Sort:  

I think that rope set-up reminds me of a video from a Vietnam War documentary. They strapped an M60 machine gun with some rope/cord on the roof. Must've been quite the change to go from that, to a dedicated mount on the side of the helo.

image.png

That one is mounted, but there are sling-versions that simply clip on and the shooter rests the gun in it. In chopper culling it comes down to the outfit doing it I guess. Some just shoot free-hand also. My mate uses the strap/sling version. I will see if I can get an image of his rig.

Ah, interesting. Cheers for the insight. I imagine doing it freehand might be tough!

Freehand would be very difficult. Every little bump or movement affects the shot. They get close, but even so it wold be extremely difficult shooting from a help like that. Most will used some sort of sling device, or hard-mount.

I'd love to take you shooting so you can get to see just what's involved and how skilled a marksman, or any decent shooter, really is. Maybe someday. You seem to show an interest and it would be good to see you shooting in real life, a great experience for you.

That offer is pretty nice of you, mate. I'd certainly enjoy it, and I promise, I won't be pestering you for your .308. I don't have the money for it anyways, lol. Shooting does sound like it would be a great sport/hobby for me. Though gun ownership in Malaysia's a bit more rigid, though one my mate's uncle somehow owns a .50 AE Desert Eagle.

somehow owns a .50 AE Desert Eagle

Maybe a case of knowing the right people?

I guess it's what happens when you have tonnes of cash, and friends in high places, as you say. My mate did went to the Philippines once, and just as beautiful is the countryside, it's pretty much a firearms free-for-all. I guess once could say it's the Texas of Southeast Asia!