Play station

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

20220430_111006 (1).jpg



Not so long ago I took my nephew, of almost four years old, to the Southern Hemisphere's largest artillery and tank museum called The Australian Armour & Artillery Museum. There's hundreds of tanks, armoured vehicles and artillery on display, a shooting range and they also have an outdoor track where the tanks are sometimes driven. It's a very cool, privately owned, collection and my nephew and myself could hardly wait to get inside!

He was pretty funny once we got in, running from here to there, calling over to me to look at this and that; he simply didn't know where to go next and whilst I tried to systematically work my way through I had to abandon the strategy in favour of his more excitable and freestyle method.

20220430_123406 (1).jpg

When he finally calmed down I began to spend some time really studying the exhibits and explaining them to him a little - he listened patiently to how tracks work and tanks steer, how a turret traverses, armour deals with incoming fire and so on. He was an awesome listener too, picked up on the concepts and asked intelligent questions...But then he saw the play station.

This huge play table of some four metres square was literally covered in toys, all of a military nature. There were tanks, artillery, bomber and fighter jets, little army men, boats and various terrain features, bunkers, buildings and the like. It was cool because the kids could crawl underneath and get into the middle, as you see in the image above, and be completely surrounded by the play table.

20220430_101957-COLLAGE.jpg

I played with him which reminded me of my own youth playing with similar toys; I didn't have so many, but had done the same thing as my nephew was doing around forty five years ago. It was a nice time playing with him and watching his imagination creating the very same scenarios I'd done myself all those yeaers ago.

After he was done at the play table we went back to the tanks, although we had to go back to the play table a time or two as well.

We spent over three hours in the museum and, whilst I'd thought my nephew would last the distance and I'd have my visit cut short through his lack of interest, it didn't happen. He stayed engaged as we wandered around and was happy to chat away about the tanks and artillery, their applications and various other aspects. It was a really great morning.

On the way out we walked through the store which was full of military toys, books, games, models and clothing and, because I can't say no to him, I ended up buying his an army tank...he calls them gun cars. He loved it and I got a big hug. A win-win situation.

I'll do a proper post about the museum in the near future and may feature some of the tanks and artillery pieces displayed there, provide some history and information. I've been to The Tank Museum in Bovington, UK and it's an awesome place to visit, but my visit to this one in Cairns Australia was equally as good, I guess probably because I shared it with my nephew. If you get a chance to go to either, it's well worth the effort.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own and you are not authorised to use them.

Sort:  

Kids make up the best language, gun car makes total sense!

Yeah, he makes up some really cool things. He's a cute little bugger; takes after me. 😁

As you found out the hard way, there is absolutely no systematically working your way through museums when there are small children involved, you are going where they are interested in going or you are not enjoying the trip at all XD

LoL "gun cars" aaaaaahhhhhhhh too cute!

Did that huge array of army toys bring out the child in you too? :)

He drove me bonkers with is non-strategised method...but he's bonkers, so that's to be expected. I am too.

I know right? Gun cars. Cute little bugger he is.

Did that huge array of army toys bring out the child in you too?

I don't have to answer this...You know the answer. 😀

So much fun. That play table is genius! I'm surprised you thought he wouldn't last, I mean come on, little boy in a huge arena of tanks I mean gun cars :- what's not to love right?

I am sure he will treasure that tank you got him for years to come.

I'm penning a letter to my mate, the commander of the Australian Defence Forces (ADF) requesting he changes the name of tanks to gun cars. I think there's a good chance of it happening. Our enemies will be like...

Oh shit, there's the Aussies and their gun cars, let's get the fuck out of here!

Lol, that would be cool, your nephew would make the history books for the coolest name change ever.

It's a magical age when they make up their own words. I've had a few chuckles for the same reason. Cute little guy, I hope you get to spend more time with him again soon.

It's a magical age when they make up their own words.

Ok...but what is a person is still doing it at 52? (I'm asking for a friend)

Lol. That's just called being a knucklehead 🤣

That's just called being a knucklehead

I'll own it...A cute one though right?

That is one superb Play Station. The graphics are superb, and it's fully 3D without any clunky headset! all snark aside, I bet he'd have a blast playing a tabletop war game with TANKS! Try One Page Rules for starters.

It was very cool indeed, although he really wanted to jump into a tank (gun car) and drive it. They do tabletop war games there at the museum, big tournaments. It's all very cool.

I know Flames of War is a popular WW2-era skirmish game. Do you know whether it was something like that, or something unique to the museum?

The link below will take you to a recent event advertisement. It may be a bit different to what you're talking about but you'll get the idea.

https://www.ausarmour.com/operation-sandstorm/

I don't think that site likes me.

Screenshot 2022-06-01 at 00-03-18 Your access to this site has been limited by the site owner.png

Bummer.

The making of good memories.

Sounds like you both had fun.

It was. Tanks, that little nutbag and me...A good time was had.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello @galenkp I've been trying to find you on Discord but for some reason I can't.
Can you contact me? I'd like to talk to you about something. erikah#8879

He is so blessed to have you. Children always want to know and who is better suited to teach anyone with patience other than you. Anyone would be a good listener when they hear you speak. You speak with experience, convincingly and always with the intention to teach.

Never been to anyone of these...not even the normal art museums... Hopefully I can...soon.