As requested, here is the second half of the bug out foot protection.

When I posted two days ago on socks as a tool to protect feet if a SHTF situation forces a prepper to bug out, I was asked to address the footgear too.

Bug out footgear is Very important, and you should spend some money here!

This is what I chose:
20210427_220638.jpg
Notice the velcro closure over the zipper.

First, we must address what this footgear must do; and what it would be good if it also did. It must provide foot protection in as many areas as possible. My choice protects in the following ways:
They keep my feet dry, if they are not totally immersed.
They have steel toes.
They have steel shanks in the soles.
They have long laces to allow me to adjust ankle support.
They have a zipper to allow fast use, with a velcro safety closure on top.
They have a good tread pattern, and are not prone to slip.
Inside the sole is padded, to assist in absorbing walking shock.

Less important is low weight to allow swimming if it becomes necessary.

Here is the padded liner:
20210427_220646.jpg
You can see the top of the flexable seal inside the zipper, that protects from immersion.

I do have one problem with these boots, they are so comfortable; I started wearing them all the time, when they were being broken in.

I have solved this in prepper fashion...I will just buy several more pairs, LOL. I really like these boots, enough so that I have retired my military surplus boots, I never thought that would happen!

These boots, combined with the socks from two days ago; will allow a foot safe bug out. Remember to tighten the laces tight enough for ankle support, but not so tight that circulation is impared. A little tighter in rough country is wise.
Remember...any damage should be absorbed by the footgear and Not the foot!

You should also have first aid supplies in case you need to help your feet, in spite of the best preparations. But that is a different post....

♡♡♡♡

Sort:  

They may be a bit heavy, but you can never go wrong with steel toe boots during drastic times. We'll definitely have some around for just such an occasion.

Everything is a tradeoff, but I have tried, and I can swim in these. They dry slower than I like, but you can't have it all, LOL!

:-)

These don't keep my feet dry when totally submerged and are not steel-capped...But I love my boots!

20210306_115019 (1).jpg

Looks like my military surplus boots. I love them too, for the ankle support and general comfort!

These new boots pushed them into the closet, which surprised me. I never thought That would happen! I wore the surplus boot type for decades, due to comfort, and used up several pair. Worthy footwear for certain, and a good choice.

♡♡♡♡

It's amazing how comfortable these boots are. Sure, I had to break them in but that's the same with all boots. They have lasted really well too - I'm in them a lot of the time. I have some steel-capped work boots that are also very comfortable, by Blundstone, but these 5.11 ATAC's...Next level!

I enjoy comfort myself, LOL! These shoes are Nortiv8, but I didn't put that in initially because I wanted people to look at what they had locally.
Here's what the tread looks like:
20210429_215440.jpg
They have never let me slip, so I am beginning to trust them.

Got my John deere garden tractor running today. Still needs work, but it was good to hear that 25 hp spin up (been rebuilding it)!

Be blessed, and SQUEEZE that trigger....

♡♡♡♡

I have several boots very similar to those and I wear mine as my standard footwear.

I use them daily, I like them!

♡♡♡♡