Sort:  

Lol.

I think that voids the warranty on the soldering gun

Haha, I guess that's a consideration...But fish soldering is so much fun!

Bloody small print. I mean what else would people use soldering guns for?

👀

I used mine mostly to repair my bass as a kid....the guitars. The guitar kind. Not the other kind of bass.

I was thinking we had another fish soldering aficionado!!

Yeah, that is what mine is for. My oldest guitar had a crackly connection which I think is the Jack so going to have a peek and a solder if it is

Yeah sounds like the jack. Unless its when you turn the knobs then its a dirty pan pot. Also if its an active system (many basses) it could be a grounding issue.

Yeah, the pots are fine and it's not active. The Jack is a bit loose. I remember when I was a youngster I took it to a guitar shop for the sake problems and they charged me 38 quid to put a new jack in. I think they might have robbed me, lol