them. I do the same thing to the phone call scammers pretending to be the tax man. !BEER / !PIZZA / !LUV

G'day Ive selected your post for curation in my top 5 :)