You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reloading supplies have doubled this year, but we still need to stockpile what will be needed!

Idiots everywhere....

I value my hands and sight too much; I kind of like the firearms too.

I find that there is a limit, where adding powder doesn't add much velocity. That seems to be where the sweet spot lurks.

♡♡♡♡♡

Sort:  

I do careful load development prior to settling on a load as you know - I'm not the have a guess and it'll work out sort of person. I agree, there's always a point at which grouping works well, I often find two nodes to be honest, one high and one low. I often go for the lower one to save the barrel and powder. If the MV is fast enough then why push the limits? That's just me though, I know some who will try and pack as much in there as possible. I see it as a waste of powder though, the difference in results is negligable.

I watch the guy hand loading at the range with a wildcat kind of a 22-250 round he was counting individual powder grains and he was getting 4800 feet per second at the end of that tube. When he was going for speed only periodically there be a puff of grey in front of the output at the end of the barrel I talked to him about it and he said that that was where the ballistic Point actually blew up from centrifugal force so he was right on the bloody edge.

:'(

Holy hell! Does he wear a mask or just breathe all that lead dust in?

He was just totally focussed on speed. No mask, but exploding bullets from centrifugal force is Nuts!

Some people have more money than sense, and this guy may qualify, LOL!

:)>

Closer to the edge than I'd feel safe being.

Some of them out there, are not playing with a full deck of cards....

But they are nice people. I got to shoot a Lamat pistol / shotgun out there once. I never fired a $30,000.00 pistol before!

♡♡♡♡♡

I can't conceive of a gun costing that much money...My most costly is half that! For 30K it would want to clean itself! 🤣

Civil war Confederate pistol...a nice one can run $100,000.00.

The cylinder pivot is a 16 ga shotgun barrel.

:)>

Ah ok, yeah that'll do it. It would be cool to have a shoot of one of those.