Metal Detecting Update: Found another Barber Quarter!

in Silver Gold Stackers3 years ago (edited)

Hey Hive Folk,

Hope everyone is doing well!

I've been fortunate in Indiana to still be able to metal detect in January! Usually the ground would be frozen by now, but Mother Nature has been kind to me! During the holidays I've been able to stack two more silver finds! An 1899 Barber quarter and a 1934 Mercury Dime. Both about 6 inches underground. These were both found on public land. It's amazing to think about the historic journey of these coins.

rsz_barber_2.jpg
A beauty, 1899 Barber Quarter, found on public land. The US quarter from 1892-1916. 90 percent silver

rsz_barber_2_b.jpg
Reverse side of coin

rsz_mercury_dime_2.jpg
Found this on public land as well, today. 1934 Mercury Dime. This was the US dime from 1916-1945.

rsz_mercury_dime_2b.jpg
Reverse side

My totals for the past 9 months of metal detecting are 12 silver coins found, 15 silver pieces if including rings.

rsz_silver_metal_detecting_collection_.jpg
This picture is a collection of all my silver coins found metal detecting... before the two just shown above. I'm glad I have two Barbers now! Both the Barbers were 1899 haha.

Bonus: For the numismatic collectors as these are copper or nickel, over 70 wheat pennies, 3 Indian Heads, and two V-nickels found

rsz_copper_collection_.jpg
I do like finding old coppers too!

Stay thirsty for treasure! Keep Stackin'

Cheers!

Sort:  

Nice find @tfeldman, thanks for showing and sharing the real Constitutional Money, from the old days.

Thanks for stopping by! "real" money with actual value was awesome!

What an amazing find, that's A wonderful way to start the new year my friend!😀

Thanks man! Hope you have a great start to the year!

Woot woot, what amazing finds!

Thats awesome. I rarely find anything of any value! Sometimes clad coins, but I've yet to find a silver coin! Still fun anyways though!

Thanks!! There are so many factors that go into finding silver. Most of it is location. Lots of it is deep...most of mine are at least 5 inches and often 6-8 inches under ground... I've also found coins over 10 inches down. If its a deep signal and sounds good, go for it! All but one of my silvers were found on public land so there are still public spots out there. Your day will come!

Shows that folks had holes in their pockets back in the early 1900s too.

Thanks for sharing your finds @tfeldman

I imagine they were very disappointed to lose a quarter when they could go to a theatre for a nickel haha!

I estimate it at about 1.5 to 2 days labor pay for most people at the time.
Ouch!

nice work!

Nice finds. The history is interesting. Do you find much scrap metal, e.g. drink cans? Friend of a friend puts all that in a bucket and can sell it to scrap dealers when he has enough.

Good to hear from you friend. Yes! I scrap mostly lead and copper. About 50 bucks worth of scrap so far and I've cashed in 14 bucks of that...the rest is in my garage. I have a previous post on my first scrapping journey.

I found the old post. Nice bit of recycling. I've probably mentioned The Detectorists comedy where they were always digging up old cans or toy cars. My chickens have dug up some clay pipes and I may get someone to check that area for metal as it seems to have been a rubbish dump for the people who lived here.

What was then rubbish is likely treasure now haha!

Congratulations @tfeldman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day
Happy New Year - Project Activity Update