Reloading (the name)

in Outdoors and more3 years ago (edited)

When I started this community I thought about the name deciding to run with The Pew, intended as a play on words...You know, pew pew, the noise people make when pretending to shoot their finger-guns and church pew those long benches people sit on at church.

It was intended to indicate that (to some) firearms and shooting was sort of like a religion I'm not sure if anyone really got it though. Chalk it up to one more G-dog fail.

Yesterday I had a rethink and decided to make the title a little more obvious in respect to what the community was about changing it to The Pew: Guns & more. But what does more mean?


P3210012.JPG

I understand that there's not many people around the community who are interested in guns which may draw into question me starting the community in the first place. I started it for myself though as somewhere to drop my own firearms content. But right from the outset I opened it up to other topics to allow people to use the community whether they had firearms or not.

I was also very clear indicate that even anti-gun content and opinions were welcome - Basically, provided the community's rules were followed, very basic standard rules, it was open to any on-topic content. You can see the topic-suggestions below.


Firearms - Outdoors - Camping - Survival - Preparedness - Hunting - Archery - Military - 4x4 - Shooting sports


It's a pretty broad selection of topics and I think within the listed items sub-topics could be found:

Military and firearms history, ammunition reloading, sport and game shooting, professional culling, or plinking. Under the preparedness topic could come home-security, situational awareness or doomsday content.

Other sub-topics could include hiking, and remote travel, weapon-making, knives and edged weapons and content about the tools and equipment used in and around all of these topics. Equipment and product reviews, unboxing, homesteading or just general thoughts around any of these topics and more. I'd say a lot to work with right? You do not need to be a a firearms expert, or expert on anything at all.

I'll be honest I can't give whale-votes to those who post in this community and it's not generally a widely used community although it's here for y'all to use if your content fits and I'll engage with you if you show up.

I'll vote as I can and promote some posts to others when possible, gain some additional reward for those that post here - So, give it a try maybe we can exchange some ideas, knowledge, thoughts and opinions.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

I saw it more as "Pew Pew" Stormtrooper shooting.. that's why you can't hit anything. haha/

There's that reference too, but in the States pew refers to shooting in general I guess. I didn't intend it as a Star Wars reference.

image.png

Is that the dad from that show Different Strokes from the 80's?

no... that is The Emperor .... #StarWars

Ah ok, I see it now. 😊

super #Ironic when you consider, Storm Troopers can't shoot ....

Makes sense. I got the Pew because I belong to some other Pew Pew groups. Probably only a few others though! We could certainly use more traffic here! Post your Pews!

Hmm, I think more traffic is a dream that won't come true, but in adding some clarity maybe one or two might come along.

Greatly appreciated community, don't post much in the community because pandemic had made me lazy as fuck.

Don't lie, you ain't posting because it's not a community about hookers and blow. Heh. See what I did there?

Shut it... Dammed inner voice....

Lol...Gave me a chuckle.

Chicken or the egg. Which comes first; the community or the hub?

Lol...The old build it and they will come strategy.

Pewpew? I'm lost. I'm not a gun lover but there were guns caught my attention. I mean their form or something like that. I think what you're doing in building this community is good. Hive has a big community. Maybe like you some people think or love the same as you are.

Since you elaborate it. It became clearer now.

It's a small community designed to give me a place to drop gun and other stuff. All are welcome though.

It may not be widely used now but maybe sometime? :D

Yeah, possibly. It's ok, I'm comfortable in small groups. 😉

I like small groups better. I joined another one of aggroed's servers and am feeling very intimidated XD

Servers? On Discord? That's not my thing really. I'm not intimidated, just don't like the environment. Good luck with it, I'm sure you'll feel welcome after a while.

It's just big is all, I'm sure everyone is nice enough.

eta and I'm terrible in crowds XD

Ooh those colors!

Yep, pretty vibrant huh?

Gorgeous! Eve is as talented as she is pretty!

Eve? That's my wife Faith in the picture, and I took it.

I’m sorry I thought Eve had taken the picture of her! My compliments to you 🥰

That's ok, no issue. I live in Australia and Eve lives in Finland so...A long way apart. 🙂

I totally apologize I was having such a blond moment🤦‍♀️

Survival like situations and best strategies for a particular one would be a great reading for a lot of people

love this picture

Yeah, I got lucky with the camera on that occasion and my shot came out well. Thanks for saying so.

great

Posted via D.Buzz