Reloading supplies have doubled this year, but we still need to stockpile what will be needed!

The smokeless powder need to reload ammunition has, like everything else; doubled in cost in the last 6 months!

With the government printing money with nothing to back it up, the cost of everything is going up.

20201029_150711.jpg

We see that these powders were $21 to $24 last year; this purchase was $49 average per pound!

![20201029_150715.jpg](https://images.hive.blog/ /20201029_150715.jpg)

BTW, the IMR 4895 will reload almost any calibre, so is a good first powder if you're just starting out!

I also got some boat tail spire point tips in 308. I have been told not to be so specific, because "they" will know what I have here....

All I can say is 'come and take it'!!!! I have time to reload, LOL!

These have been moved to the homestead directly already, to set up a second reloading station out there.

Sort:  

Definitely some wise advise. I've historically only loaded a couple of my large rifle calibers. Now with all the factory ammo shortages over here it's nearly impossible to find any 9mm or .45 ammo. Wishing I had gotten some dies and saved brass now! Been trying to find a few (ok, many) hundred to pick up and take to shoot with my kids later this month.

I cast 45's, and I have a mold for 9mm I haven't used yet. I have everyone police brass before we load up at the range. Been keeping brass for decades for when ammo gets hard to get, I guess we are there. I use green dot powder on my 45 reloads.

I picked up brass I didn't have a gun for before, only to get on years later! This was true with 9mm; had a couple of coffee cans full before I added the CC 9mm....

:)>

I've never used this brand of powder...Only ADI powders. How do you feel it compares, if you've used ADI that is.

I like to pick a volume of powder, such that a double powder load overflows. Not easy to make a bad load that way!

I haven't seen that specific powder, so I cant say.

:)>

Ah ok, well on second thought it may be an Australian powder and not available for you.

http://www.adi-powders.com.au/

Could be, sounds right.

The H1000 is the best load for the 300 Win mag, but when I finish the 50 BMG bolt gun, it is prefect for that too!

Just don't overcharge while reloading!

:)>

Do you do load development or guestimate it?

I have a 2 inch thick book of loads from Lee that I use. I start low, and work my way up, make about 10 of each. Then, I see how that tube likes each powder change, and watch them with the chronagraph.

I use mostly boat tail points (oh happy accident), and I like the spire points.

:)>

 4 years ago (edited) 

Ah yeah ok, figured something like that. I know people who just fill the case and put the projectile in. That's not my style. 🤣

Idiots everywhere....

I value my hands and sight too much; I kind of like the firearms too.

I find that there is a limit, where adding powder doesn't add much velocity. That seems to be where the sweet spot lurks.

♡♡♡♡♡