Guns n Drones Video Shooting Steel

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

My two favorite things. Here is one of my new favorite pictures of drone. I posted once before some pictures of shooting targets and then flying the drone downrange to view the target. This time I decided to try some video shots of the new steel plate targets.

Mavic2Pro-Inflight-01.jpg

First off here's the drone used. It's a Mavic 2 Pro. Very high quality Hasselblad camera (photography is my other passion).

Mavic2Pro-Inflight-02.jpg

Mavic2Pro-SmartController.jpg

Here's a shot of the controller, which you can see the view being broadcast from the drone. This is the optional "smart remote" which has it's own built-in screen. The original controller you just connect your phone to. Mavic seems to struggle supporting Android phones well, and I got tired of fighting with their sloppy updates and conflicts with phone updates. Also it provides a much longer flight time and my phone isn't drained after flying this way. This drone has a range of about 5 miles (8km) and can broadcast the picture in realtime back to the controller. I was hoping for sound of the steel as well, but nope.

FXImpactMKII-9mm.jpg

Weapon used for this was my favorite FX Impact MKII .35 caliber (9mm) PCP Air Rifle. It pushes a 81 grain pellet about 870 fps.
For this video, I shot two different ways, once from the drone which was I flew to just front and side of target 100 yards away, and then the second part from a GoPro9 that was in about the same position.

Listen to the sound difference between the two, One interesting thing I found out is that most drones do not have a microphone. So the sound is actually recorded from the controller (which is right next to the rifle in this video, and 100 yards from the target). The GoPro sound of course is recorded from the GoPro, which is near the target and 100 yards away from the rifle.

I think one of my earlier drones did have a microphone, I guess they took them out because you would just hear prop noise most of the time, but it would have been good to have in this scenario where the drone is landed, props stopped and just the video filming. Something to think about if you're going to use a drone for long range steel shooting is checking for mic. There are some other portable mics on the market, but most of those only have range of a couple hundred feet.

"Parking" the drone gives a much longer battery life as well. Normal flight time is about 30 minutes, but with it landed and just sending video, could easily get an hour, then start the props and fly back.

Here's the video. Pay attention to the sound difference. I just love the sound of the steel clanging on the second part, can barely hear it on the first. Notice how the clanging is louder than the rifle with it's moderator attached:) And for you technical shooters, not shooting for groups here was just doing quick shots for noise, the rifle is much more accurate than shown here when I try, although 100-150 yards is about the limit with pellets. Some folks like shooting slugs, which are shaped more aerodynamically and stabilize better at longer distances. For my needs the pellets do just fine and as you can see, hit pretty hard at that range.

Sort:  

Dqim that sound is amazing hahahaj after sec.45 it gets real hahahha you are good at that, so I think I would hold a target, skate ahead with the electric offroad skate and you hit the target while recording with the drone, when one day I come for a visit hahahah that would be legend.
What a nice thought hahahhah
Great video!
Greez !BEER !invest_vote

Haha, I don't know I'd trust my aim that much! But maybe I'll skate with the pistol in hand and shoot the targets while I'm on the move, all while filming with the drone. Now that would be a trick!

Hahhah yes, yes, yes! That is it hahahah youre such a actionhero, I can picture it! Hope you wear a west hahahha
All the best and stay awsome!
I love engaging with you, allways fun!
!BEER 🍻


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @sandymeyer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Yes! Actually I really want to do this however with the extended range I can get out to some significant distance for long range and extremely long range shooting.

I really like that I've got the zoom version of the DJI mavic series!

Not sure if I'm going to upgrade to the mavic 3 as I still am working on learning to fly the one I have.

Really nice smart controller too by the way.

And that PCP airgun is absolutely phenomenal I'd love to know your ballistic data on that 35 Cal.

I've got the Mavic 2 Pro now, which is this one pictured, not the zoom. Always wanted the zoom capability but I wanted the better camera on the Pro more. Yes, now I'll have the best of both worlds. I did just get the Mavic3 delivered but haven't flown it yet. The new RC Pro "smart controller" is on back order because of course not compatible with the Mavic 2 smart controller (bad move DJI).

Here's the ballistic data on the .35 cal FX Impact, I've had it up to 900 fps, but it loses a little accuracy with pellets. Most of these seem to like around 860-880fps for accuracy, and as you can see here, able to tune it to within 1.88 Std deviation across 10 shots. Those shooting the newer slugs are usually up in the high 980 or even hotter.

FX-Impact-35cal-Labradar-2020-10-24.jpg

I did another post on more detailed testing with target, coke can, and board in this post here if you're interested:
https://peakd.com/hive-139358/@ksteem/50-yard-35cal-9mm-fx-impact-pcp-testing

Wow, can't believe it's over a year now.

Wow that is some incredible power being generated just with air.

Yep that's it I've got to get into this I was really looking into the Benjamin bulldog in 357 which is really cool.

I'm wondering if you can use modern day hollow point ammunition with them or if you would have to make some adjustments.

I have seen them and seems like the copper might be a little bit too hard.

Now I have many many questions. Thank you very much for your precharge pneumatic marksmanship!

Even though impressive, it's still less velocity than .357 powder ammo, most folks are shooting lead, the rifling designed more for lead projectiles, but hollow points and multiple offerings available. I had lost most interest in even the .22 pellet rifles, .30 cal is really the sweet spot for quiet and per fill shot counts, but the .35 and higher really pack a punch. There of course are even larger .45, .50 and now even .75 cal out there, but they get so loud you might as well shoot powder.

Here in the United States is actually legal for you to attach suppressors and you can actually buy them over the counter which is the same suppressor that you would use on a centerfire or a rimfire however with none of the useless regulation.

No paperwork at all needed.

Funny how laws are. Just by changing the label on the product all the sudden it's legal.

And you can have a BB gun that shoots 1,400 rounds a minute.

I really can't wait to see the future evolution of this shooting sport

There are some slight differences to the suppressors, they are threaded differently than those designed for firearms. And yes, while changing the threads is not that difficult for someone with a few skills and research, it does then turn it into a felony (in mosst states) if not licensed for it, just like screwing an oil filter onto your weapon or any other unlicensed homemade device.

Oh my God... Lololol.

Adapter.

Funny the 1/2-28 to the 3/4 coarse adapter is only 0.75$ and sold over the counter.

Funny thing is is that all the ones that I've seen are in common size and thread pitches.

And you will probably enjoy this ballistics clay testing on the slightly smaller .30 caliber with Hades pellets as well. I haven't tried the .35 caliber in clay yet, and still waiting for them to come out with the larger Hades pellets.
https://peakd.com/hive-139358/@ksteem/jsb-diablo-vs-hades-pellet-comparison

Man I definitely need to get into PCP pneumatic airguns.

Thank you very much for sharing this really interesting and fun knowledge.

Once the AI takes over you will have to shoot the drone with the gun lulz.

Skynet is almost here!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 80 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

@sandymeyer denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@sandymeyer thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @sandymeyer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

!discovery 10


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Cool I love drone cameras,
Oh yes, about the Indonesian language, only your internet network has a problem.

amazing, I really like the air rifle that you share, I have long wanted an air rifle like that, thank you my friend for sharing.

It was definitely worth the wait. Some good deals on used MKI and MKII out there now that the MK3 model is out. Thanks!

yes thanks for the explanation.

I'm not even the least bit jealous Kris.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
And if you believe that you're bonkers. 🤣

Lol, I thought that may get your attention. I just love that drone pic, one of my favorites. Just wait, I just got new drone in yesterday. It has even better camera and now have all the zoom features I wanted on the previous one. Only thing it's missing is the thermal camera. lol. I had to buy on credit, but couldn't hold back, it's my early Xmas present. More soon.

Early Xmas presents are ok... Especially when they're so cool! I can't wait to see it in action.

I'm coming to watch the show with @sandymeyer ... I'll film it for you so nothing is missed or nothing gets hit. :)

Nice toys and the video!

Lol, I think everyone just wants to watch my acrobatic falling from the skateboard more than anything! The ground is nice and soft from the rain, not frozen yet. Supposed to get an inch or two of snow tomorrow night.

Okay, truth be told oh, you do leave a lot of room for the fun of it. You guys are a real hold out with your weather because it has snowed even in Connecticut. Needless to say, they were not happy that they had to take one for the team because nobody else got snow. It's November and you are due for a little bit.

I would say that you need to put away the skateboard and get out the skis, although the skateboard may be more fun to watch. Enjoy your day and I take it that you're all ready to be snowed in for the season.

Unless your plow came in.

Picking up the plow on Wed. Just in time it sounds like!

I was/am seriously looking at the Mavic 3 mainly for footage for my YouTube/Dtube vids. I am surprised how the FAA is going after YouTubers to have a commercial license. They reason that if you monetize the vids the drone is in, it is no longer hobby but is commercial. To me it seems a bit bogus. It would be just one more thing to put on the to-do list, but it has cooled my interest some. The bummer is the test have to be proctored in person and would be a good hour plus drive each way. All doable but more hassles.

Yes, the government seems to like their money. And I kind of see their point on this one, money is money, and if you're getting paid by YouTube, you're getting paid. The debate I'm sure will come as well for crypto payments. Are Hive earnings monetized? I certainly don't agree with the policy, but it is what it is.

Getting the pilot license isn't that bad. Getting the 107 isn't that bad, actually learned a few tidbits of useful info, just spent a LOT of questions on reading the larger aircraft charts, which most of us drone users will never need to know or use.

I just got the M3 a couple days ago and did first flight yesterday. Definitely a few glitches and all the advanced features not available yet, but still glad they released it early. The zoom capability is incredible. Yes, there's some quality loss at the digital zoom vs. optical, but it still allows for some shots not previously possible. I did a few comparison shots and will post later this week.

Thanks for the info. Its a great hobby!

Your welcome. Some may not want until the full feature upgrade comes in Jan. I like the early access and ability to play with it until then. I don't see the features as a stretch since they already have most of them for the other models and just needs the software / firmware code upgraded to include.