Splinterlands Art Contest! // Week 165 // Retro Doctor Blight

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Hi Everyone,

This is my submission for the Splinterlands Art contest week 165!

image.png

This week I took on the new legendary promo card Doctor Blight. As all of the splinterlands players know, Doctor Blight is only available for those who participated in the preorder for Chaos Legion. those who were able to get 50 packs in the presale were guaranteed a Dr. Blight, unfortunately since I was unable to get enough vouchers in the presale period I only have about a fifty percent chance at snagging the good Doctor. I am hoping that the work i put into his rendering will be accepted by the gaming gods as tribute and help tip the scale in my favor.

As always I work exclusively on Microsoft Excel for my pixel art. I like the manual nature of using a spreadsheet that was not made for pixel-art; there are no shortcuts. Also since both my office and home computer have the program I am able to work on these projects throughout the day which is helpful since the process is time consuming.

when tackling Doctor Blight, I quickly realized that the amount of detail needed to do him justice would require me to increase the size of my work space dramatically. Doctor Blight is double the length and width in pixels of my last submission the Retro Sea Monster:
https://hive.blog/hive-13323/@tomarabi/splinterlands-art-contest-week-164-retro-sea-monster

Once I had my workspace bordered I began work on a basic outline of the Doctor. then proceeded to work on the border of the card as well as the mana, health speed and damage tokens.

image.png

With the tokens done i worked on finishing the card border to give me a better idea of spacing and what i had left to work with.

image.png

Doctor Blight also has a slew of abilities, each one needing to be as detailed as possible, so I worked on the ability tokens separately and later dragged them into the main piece.

image.png

with the borders and the ancillary work finished I began the final lap of the project, the Doctor himself! doctor blight was very detailed and required a lot of shading and color blending to try to bring that detail to the retro gaming feel that I was aiming for.

here is the final result next to Splinterlands official image release for Doctor Blight

image.png

I hope you all like it, and that my rendering did justice to the epicness of the good doctor.

Sort:  

Nice artwork man! This one is so much better than your last entry imho, amount of detail is crazy! Good luck on the contest.

Thanks. It's all about the scale. At this size I can use 4 pixels for every one I used in the last entry. So this one I was able to get way more detail into it. But I agree I am very happy how this one came out

So Nice
Keep on the great art

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859

Congratulations @tomarabi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicholas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List