The start of my Ham Shack

in Ham Radio4 years ago

I started the setup of my Ham Shack in the basement by setting up my FT-817 radio and a desktop computer to use when I start making contacts for logging. I also setup an old TV as a monitor for a Ham Clock which shows the local and UTC time as well as a map of the world with the sunlight/nighttime coverage. Here is a picture:
20200713_200029.jpg

Don't mind the old Apple computer it is just there for storage.

I had to make a hole thru the side of the house. It took quite a bit of effort as I have to use a chisel to break thru a brick before I could drill a hole in the wall.
20200714_120339.jpg

I am currently using the temporary 2M 1/4 wave ground plane antenna I built a while back. I will get this mounted up above the roof of the house at some point, but I am able to get on the local 2M weekly nets to work on my radio skills.
20200707_193927.jpg

I am working with a Elmer (experienced Ham) thru my local Ham Club on kit building nights to build a EFHW (end fed half wave) HF antenna that I will be able to work multiple HF frequencies. I am currently mostly interested in 20M and 40M bands. I will do some voice, but I am more interested in the digital modes as I get the hardware and software setup.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mytechtrail! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 41000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

Congratulations @mytechtrail! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Introducing the Power Up Helper!